We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Church Farm Front Street | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1JF, England (Formerly Oswalds Restaurant with Rooms)
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #8 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    53
    1
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a wonderful evening with fantastic authentic food, great interior and incredible service. Well advised on my dinner (they chose for me)! Great experience! Would definitely visit again and will be recommending this place to everyone! Brilliant. Well worth a visit x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. we hope you visit again soon. More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Needed somewhere to stay for a day or two whilst on Business in the area. What can I say, the staff are very friendly and very welcoming. I wanted for nothing during my stay. The rooms are kept immaculate with all the mod cons. One of the housekeeper's Sarah was extremely helpful and made sure I was settled and new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you. We hope you visit again soon. More 

Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent accommodation, friendly staff who bend over backwards to ensure you feel at home, luxurious and spacious room and en suite. Parking is off road and secure. We ate a meal in the adjoining Italian restaurant and the food was delicious. We stayed 2 nights. I had to go out for the day very early after our first night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you again very soon. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this place. We only stayed one night but I wish it had been longer. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was particularly lovely. Breakfast was great, and everyone we spoke to was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Please visit again soon. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here last night as I was being treated for my 28th Birthday. On arrival, we were greeted with open arms by the owner, Sean. He was friendly and helpful from the off and nothing was too much trouble. He showed us to our beautifully appointed room (Ferrari). The room was lovely, clean, modern and very spacious with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a great review, we hope you visit again soon. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Avoid Avoid Avoid!!! My parents stopped at Fantinos last year & thought it would be a nice place me & my wife to go visit too. They booked us a room for our anniversary with bed & breakfast & evening meal and made the mistake of paying for everything upfront. All was ok on arrival as we were shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the leaving this review. I'm sorry that the experience you had fell so short of your expectations. As I was so personally involved with your experience here I can say from your arrival I got the distinct impression that you didn't want to have been here. I'm not going to comment on what you say happened as... More 

Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable ,food is ... I will leave NO comment here. Just try it . The best Italian pizza I've ever eaten.Strongly recommend it. I've been at Fantinos 2 times and will come again next month.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review, we are all delighted that you enjoy the Fantinos experience so much. Please visit again soon. More 

Stockport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely welcome from the owner. Made us feel very welcome. Room was bright and spacious with a good sized bathroom. Would prefer the tea and coffee to be on a table instead of a window ledge. Milk was available from a communal fridge but when we went to get some in the evening, it was all gone ... Luckily we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Fantinos. I have noted your comments regarding the milk and I'm sorry that the fresh milk had been used. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You must ensure you have at least one night here, brilliant hotel and restaurant and the staff under the guidance of shaun are brilliant Nothing too much trouble We will be back Thanks shaun and your girls

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review, we hope you are able to visit again soon. More 

Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Prior to the restaurant opening last year, we rarely ate fish when out for a meal. Sean has introduced us to some fabulous fish options on the Specials Menu. Last night was no exception. We had swordfish which was absolutely delicious. We are delighted and privileged to have this gem of a restaurant in our village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We are thrilled you have enjoyed your numerous visits so much. We hope to see you again soon. Sean and everyone @Fantinos. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay