We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Higham hotels

Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Rd., Higham DE55 6EH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Santo's Higham Farm Hotel to your Saves list
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Higham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
katanaismybike Braintree Essex UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (74)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
21
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braintree Essex UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A repeat visit. I like this hotel, I find the staff friendly. The rooms are generally of a good standard. There are only two things I'm not keen on, one is the monogrammed carpets, which I think spoil the decor and appearance, the other is the lack of a real ale on the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here recently after my friend's wedding and had a really enjoyable stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy, with a well-stocked hospitality tray and clean towels and shower gel etc. We had a cooked breakfast the following morning which was excellent, well cooked and good quality products. I would recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

staff were very rude and not helpful at all ( not all of them but most) Room we were in had a funny smell to it and was very old fashioned. Food was average at best. Didn't enjoy my stay at all, and I won't be coming back or recommending it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honesty, although I am questioning whether you are referring to the right establishment as the area we receive the most positive feedback about is undoubtedly our polite, attentive, friendly staff, as you'll see from the other reviews. I appreciate that not everyone has the same taste in décor but as we have just completed a 3/4... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very attentive staff offering good quality meals in fine ambience. We were all rather confused about the length of the walk from the hotel areas to the restuarant, however we quickly began to enjoy the meal once there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our staff are very committed and take a lot of pride in their work. The Hotel dates back to the 19th century which most definitely contributes to the quirky layout. I'm so glad you felt the quality of the food was worth the walk and hope to see you again soon. More

Western part
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently took my mother and wife on a trip of the UK and we stopped at Santo's Higham Farm. The hospitality shown by Santos and his staff was greatly appreciated. Santos made an extra effort to make my mother's visit a special one, which was indeed a much appreciated gesture which went above and beyond the normal expectations. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review

Being a small independent establishment, we pride ourselves in being able to offer a that little bit extra; a more personal service tailored to the needs of our customers. I'm so glad this was appreciated during your recent stay and hope to see you again soon. More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed in the room with glass ceiling Bed very comfortable,wet room lovely apart from full length mirrors which put me back on diet the next day!! The only disappointment for me was the food I found it quite dated and rather expensive for what it was The exception being the lovely dessert which I enjoyed Certainly the people I met... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to hear you enjoyed the luxury of one of our executive suites. Our restaurant prices are extremely competitive and we use fresh, locally sourced, high quality, produce to create a plethora of traditional dishes with a modern twist. Party nights can be lively, however, we endeavour to accommodate non-function guests in a quieter wing of the Hotel... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a release of water in our home via the toilet, and as a result we had to move into a Hotel for 3 weeks, we needed a local hotel due to family needs. Santo,s was available, and what a lovely experience. We moved into room 23, a lovely double, for 6 days then due to an incompetent insurance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your favourable review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you see fit to return in the near future. More

Pencoed, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just got back from Santo's, got a twin room when we booked a double, whilst another member in our party got a single occupancy with a double bed!! Third member was not booked in at all. We had room 14 which was tired, hot and stuffy which was not surprising as it looked out into the covered courtyard, which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your comments, I would like advise that your 'online' booking came through to us with a memo attached saying the guest had requested twin beds. Although it is our policy to allocate non wedding guests rooms away from the function suite this was the only twin room available. Clearly this is an online booking issue which was... More

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Was attending an evening meeting at the hotel, and on arrival the reception staff were so welcoming The rooms are of a very high standard, and provide excellent value for money The buffet supper served for the business meeting was again faultless and the staff serving couldn't have been more friendly Will definitely be using again

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed for the first time at this super hotel in Derbyshire for the first time. Room was in one of the new parts and was a perfectly adequate double overlooking the internal courtyard but not overlooked by anyone else. The food was very good if slight different (well my starter was). Staff were very friendly and breakfast first class. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Address: Main Rd., Higham DE55 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santo's Higham Farm Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Santo's Higham Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel Derbyshire

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer