We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Rye accommodations

Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

15 - 19 Eugenia Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Hotel amenities
Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Rye
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AnnaBeeNZ Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I booked cottage one for three nights. It has been like a long weekend back at the family bach (holiday house for non-kiwis) with simple but comfortable furnishings and a relaxed atmosphere. Is great to be able to bring the dog and sit on the deck for fish n chips and a beer. There is even a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here with my partner for the weekend. Nice and quiet place located a few minutes drive from the main shops in Rye. The cottage had everything we needed for a short getaway. It was extremely clean but could be improved ie. better heating (very cold in winter). There was a nice deck with BBQ looking into a tennis court... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lower Norton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great location on the Mornington Peninsula. Gardens need a bit of work to remove a lot of the weeds. Linen should be part of the price and not an extra. The Deck, tennis court and spa are all positive aspects of Bay Play Rye. Some dining chairs were broken and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in Cottage #1 with my wife to get away from it all. I initially made a mess of the dates and when I contacted the staff at Bayplay they happily changed them at short notice for us without fuss or charge. The cottage itself was well presented and is well equipped with everything you could imagine, heating, cooling, dishwasher,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

These cottages are the perfect getaway for couples, families or friends. They're private and peaceful but not far from Rye or Sorrento that both have lots of shops, cafes and of course beautiful beaches. The cottages are spacious but cosy and are nicely decorated. The best thing in my opinion is the large deck and BBQ area attached to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Thanks so much for your lovely review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experiences. We hope to see you in Rye again very soon! Warm Regards Amanda and the Team at Bayplay More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Rye cottages with 3 families every Cup weekend for 10 years. We were delighted to find that it was again available for rent. This property is perfect for 3 families/couples as you have your privacy in the 3 units but can get together for meals/drinks etc. We always play lots of tennis on the great mod... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review. We are really pleased that the property once again, met your needs. We look forward to welcoming your group again. Kind Regards Amanda and the Bayplay Team More 

Sunbury, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights for a wedding we had in Sorrento. We thought the accomadation was very clean, spacious and met all our needs. Our only reccommendation would be to get all the appliances upgraded! ie, kettle was black and yucky and the iron was from the 19th century! On arrival the spa was not full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The kettle has been replaced, so thanks for letting us know and the iron has been placed in the local museum :-) More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here in July, and even though the weather was a bit crappy (what do you expect for winter?) it was still a good weekend away. The cottages themselves were clean (nothing flash) and amenities were exceptable. They have been recently refurbished (balcony looks very new) and the booking staff are very helpful and friendly. We didnt use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, it is most appreciated. Great to hear your stay on the Mornington Peninsula with us at our family accommodation in Rye was a success – minus the weather of course! We may have to add a detail map to get to our Cottages so there are fewer brawls in the car! From the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I were booked into the Portsea accommodation. We were very disappointed with the accommodation in Portsea as it clearly was meant for groups of people enjoying bayplays activities. The place smelled strongly of ?some sort of linament I think, and the bathroom was in with the laundry, one of those plastic small showers. The pictures on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Firstly, we need to advise that you did not stay in our Rye property or see our Rye Property on this visit. It is a shame that the accommodation didn’t match your expectations. When you came to advise us of this – we offered you a range of options for alternate accommodation and we spoke with you at length on... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Upon visiting BayPlay cottages for the first time mid last year, we enjoyed a good afternoon of tennis only to have it cut short when we found the court lights weren't operational. The outdoor spa was also non-functional much to the disappointment of our families. The cottages were definitely a bit 'tired' but we found them to be clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and taking the time to provide some feedback, we appreciate your time. At the time of your stay in May this year – I believe the motor in the spa had broken down and we were unaware that it was not heating up. It took a few weeks for us to replace parts to get... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

Address: 15 - 19 Eugenia Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay