We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Thirsk B&Bs / inns

The Three Tuns Thirsk

54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (64)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (30)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
The Three Tuns Thirsk
Ranked #22 of 25 Thirsk B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
14
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here several times now and cannot fault at all. We always get a very large well equipped room and have never paid much at all. The staff and service is exceptional as well as the food, especially breakfast. We will continue to visit and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I called in this week as I very little time to get by daughter back to school so thought Wetherspoons a fairly reasonable choice for tea, without a doubt the worst I have ever had. It was early and not busy tables hadn't been wiped properly and the amount of flies and fruit flies in the room was offputting, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Having never stayed at a Wetherspoons hotel I was unsure what to expect. When we arrived I parked outside the front, which was pay and display. It was only 60p for two hours and after 6pm and on Sundays it a free so wasn't too bad. Didn't actually realise there was a hotel car park until we went to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Belfast,Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was my first trip to a Wetherspoons Hotel and did not know what to expect. Our room was fine and while a squeeze for 4 blokes sharing it was fine. What struck me the most was that as a chain of pubs I did not expect a lot from level of service. What I experienced though was way above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Parking was good, room large, and wet room really big, shower good. Beds good, however no mattress covers don't like that. Bed linen clean. Old building but think they have done what they can to make it easy for eveyone to use. Although a lot of steps up stairs. They do have a lift at one end. Staff very busy,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Arrived at 2pm parked car in car park at rear of the Hotel. We were in room 2 at the front of the Hotel this room is large with a very large bathroom. Great room! We booked at table for are evening meal food was great value which included a drink. Would stay hear again very nice Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

As a regular fan of Wetherspoons my anticipation was not fulfilled at this venue. Whilst the amenities of the room were perfectly acceptable, other difficulties spoiled the experience. Anyone of limited mobility, breathing difficulties or cardiac concerns should not choose this hotel. The myriad of steep staircases, even for just the two floors, are a genuine problem. The partial lift... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that the pub provided the level of service and attention you would expect from a Wetherspoon's venue. Very sorry to hear that there was an issue with your reservation. We will be sure to look into the issue you mentioned to prevent further occurances. Unfortunately, due to... More

barnsley
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Arrived to be booked in promptly after parking car in the car park to the rear of the hotel. The room was well appointed and to the rear of the property so it was quiet I would imagine rooms to the front not to be as quiet. A lift is available to take you up to the room if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a quiet and pleasant night's sleep. We hope you will think of using Wetherspoon hotels in the future! Kind regards, The Three Tuns Management Team More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went in here for a coffee. It was the worst Wetherspoons we have ever visited. The tables were dirty with cups etc left on them. The floor around one table was covered in food. Ten minutes later we left and it was still there. We complained and were told they were busy. This was the quietist Wetherspoons we have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to our pub. We constantly strive to provide excellent standards of cleanliness and service so I'm disappointed that we did not hit the mark during your visit. Your complaint to head office has been passed onto the management team here at the pub and we will respond to... More

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Can't understand the bad reviews here, everything was great. Friendly reception, nice clean room and other public areas, a great buzz about the place, the evening meal and breakfast were exactly as we would expect from a JDW and much cheaper than the one in my home town of Leighton Buzzard. We really enjoyed the stay and will certainly be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Three T, Manager at The Three Tuns Thirsk, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a quiet and pleasant night's sleep. It's also always good to hear that our hotel guests enjoyed using our pub facilities too! We hope you will think of using Wetherspoon hotels in the future! Kind regards, The Three Tuns Management... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Three Tuns Thirsk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Best Value, Non...
Show More
0.2 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Free internet...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Old Oak Tree
Old Oak Tree
#6 of 25 in Thirsk
5.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.5 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Newsham Grange Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Tuns Thirsk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns Thirsk

Address: 54 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns Thirsk
The Three Tuns Thirsk Hotel Thirsk

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Three Tuns Thirsk to your Saves list