We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saracens Head Hotel

219 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    49
    24
    15
    13
See reviews for
15
49
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Sussex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This would have been an excellent review but a minor grumble was a shortage of staff which other travellers may find frustrating. However service was excellent and staff without exception were friendly and efficient. Food (apart from breakfast we also ate in the restaruant one evening) was good and as others have mentioned in their reviews the eggs benedict were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. With regards to your comments relating to the breakfast service we shall be reviewing our scheduling at peak times to ensure that we deliver an outstanding service at all times More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night only and didn't eat our evening meal in the hotel (we were going to the local greyhound racetrack) but the food that we saw being served, looked lovely. Our room was large, warm and had a super big comfy bed. Lovely big bathroom/shower. Very good quality breakfast, although they were really busy and perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel & restaurant, and have taken on board your comment about staffing levels, this is being dealt with. We are pleased that you commented on how great our rooms are and the value for money. More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for one night in January. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the food was great and well priced, with a good selection of wine and beer. The rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds and period furnishings. Breakfast was fantastic - the eggs benedict is recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback - your comments are much appreciated More 

Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived 7.45pm asked for a pint and glass of wine gave my credit card and table number to gent behind the bar, no problem. Sat at table with my wife and began to look at menu after 5 mins decided our dinner order, as we were putting the menu down the waitress informed us " To Busy No More "... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying here over the Christmas holidays, room comfortable and quirky, the floors are all uneven due to the age of the place, but adds to the charm. Breakfast was fine, they ran out of some items but did their best, did not go hungry. Did not try and evening meal but the menu looks good. Nice selection of drinks in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your feed back we shall be looking to delight you on your next visit More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had our fingers crossed that our bargain weekend break would be a genuine good deal and that we wouldn't be tucked away in a cupboard below the stairs. The reality was so much better than we could have hoped for and the superior room we were given was cosy and clean and beautifully warm on our arrival. The comfort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wanted to take an elderly aunt out to lunch to celebrate her birthday. Pub was supposed to be good, but service was appallingly slow 2 hours for one course and the sirloin of beef was more like bisket. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Apologise for the shortfalls encountered Thank you for taking time and trouble to bring this matter to our attention. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We shall be taking steps to ensure we improve all aspects of our Sunday food service and quality. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Just been for Sunday lunch. It took over an hour to rustle up basic pub grub. When we chased it the manager looked at us like we were the idiots in the wrong??? No apology offered never mind an explanation!!!! I suspect it was because they were over cooking the food??? Even the rest of the floor staff were embarrassed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Apologise for the shortfalls encountered Thank you for taking time and trouble to bring this matter to our attention. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We shall be taking steps to ensure we improve all aspects of our Sunday food service and quality. More 

Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Comfortable room (on the small side, but then we were getting a very good deal for room and breakfast off their website), king size bed, decent shower/bath. The bar and restaurant feel welcoming, there's a permanent deal on a set menu for the value minded, and the food, particularly the breakfast, was pretty good on the whole - although the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely comments More 

Surrey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Great place to stay for a couple of nights whilst house hunting in the area. Bed was very comfy and enormous; we were in room 9. Hot breakfast was great but the lack of yoghurts both mornings was disappointing. Impressed that decaff coffee was available though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Address: 219 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay