We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Thirsk B&Bs / inns

The Three Tuns Thirsk

54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England
Hotel amenities
The Three Tuns Thirsk
Ranked #22 of 24 Thirsk B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
11
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Arrived to be booked in promptly after parking car in the car park to the rear of the hotel. The room was well appointed and to the rear of the property so it was quiet I would imagine rooms to the front not to be as quiet. A lift is available to take you up to the room if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went in here for a coffee. It was the worst Wetherspoons we have ever visited. The tables were dirty with cups etc left on them. The floor around one table was covered in food. Ten minutes later we left and it was still there. We complained and were told they were busy. This was the quietist Wetherspoons we have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to our pub. We constantly strive to provide excellent standards of cleanliness and service so I'm disappointed that we did not hit the mark during your visit. Your complaint to head office has been passed onto the management team here at the pub and we will respond to... More

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Can't understand the bad reviews here, everything was great. Friendly reception, nice clean room and other public areas, a great buzz about the place, the evening meal and breakfast were exactly as we would expect from a JDW and much cheaper than the one in my home town of Leighton Buzzard. We really enjoyed the stay and will certainly be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel over Valentine's weekend as we wanted to go somewhere a bit different for a break from Manchester. We were in Room 13, which is a huge room (actually split into two smaller rooms, one with a desk and the other with bed and cupboard) at the back on the 2nd floor - there are a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My partner and I visited Thirsk in October 2013 for one night and this is where stayed. The car park is located directly behind the pub and although it was quite small, we managed to get into a space. Checking-in was fairly straight forward, although it did take quite a few minutes for the lady on reception to print off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, Thank-you for your review of our hotel. We're sorry to hear you didn't have the best stay with us. Due to the building's heritage (it dates from the 17th century) and listed status, there are a fair number of stairs within the building especially to the second floor and we were only able to install a lift to the... More

Newton Aycliffe
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed overnight on 1-1-14 as a bit of a trip to get away from it all. We really cannot see any reason to pass a negative comment about the premises. Our room was clean and tidy. The bed really comfortable with quality linen and towels. Tea and coffee making facilities were good and if you needed to replenish then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Tyneside
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had stayed in the past and had not encountered any problems. However, this time it was absolutely awful. Our room was to the side of the building but above bar area. The noise from bar was unbelievable. On checking in we were told that the bar closed at bar closed at 1 am. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, First of all I'd would lie to thank you for leaving a review on our Trip Advisor page. Each review we get helps us improve and develop our pub and hotel for future customers. I'm sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations this time. On Friday and Saturday nights we have always been open until 1 am... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It is a Wetherspoon pub. The Hotel reception is accessible from the rear of this old and extended building. If you happen to have a room at the front overlooking the market place it does require a lot of stair ascent and descent. 2nd floor to first floor back to second floor. There is a lift at the back of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire Cyclist
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room (#12) was a bit of a walk through the hotel, but for a single room it was very well appointed and faced the square. Everything was very clean, and the staff were very helpful. There was secure cycle storage and access to the bar/food area was easy. At £49 with no breakfast it was more than the B... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've stayed at Wetherspoons a few times in the last couple of years and at the Three Tuns twice recently. The rooms are fabulous and you'll get great treatment from the staff. Thirsk itself is well worth a visit. Thanks Cat (Duty manager) and Carolyn to name but two. Top drawer staff. Any time I'm around I'll book up again.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always lovely to hear positive comments especially about how friendly our staff are. We hope to see you again soon! Regards, The Three Tuns Management Team More

Been to The Three Tuns Thirsk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Thirsk

Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns Thirsk
The Three Tuns Thirsk Hotel Thirsk
The Three Tuns Thirsk Hotel
Address: 54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Tuns Thirsk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Three Tuns Thirsk to your Saves list