We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Hotel Glossop

Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George Hotel Glossop
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
George Hotel Glossop
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    12
    9
See reviews for
9
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to go back into time this is the place to stay. Decor made stomach turn and owners were like characters from Shameless. Bedding and towels had never seen a bottle of fabric conditioner. Bathroom obviously designed on 70's prison cells. Let me think, any positives??? Oh yes leaving was a great pleasure and the only positive. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TripAdvocate1234, Operations at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review regarding The George, I can see from the information on TripAdvisor that you are a new user / registered on the 18th May. We are the new owners of The George we are extremely interested on how we can improve your experience. We are very aware that previously The George has had some bad... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here with partner over the easter weekend. No hot water. Reported this twice to owners who fobbed us off saying we had turned the taps towards the wrong direction! When they came up to check they claimed it was boiling and couldn't keep hands under tap any longer. Yet it was barely luke warm! Worthy of a Hollywood Oscar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, we are aware your issues you raised regarding the hot water. I am really sorry that unfortunately you had the shower controls turn to cold. When we explained that this was case and explained how to operate and demonstrated on how to use the shower, you were not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Glossop hotels

Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Held a family funeral here and found it so easy to organise with Julie and staff. It was held in separate room which was good and the buffet was really nice and priced well . Thanks to all staff would highly recommend for a family occasion . We have always found the food to be very good and the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The hotel bedrooms are in need of an upgrade, spent two nights 2 adults 3 children and booked 3 rooms. Had to change my room on second night as no hot water!! The other 2 rooms were ok. The hotel has new owners who have only been there for 6 weeks and they have plans for a refurbishment of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kent uk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

stayed here for one night, that was enough. The rooms are really small, really cold and the bathroom has no hot water. Noise from the pub downstairs was terrrible. Breakfast was adequate. You get what you pay for i guess. If you are on a budget or like hostels then stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The refurbishment is due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We (my friend and I) had booked two single rooms for the weekend. The hotel is ideally located, close to Glossop Station, but is in need of a little love and care! First the positives: friendly staff, good breakfast, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, good showers. Now for the not so good: my friends room was fine, clean, relatively recently redecorated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

mendoza
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The carpet in the room was filthy. It looked like it was covered in bombay mix. Which was a nice blast from the past but crunchy carpets are not pleasant. The sheets had definitely not been changed from the previous guests. And the bathroom floor was also sticky and felt dirty. Pretty basic unfriendly welcome when we arrived. Poor included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I have bought a pint in the pub three times and each time I have not been thanked and I have been handed an overflowing glass which I have had to carry dripping to a table. The staff need s training. Otherwise I found the ambience is the best in Glossop. If you stay there make sure you do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Though we didn;t stay here we visited The George for an evening meal whilst in the area (Myself,2 children and my Mum) and were very impressed by the standard of food as well as the quantity!! Our meals were served piping hot and were of excellent quality, Lamb suet pudding was HUGE and packed with meat as was the beef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed in room 7 (family room). The room itself was very tired and dated. But the basics are covered. Did have problems getting the shower to get warm, so gave up in the end and used the basin. Good points Bed was comfortable Breakfast was good Staff were nice Bad points Some noise from the outside They're using "the cloud"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay