We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Church Farm Front Street | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1JF, England (Formerly Oswalds Restaurant with Rooms)
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Colin C Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    1
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
34
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We made a late online booking, as we were attending a motoring function near Ripon the following day. As there was very little accommodation available in the vicinity online, we were pleased to discover that Fantinos had 2 double rooms left. We booked for dinner, bed & breakfast, and were very pleased with our choice. The staff made us welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you experienced a little noise later on in the evening. We will ensure this is kept to a minimum in the future. We hope you decide to visit us next time you are in the area. More 

Bolton, England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a gem! We just returned from a holiday in Rome and were having withdrawal symptoms from all the wonderful food! We have passed Fantinos a few times since it opened but it popped up on an unrelated google search of Sowerby and so we went on a whim. It was just like being back in Italy. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and meal at Fantinos so much, we hope you visit us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my family and can't praise them highly enough. The dinner and breakfast were superb. The rooms were immaculate and the bed and bed linen gorgeous. Super fresh coffee and milk in the room and classy toiletries. All in all to be highly recommended. Thank you to all concerned

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review, we hope you visit us again soon. More 

st.helens
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice stay but a little expensive. Drinks quite dear. room was nice size and very clean but had a few creaky floor boards.. Lovely staff, very friendly. would go again. set just 5 - 10 min stroll from the town just a nice distance away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful evening with fantastic authentic food, great interior and incredible service. Well advised on my dinner (they chose for me)! Great experience! Would definitely visit again and will be recommending this place to everyone! Brilliant. Well worth a visit x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. we hope you visit again soon. More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Needed somewhere to stay for a day or two whilst on Business in the area. What can I say, the staff are very friendly and very welcoming. I wanted for nothing during my stay. The rooms are kept immaculate with all the mod cons. One of the housekeeper's Sarah was extremely helpful and made sure I was settled and new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you. We hope you visit again soon. More 

Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Excellent accommodation, friendly staff who bend over backwards to ensure you feel at home, luxurious and spacious room and en suite. Parking is off road and secure. We ate a meal in the adjoining Italian restaurant and the food was delicious. We stayed 2 nights. I had to go out for the day very early after our first night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you again very soon. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

I loved this place. We only stayed one night but I wish it had been longer. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was particularly lovely. Breakfast was great, and everyone we spoke to was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Please visit again soon. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here last night as I was being treated for my 28th Birthday. On arrival, we were greeted with open arms by the owner, Sean. He was friendly and helpful from the off and nothing was too much trouble. He showed us to our beautifully appointed room (Ferrari). The room was lovely, clean, modern and very spacious with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a great review, we hope you visit again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Avoid Avoid Avoid!!! My parents stopped at Fantinos last year & thought it would be a nice place me & my wife to go visit too. They booked us a room for our anniversary with bed & breakfast & evening meal and made the mistake of paying for everything upfront. All was ok on arrival as we were shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the leaving this review. I'm sorry that the experience you had fell so short of your expectations. As I was so personally involved with your experience here I can say from your arrival I got the distinct impression that you didn't want to have been here. I'm not going to comment on what you say happened as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Oak Tree
Old Oak Tree
#6 of 23 in Thirsk
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#16 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#10 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay