We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St James House

35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
St James House
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
46
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for St James House
See the most recent reviews
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Another great stay with the host Barry & his wonderful staff. A lovely cooked breakfast to send you on your way. Quaint, quirky and delightful. Close to the centre with parking too. We will certainly be staying again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It is always a pleasure to see you all each year - you are such a good fun crowd. Look forward to seeing you again next year. More 

Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are from Montana, and my adult daughter and I stayed with Barry for a few days while we explored Thirsk and the Yorkshire Dales by motorcycle. We called it our James Herriot theme vacation, though it was only a few days between work for me at the University of Leeds. St. James House is in the perfect location for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you visiting us again and to see more of the Herriot Country delights. More 

Withern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay - comfy bed & lovely bright room. Our host Barry was wonderful - very interesting & informative. Felt very welcome in his beautiful home & he couldn't have been more genuine & friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both. Enjoyed the chat. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Bring all your Australian family and friends with you, as well. We'll have a 'barbie', hahaha. More 

Stirlingshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are looking for a modern boutique hotel then you will be disappointed, if however you looking for a traditional B&B then the St James is well worth visiting. I only stayed for a one night stop over, the owner was very friendly, the room was clean & tidy and well appointed. I would have no hesitation in recommending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review. Enjoyed the 'chat'. Hope your test driving of a motor bike was up to your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week and had a good stay. It is comfortable and the breakfast is good, and the owner, Barry, is very entertaining and helpful. The building is lovely, and although some of the fittings and bathrooms are a bit old fashioned it was clean and warm and the house is full of antique furniture. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights just over Easter April2013 . The house is beautiful with antiques everywhere and we chose the front room with the wonderful Edwardian furniture! It was freezing outside but Barry has great heat!!! Bathroom is a bit dated but nice bathtub!! Breakfast was excellent with the very best rashers of bacon I've ever had(father's own cure excepted)!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay at St. James House and that you had a successful buying trip over here in the U.K. Thank you for your great review. Hope the weather is warmer the next time that you come over here. We will continue to get the bacon from the same local butcher and we will keep room 3... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at St James and found it a beautiful experience. Steeped in history and atmosphere. We stayed in room 3 and the bed was so comfy - it was a perfect stay. Barry the host was brilliant and Lucky the cat added to the charm of the place. We will definately be back! St James has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Good luck with the historical books that you are writing and with your ghost tours. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Very best regards, Barry. More 

Flitton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I write to say I have stated at St James over the years when I visit family. I am welcomed the same each time with courtesy and and helpfulness!! The English Breakfast takes a bit of beating and served with much care and attention and the bedrooms are very clean and tidy and nothing is a problem to the owner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. As always, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us. You always have us laughing. You are a real fun person. We look forward to you visiting us again this year. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Me and my fiance were coming to thirsk to visit family and decided to stay at the st james house, we found the host to be very welcoming he quickly showed us to our room, we liked the room it was a great room with lots of space and a en-suite bathroom, the bed was very comfortable and we both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you both for staying at St. James House and your excellent review. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Look forward to seeing you both again. Best wishes for your wedding. More 

York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I must say that I'm surprised at the reviews I've read here. Although we found St. James Place to be clean, our bed was terrible. In all fairness, we were given the option of changing rooms for the second night. We were not given a key to enter the premises and needed to be left out and left in at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review

We are very surprised to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you felt "STRANGE" and uncomfortable. This is certainly a first for us at St James House not ( St James Place ) as you stated in your review. Frankly, we find the use of the word "strange" bizarre and absurd but amusing. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fourways Guesthouse
Fourways Guesthouse
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#16 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
0.8 mi away
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities