We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Glossop B&Bs / inns

George Hotel Glossop

Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added George Hotel Glossop to your Saves list
George Hotel Glossop
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
40%
Ranked #11 of 12 Glossop B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kevin268 Glossop, United Kingdom
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    7
    11
    6
See reviews for
7
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have bought a pint in the pub three times and each time I have not been thanked and I have been handed an overflowing glass which I have had to carry dripping to a table. The staff need s training. Otherwise I found the ambience is the best in Glossop. If you stay there make sure you do not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Though we didn;t stay here we visited The George for an evening meal whilst in the area (Myself,2 children and my Mum) and were very impressed by the standard of food as well as the quantity!! Our meals were served piping hot and were of excellent quality, Lamb suet pudding was HUGE and packed with meat as was the beef... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed in room 7 (family room). The room itself was very tired and dated. But the basics are covered. Did have problems getting the shower to get warm, so gave up in the end and used the basin. Good points Bed was comfortable Breakfast was good Staff were nice Bad points Some noise from the outside They're using "the cloud"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Never been handed a remote control when I've checked in anywhere before. The pub was clean and pleasant, once I ventured up the stairs things weren't so good. Odd smell throughout and my room could have done with a clean. Dust everywhere. Especially behind the bed. Not pleasant. It was freezing, radiators came on for a while but then went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

All remote controls are handed out on check in so that we are able to track them. Unfortunately people take them and this would therefore leave us with a television that does not work. All rooms are thoroughly cleaned and dusted prior to check in. To arrive in a Hotel and pull out the bed on entering the room is... More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hello We stayed at the George over the weekend, the downstairs is clean and tidy, the rooms are very poor. Stayed in room 1 --- never again. The staff however were all very polite and pleasant, the food is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Well ok ordered some food and it took about 45 minutes to arrive and when it did, microwaved food or what it was shocking and the staff weren't to great the amount of time one member of staff looked at me whilst I tried I tried to get her attention and yet she hadn't worked out I was waiting the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

All our food is homemade and cooked on the premises. Unfortunately you have not stated what you ordered, however on our menu it does state that during busy times there may be a slight delay. I have checked with all staff and the night you stayed nobody waited more than half an hour for food. You have said that the... More

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having read the previous reviews we were not expecting a great deal. Yes, the room was small and bathroom could have done with updating but when you're only paying £60 then you have to be realistic. The room was perfectly clean and the bed very comfortable. There is a small TV and shower gel sachets in the bathroom. The property... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Room too small,cold and bathroom in need of upgrade, no parking and on a very busy road, thankfully only booked one night, above entrance so taxis pulling up car doors slamming etc, breakfast nice and waitress helpful, would not stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We advertise that we are centrally located in Glossop. If you look at our location on all websites you will see that we are on a main road. We do have quieter rooms at the back of the Hotel and these are available if requested at the time of booking. We do not advertise anywhere... More

Millport18
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed one night on business and arrived late due to train delay problems. The hotel is well placed directly opposite the station. Had to walk through 10+ smokers who crowded the entrance - frankly it was disgusting and nobody should have to do that. This is essentially a pub with some rooms and I was given the key for mine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

This guest was in a double room and paid £35.00 for Bed and full English Breakfast. The room was checked after departure and the toilet roll holder was broken and has now been rectified. As a town centre Hotel with no garden facilities we only have smoking outside the front of the Hotel. There are cigarette bins provided, however we... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stopped here on a Saturday night when I was in town for the friends birthday. Not the best hotel you'll stay in but is clean and has everything you'll need. I had a single room and it was nice to pay half the price of a double rather than more. Was good value for what I wanted it for. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage George Hotel Glossop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to George Hotel Glossop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Glossop United Kingdom

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Glossop with
any amenities