We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse and Jockey

Queens Street | Buxton, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8JN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Jockey
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Horse and Jockey
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a Valentines weekend this year and found the pub / b&b to be nice and cozy. The room is a fair size for a b&b and the bed is comfy. The pub is frequented mainly by locals and just a few tourists and the food and beer is good. Only slight downside is trying to find somewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a great weekend in the Horse and Jockey with our dog. It's a great place. Loads of character, brilliant location, clean, tidy rooms, superb value, great cask ales and food. The staff were very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Tideswell is a charming place, the surrounding countryside is spectacular with some lovely walks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We booked here last minute for valentines night. Room was lovely even though there were only two of us we were put in a family room, first room twin beds leading into a further room that had a lovely large carved solid wood king size bed. The room had a large bathroom with a good shower . Have read other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

It was around 6:30pm and the snow fall had caused the A623 to become impassable due to abandoned cars. Having found we could not continue our journey back to Chester following a trip to Chesterfield, we decided to see if we could find anywhere to stay in Tideswell. We managed to get as far as the George pub but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shipley derbyshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We decided to stay here after enjoying food and drink last New Year.The rooms are good and well appointed.Comfortable bed and very clean. The pub food is very good .Excellent value and very tasty.We returned for Sunday Lunch which was well worth the journey.This is not gourmet food but good honest pub fayre.So many places serve bought in dishes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

A small and friendly pub serving a varietyof ales, food and staff working hard to please everyone. couldnt complain, apart from if anything, it was too hot! the rooms were great for what we paid with a lovely full english for breakfast. this place is ideally situated in Tideswell and great for a few nice walks in the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

There is much that is good about this pub. Firstly it is dog friendly, a fact that we appreciated, although non dog lovers might not. The staff appeared to be friendly although I found the lady who seemed to be the landlady rather brusque although very kind to the dog. I felt that I spent a lot of time standing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tideswellderbyshire1, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

sorry you had to wait a long time for your meal that night we was really busy as me the landlady was cooking i'm sorry they were some confusion with my bar staff I will have a word with her so it never happens again More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I stayed with my 2 children after a wedding 2 weeks ago. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating with my request to book in early and book out late. The room wasn't luxury but it was comfortable and had everything we needed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic, very tasty and filling. The village is charming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed here two weeks ago. Our room was shocking No.4, couldn't stand up in it without banging your head. Carpets filthy, no hanging space, no heating, couldn't shut the sky light. Bathmats placed on the carpet presumably to hide the filth, nearly slipped down the stairs because of these. Food terrible, had fish that looked as though it had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tideswellderbyshire1, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the horse and jockey all your friends stayed 2 nights and they all in enjoyed it I wish you would've have said something instead of writing nasty things on trip advisor which are not true and slanderous More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

My husband and I took our two dogs (pug and young whippet pup) to Tideswell in a last minute relaxig break away and we weren't disappointed. It was the first time we had taken our dogs away with us and we were a bit apprehensive. However, we were made to feel right at home with them, and we're even invited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question