We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hind Hotel

Sheep Street, Wellingborough NN8 1BY, England
Hotel amenities
The Hind Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellingborough
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
happycamper0791 east sussex
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    27
    17
    22
See reviews for
22
23
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
east sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night, as it was close to Santa pod, yes its dated but its a listed building, yes the parking on site is limited, but if you walk for less than five mins your be at the hotel/back at your car which is in the hotels overflow car park, the rooms are clean, warm, the breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bpurnemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This old hotel has a typical british old hotel feel to it. Creaky stairs and soft beds. Basic dry roof over your head, IT is looking tired, but the saving grace was the Breakfast.I stayed at the Hind Hotel for one night as I was on business in the area the next day. I drove to the hotel but found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great breakfast which was the best thing about the 2 night stay we had there. It needs some real money spending on it and to be fair they were in process of doing it up. Had a nice little bar and is very conveniently located. Managed to park in hotel carpal which was pretty small

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
81 hotel reviews
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed at the Hind Hotel for one night as I was on business in the area the next day. I drove to the hotel but found no room in the small parking area so had to ask directions to the overflow parking spot at Croyland Hall, a few minutes walk away. Parking was free. The girl on reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Attended a Wedding Reception at this Historic Coaching Inn. Excellent food and service and we were made to feel very welcome. Apparently under new management and they are really trying hard. We were not staying (as we live locally) but other guests were and they were enjoying their stay. There is even supposed to be a ghost! Very enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

A most enjoyable occasion mainly due to the cooperation of all staff headed by Yvonne and the skills of a first class chef who provided all 22 guests with a superb meal A two star hotel but with features of one of the oldest in the area including a room with a Priest Hole leading to local Abbey

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed here for a week.From the outside the hotel looks ok but once inside it is a let down,the decor is old and tired, it's very dusty and dirty with thread bare carpets yellowing chipped paint and tatty dated wallpaper. The room although warm was furnished in the 80s.The bathroom was dirty and the shower was useless a heavy downpour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

First visit after many recommendations left me disappointed although this seems it's because I didn't have the full English! So many people can't say enough good things about the breakfast and the rate my husband polished his off was indicative of that recommendation! However as part of my pre Christmas health kick I chose the prawn sandwich which came out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review

I'm terribly sorry that your experience dining in Ollie's was a negative one. Upon reading this review our Head Chef set about investigating what could have gone wrong with your sandwich. She determined that in this particular case the prawns had been over seasoned with lemon and paprika. Due to this we would like to offer you the opportunity to... More 

UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We went and ate a fantastic Christmas dinner on Christmas Day . The food was wonderful and very hot, the staff were very attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was very Christmassy. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jacquiandchris, Thank you ever so much for your positive review of the hotel. We're glad we were able to make your Christmas special and hope you will join us again in the future. Kind Regards, Hannah Slough Bar Manager More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Came here for a themed mystery night. Appreciate that when catering for large groups it can be difficult but this was pretty awful. The only option for vegetarians as stuffed marrow that was actually stuffed courgette. jelly for dessert wasn't even set. tired looking vegetables including what looked suspiciously like tinned peas. Buckets were strategically placed around the room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Di C, I'm sorry to hear that your time at the murder mystery dinner was an unpleasant one. On the night in question, approximately two hours before the dinner began it came to attention that we had a leak in the room where the dinner was to be held. We didn't want to let down the large amount of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question