We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Melbourne B&Bs / inns

The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Save Saved
You added The John Thompson Inn & Brewery to your Saves list
Ingleby, Melbourne DE737HW, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (2)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • More
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
Ranked #2 of 4 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed as a couple in August 2014 as a surprise getaway for my girlfriend. It was lovely. Really nicely furnished cabin with everything you need. It's great to have a free selection of cereals, bead, eggs, tea & coffee etc. Food is available from the main pub and looks very popular. Unfortunately, we didn't make it in time to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For family reasons, we travel regularly from Lancashire to Buckinghamshire, and having started to use the upgraded A50 rather than M6/M6 toll, looked for somewhere to break for lunch. There are a couple of chain food pubs on or close to the road, but then we found this amazing pub with food - and its own brewery. Yes, you have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having dropped off family members at East Midlands Airport, just 7 miles away, we headed out to this Inn for Sunday lunch after finding it on Tripadvisor. It was busy on our arrival, and were told that they were full. Think at this point we could have walked away as there was no offer of "would you like to wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenwich, London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful setting. Old comfortable wooden beams and open fires (not in july though). Quaffable on site microbrewery real ale. Roast lunch every day and home made crumbles. Overlooking the river. What a place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for a family lunch, food and service both v gd. We all had the carvery apart from my mum who had a salad. This place has plenty of rustic charm and an Idillic countryside location too. Would not hesitate to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We live overseas & wanted somewhere to stay whilst visiting family & friends - this was perfect! We spend 5 nights there as they unfortunately couldn't accommodate us for the whole week but it was just great! The location is beautiful, the cabins are awesome, loads of parking, friendly/helpful staff (and family Labrador!) and a pub in your garden. What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ticknall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After visiting the John Thompson almost every week for in excess of 20 years I have to say I have always seen a jug of complimentary water on the bar. Surely if you ask for water with ice and lemon you expect to pay something.......or at least offer? It is a business not a charity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having just returned after a weekend stay at the log cabins, really is excellent , nick and his staff mother and father really go out their way to help you, sunday carvery is to die for , pub and settings are lovely .would go again and highly reccomend it .we just got married and fancied the jt , debbie and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have been coming to this place on a regular basis since it first opened in 1968 albeit in the evenings. This statement says it all! A warm welcome awaits always and the service and home brewed beer is first class. At an evening wedding function the buffet was excellent - the best beefburgers ever! I suggest the last reviewer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

50p for a glass of tap water. Landlord said we had to pay for the water as a service charge (for washing the glasses) and because we had read his newspapers and say by his fire for free. We were sitting outside during a fine June evening with no papers and no fire! Ladies toilets were dirty, per on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JohnThompsonInn, Owner at The John Thompson Inn & Brewery, responded to this review

After more than 20 years in the licensed trade, there are now very few “firsts”. Regrettably, your visit on Saturday evening was such an event! As you were made aware from the outset, complimentary tap water is available at the bar, at all times, for our customers. However, individuals are not permitted to make use of our facilities for several... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The John Thompson Inn & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The John Thompson Inn & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Address: Ingleby, Melbourne DE737HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Also Known As:
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Hotel Melbourne
The John Thompson Inn And Brewery

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Melbourne with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The John Thompson Inn & Brewery staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer