We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Hotel Glossop

Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
George Hotel Glossop
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
George Hotel Glossop
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    8
    9
    12
    9
See reviews for
9
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We absolutely love this hotel! A staff member carried our bags to the room and would not except a tip. I can't remember when we have been treated so well at a hotel. They went out of their way to please us. The food was gorgeous and delicious. We ate dinner in the dining room two nights in a row!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your lovely review at The George Hotel Glossop, currently The George Hotel is closed for a refurb and we believe you may have left a review on the wrong tripadvisor site. Kind Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

If you want to go back into time this is the place to stay. Decor made stomach turn and owners were like characters from Shameless. Bedding and towels had never seen a bottle of fabric conditioner. Bathroom obviously designed on 70's prison cells. Let me think, any positives??? Oh yes leaving was a great pleasure and the only positive. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TripAdvocate1234, Operations at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review regarding The George, I can see from the information on TripAdvisor that you are a new user / registered on the 18th May. We are the new owners of The George we are extremely interested on how we can improve your experience. We are very aware that previously The George has had some bad... More 

Travelers are raving about these Glossop hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Stayed here with partner over the easter weekend. No hot water. Reported this twice to owners who fobbed us off saying we had turned the taps towards the wrong direction! When they came up to check they claimed it was boiling and couldn't keep hands under tap any longer. Yet it was barely luke warm! Worthy of a Hollywood Oscar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, we are aware your issues you raised regarding the hot water. I am really sorry that unfortunately you had the shower controls turn to cold. When we explained that this was case and explained how to operate and demonstrated on how to use the shower, you were not... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Held a family funeral here and found it so easy to organise with Julie and staff. It was held in separate room which was good and the buffet was really nice and priced well . Thanks to all staff would highly recommend for a family occasion . We have always found the food to be very good and the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The hotel bedrooms are in need of an upgrade, spent two nights 2 adults 3 children and booked 3 rooms. Had to change my room on second night as no hot water!! The other 2 rooms were ok. The hotel has new owners who have only been there for 6 weeks and they have plans for a refurbishment of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

stayed here for one night, that was enough. The rooms are really small, really cold and the bathroom has no hot water. Noise from the pub downstairs was terrrible. Breakfast was adequate. You get what you pay for i guess. If you are on a budget or like hostels then stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The refurbishment is due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We (my friend and I) had booked two single rooms for the weekend. The hotel is ideally located, close to Glossop Station, but is in need of a little love and care! First the positives: friendly staff, good breakfast, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, good showers. Now for the not so good: my friends room was fine, clean, relatively recently redecorated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

mendoza
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The carpet in the room was filthy. It looked like it was covered in bombay mix. Which was a nice blast from the past but crunchy carpets are not pleasant. The sheets had definitely not been changed from the previous guests. And the bathroom floor was also sticky and felt dirty. Pretty basic unfriendly welcome when we arrived. Poor included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I have bought a pint in the pub three times and each time I have not been thanked and I have been handed an overflowing glass which I have had to carry dripping to a table. The staff need s training. Otherwise I found the ambience is the best in Glossop. If you stay there make sure you do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Though we didn;t stay here we visited The George for an evening meal whilst in the area (Myself,2 children and my Mum) and were very impressed by the standard of food as well as the quantity!! Our meals were served piping hot and were of excellent quality, Lamb suet pudding was HUGE and packed with meat as was the beef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.0 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester - Hyde
19.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#2 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#4 of 12 in Glossop
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay