We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse and Jockey

Queens Street | Buxton, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8JN, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Jockey
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Horse and Jockey
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

My wife and I enjoyed a great weekend in the Horse and Jockey with our dog. It's a great place. Loads of character, brilliant location, clean, tidy rooms, superb value, great cask ales and food. The staff were very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Tideswell is a charming place, the surrounding countryside is spectacular with some lovely walks.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked here last minute for valentines night. Room was lovely even though there were only two of us we were put in a family room, first room twin beds leading into a further room that had a lovely large carved solid wood king size bed. The room had a large bathroom with a good shower . Have read other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

It was around 6:30pm and the snow fall had caused the A623 to become impassable due to abandoned cars. Having found we could not continue our journey back to Chester following a trip to Chesterfield, we decided to see if we could find anywhere to stay in Tideswell. We managed to get as far as the George pub but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shipley derbyshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We decided to stay here after enjoying food and drink last New Year.The rooms are good and well appointed.Comfortable bed and very clean. The pub food is very good .Excellent value and very tasty.We returned for Sunday Lunch which was well worth the journey.This is not gourmet food but good honest pub fayre.So many places serve bought in dishes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

A small and friendly pub serving a varietyof ales, food and staff working hard to please everyone. couldnt complain, apart from if anything, it was too hot! the rooms were great for what we paid with a lovely full english for breakfast. this place is ideally situated in Tideswell and great for a few nice walks in the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

There is much that is good about this pub. Firstly it is dog friendly, a fact that we appreciated, although non dog lovers might not. The staff appeared to be friendly although I found the lady who seemed to be the landlady rather brusque although very kind to the dog. I felt that I spent a lot of time standing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tideswellderbyshire1, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

sorry you had to wait a long time for your meal that night we was really busy as me the landlady was cooking i'm sorry they were some confusion with my bar staff I will have a word with her so it never happens again More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I stayed with my 2 children after a wedding 2 weeks ago. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating with my request to book in early and book out late. The room wasn't luxury but it was comfortable and had everything we needed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic, very tasty and filling. The village is charming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed here two weeks ago. Our room was shocking No.4, couldn't stand up in it without banging your head. Carpets filthy, no hanging space, no heating, couldn't shut the sky light. Bathmats placed on the carpet presumably to hide the filth, nearly slipped down the stairs because of these. Food terrible, had fish that looked as though it had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tideswellderbyshire1, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the horse and jockey all your friends stayed 2 nights and they all in enjoyed it I wish you would've have said something instead of writing nasty things on trip advisor which are not true and slanderous More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our two dogs (pug and young whippet pup) to Tideswell in a last minute relaxig break away and we weren't disappointed. It was the first time we had taken our dogs away with us and we were a bit apprehensive. However, we were made to feel right at home with them, and we're even invited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

the staff were very welcoming, the selection of beer was deemed acceptable by the husband, the sausages served for breakfast were disappointing but the whole experience was spoilt by the plastic sheet on the bed which made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. Every time either of us turned over we heard the crinkle of the plastic so we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey

Address: Queens Street | Buxton, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Jockey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel Tideswell
Horse And Jockey Tideswell, England

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay