We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

3.0 of 5 The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    104
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
144
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed at the Old Tollgate many times over the years and have never been disappointed. The staff are always professional but friendly; the rooms are always clean and the beds very comfortable and everything works. The full English breakfast is just one of our little indulgencies which we would make at home but really look forward to once... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A group of us went to the tolegate in sep 2014 for a Sunday lunch , we approached the bar and was greeted by the best western sherif ( who I take it was the head waiter /host) we are in are 30s but he instantly came up to us and said you do know its £20 a head here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights at the Old Tollgate Hotel, Jan 2015. Hotel is split into two wings, either side of the old toll road it would seem. Room was clean, spacious and well appointed, staff helpful, polite & courteous. After a few poor experiences with Best Western in recent years I booked this hotel out of necessity rather than choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IPSWICH, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel before. It has well furnished rooms . Our room was lovely and warm to keep out the howling winds, apart from the bathroom which in contrast was cold.Nicely furnished room but the bed was very springy and high so I couldn't move around on it easily.I had requested a disabled access toilet and shower if possible... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & I were looking for something special to do for New Year's Eve, So we booked the New Year Package on offer from Best Western Old Tollgate Hotel where we were greeted with a Bucks Fizz starter, 7 course meal, 60/70s disco (in a separate room to avoid drowning out conversation), Piper on arrival and trip down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JOhntinsley Thank you for positing your 5* review. It is always a pleasure reading reviews such as yours. We do put alot of effort into our NYE celebration and I am delighted to read that you wish to return again this year. kind regards More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for somewhere for a short break not too far from home and, having stayed here some five years ago, thought it was time to return. We were underwhelmed by the welcome from the young lady on reception duty who, on this occasion, displayed very little real interest other than asking me to sign her form and add... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter H Thank you for posting your review. I am disappointed to read that our receptionist did not make you feel welcome and I will be investigating wioth my Reception Manager why this happened. However I am pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay with us. Please check our website for our latest special offers. kind regards More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed a comfortable base for a short visit to Sussex combining relaxation with some family business. Proved to be ideal; a lovely room, plenty of parking, and an outstanding carvery-style restaurant on site. Food was lovely- there were some addition dishes (duck in raspberry sauce was delightful!) and a range of traditional and varied puddings (passion fruit posset- wow!). Thoroughly... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard20132013 Many thanks for taking the time to post your 5* review. It is always pleasing to receive comments such as yours. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us and the hotel met with your expectations. kind regards More 

Elm, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Smooth check in. Nice room with individual adjustable thermostat for heating. Bathroom spotless and room kept clean and fresh during our stay. Only complaint was that the mattress was uncomfortable,but advised Reception on departure and they advised the Housekeeper would be informed. Breakfast was self service and excellent and plenty of choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cilla A Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments re the bed to our maintenance team. We hope to see you again soon. kind regards More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and paid the supplement for a superior room. We were given a great suite on the ground floor of the new building. It was extremely comfortable in every way. The food is on a carvery basis and is actually much nicer and more varied than this type of arrangement might imply. It was hard not... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yorkshiresnail62 Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, It is always encouraging to read reviews such as yours. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our Hotel and its lovely location. We hope to see you again soon so we can provide you with an excellent experience again. Please call the hotel direct on 01903... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel

Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay