We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Rye accommodations

Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

15 - 19 Eugenia Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat to your Saves list
Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
66%
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Rye
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Lauren C Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (12)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my partner for the weekend. Nice and quiet place located a few minutes drive from the main shops in Rye. The cottage had everything we needed for a short getaway. It was extremely clean but could be improved ie. better heating (very cold in winter). There was a nice deck with BBQ looking into a tennis court... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lower Norton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great location on the Mornington Peninsula. Gardens need a bit of work to remove a lot of the weeds. Linen should be part of the price and not an extra. The Deck, tennis court and spa are all positive aspects of Bay Play Rye. Some dining chairs were broken and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in Cottage #1 with my wife to get away from it all. I initially made a mess of the dates and when I contacted the staff at Bayplay they happily changed them at short notice for us without fuss or charge. The cottage itself was well presented and is well equipped with everything you could imagine, heating, cooling, dishwasher,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

These cottages are the perfect getaway for couples, families or friends. They're private and peaceful but not far from Rye or Sorrento that both have lots of shops, cafes and of course beautiful beaches. The cottages are spacious but cosy and are nicely decorated. The best thing in my opinion is the large deck and BBQ area attached to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Thanks so much for your lovely review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experiences. We hope to see you in Rye again very soon! Warm Regards Amanda and the Team at Bayplay More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Rye cottages with 3 families every Cup weekend for 10 years. We were delighted to find that it was again available for rent. This property is perfect for 3 families/couples as you have your privacy in the 3 units but can get together for meals/drinks etc. We always play lots of tennis on the great mod... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review. We are really pleased that the property once again, met your needs. We look forward to welcoming your group again. Kind Regards Amanda and the Bayplay Team More

Sunbury, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights for a wedding we had in Sorrento. We thought the accomadation was very clean, spacious and met all our needs. Our only reccommendation would be to get all the appliances upgraded! ie, kettle was black and yucky and the iron was from the 19th century! On arrival the spa was not full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The kettle has been replaced, so thanks for letting us know and the iron has been placed in the local museum :-) More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here in July, and even though the weather was a bit crappy (what do you expect for winter?) it was still a good weekend away. The cottages themselves were clean (nothing flash) and amenities were exceptable. They have been recently refurbished (balcony looks very new) and the booking staff are very helpful and friendly. We didnt use the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, it is most appreciated. Great to hear your stay on the Mornington Peninsula with us at our family accommodation in Rye was a success – minus the weather of course! We may have to add a detail map to get to our Cottages so there are fewer brawls in the car! From the... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I were booked into the Portsea accommodation. We were very disappointed with the accommodation in Portsea as it clearly was meant for groups of people enjoying bayplays activities. The place smelled strongly of ?some sort of linament I think, and the bathroom was in with the laundry, one of those plastic small showers. The pictures on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Firstly, we need to advise that you did not stay in our Rye property or see our Rye Property on this visit. It is a shame that the accommodation didn’t match your expectations. When you came to advise us of this – we offered you a range of options for alternate accommodation and we spoke with you at length on... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Upon visiting BayPlay cottages for the first time mid last year, we enjoyed a good afternoon of tennis only to have it cut short when we found the court lights weren't operational. The outdoor spa was also non-functional much to the disappointment of our families. The cottages were definitely a bit 'tired' but we found them to be clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and taking the time to provide some feedback, we appreciate your time. At the time of your stay in May this year – I believe the motor in the spa had broken down and we were unaware that it was not heating up. It took a few weeks for us to replace parts to get... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is an OK place for a group stay. The cabins are reasonably clean and comfortable. But dont go for the court or spa facilities as they are below standard. This was our second stay in 12 months. On both occaisions, the tennis court has been waterlogged, the court lights have not worked, and the spa has not heated up.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put a review up on Tripadvisor, we do appreciate the feedback. The tennis court is in a low lying area and the water run off can affect it at times, however we have played on the court ourselves many times and it seems you were just a bit unlucky with the weather. We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

Address: 15 - 19 Eugenia Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rye with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayplay Beach Cottages are nestled in a native bush setting and within walking distance to the Mornington Peninsula National Park and spectacular ocean beaches. With 3 spacious cottages on the one property, you can choose to book all 3 for a group getaway or extended family holiday. This secluded property gets you away from it all, but still a few minutes drive to stunning beaches, townships of Rye & Sorrento and Peninsula Hot Springs. Facilities include:- Bedroom 1 - Queen size bed- Bedroom 2 - two singe bunks (sleeps 4 people)- Sleeps 6 people, Linen & Bedding is available.- Large deck with outdoor setting & pet friendly- Fenced yard with parking- Family friendly!- Modern entertainers kitchen- Stove, oven & dishwasher- Laundry with Washing machine and dryer- TV, VCR, DVD- Mod grass tennis court- Solitude and privacy. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer