We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hoste

Hotel website
The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Hoste
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

799 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    347
    215
    127
    69
    41
See reviews for
128
465
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (799)
  • Mar-May only
    (192)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (298)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (150)
All months
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only really went for lunch and had a great experience. If you go to Norfolk, you must go to Burnham Market - for many reasons. The shops, the walk and particularly look out for Andrew Rutherford's "Fish and Ships Coastal" at 19 Ulph Place. He does amazing things with driftwood, turning it into sculptures of fish and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our waitress was lovely, friendly, kind and considerate. The sandwiches had to go back as the bread had been exposed to dry air for a long time and was stale. How embarrassing for everyone! They felt like sandpaper. I regret to advise that my party of four were all struck down with urgent digestive problems within an hour of dining.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent two nights in the Vine house. It was really lovely. I think the decor may have been inspired by Holkham hall which that gave it a special boutique feel. The bathroom was amazing , very luxurious, and our room was so quiet.We slept really well, but that could have been because of the extremely comfy bed. The main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a three night break at The Hoste in Burnham Market and experienced superb service and elegant rooms. I wish we had taken our dogs as it is a very dog-friendly hotel. Don't be put off that a cooked breakfast isn't included - the buffet is exceptional.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've stayed at the Hoste 4 times in the last year or so and our recent visit w/c 17 Aug (and vist prior to that) was no where near as good as our initial trip. Whilst you are always assured of a great welcome at the Hoste, we had a few niggles that we wouldn't have expected including dirty linen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEDFORD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Burnham Market is worth a visit just to stay at The Hoste. The hotel is exceptional and the staff are friendly, professional and a credit to the management. We stayed in one of the cottages and our five year old (who has disliked every other hotel or cottage we have ever stayed in) loved it so much he didnt want... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my husband stayed at the hoste for our anniversary on the 24/08/2015 we stayed in room 23 and I have to say the room is absolutely beautiful i could not fault it in any way, we were welcomed at reception and shown to the room in there was a card and some chocolates on a plate that had... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hugely disappointing - enough to prompt my offering a review. Accommodation - ok but soft furnishngs / carpet soiled and worn (and there's a knack to tackling the continuous flow from the loo); service: with one or two exceptions, truly dreadful - from room service that didn't appear to extreme rudeness at the breakfast table (staff disinterested - one waiter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Really!? It is surprising for us to read that you have visited many other hotels in Norfolk and around the world but this is the first time you have posted anything about your experiences on trip advisor. We have no record of any of your comments / complaints on file, so we suggest next time you discuss your issues with... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a film crew with our celebrity talent stay here for a night. Due to the fact that we were arriving late and would be exhausted, we really needed somewhere that would be accomodating and comfortable. The Hoste lived up to this and more. We arrived relatively late at about 11, after the kitchen had closed. The hotel offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Notts,England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having last visited the Hoste 10 years ago when it was under the ownership of Paul Whittome, I was interested to see whether the same high standards have been maintained. There have been changes, the most noticeable being the new Garden Restaurant and reception area both of which are well designed.There were plenty of staff who were all pleasant and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(17)
  • Vine House(5)
  • Lounge area(3)
  • North Norfolk coast(3)
  • Junior suite(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
9.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay