We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Darley Dale B&Bs / inns

Holmefield Guesthouse

5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Holmefield Guesthouse to your Saves list
Holmefield Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #1 of 4 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Thomas R Folkestone, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (84)
  • Photos (32)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a good stay. Geoff was more than helpful booking us a taxi and greeting us. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The room was a little small. The bed was very comfy. Our cooked breakfast was ok, however the sausage was of poor quality and beans amount small. The décor in and around the guest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the sausages at breakfast, they are made at the local farm shop and most guests enjoy them, but it obviously didn't hit the spot with you, however, they are certainly not poor quality. With regard to the cost of your stay, you booked for a single Saturday night... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very dissapointed. We stayed with a Groupon offer £159 for 2 nights B.&B. and one dinner. We were greeted with a lady who rushed us up the stairs gave us the keys and that was that, we never saw her again. Our room faced the main road which was very noisy. The room on late rooms is priced at £109... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

What a silly review, the rate for the room you quote as being £109 per night, you stayed two nights which would make the real cost £218 plus dinner which we charge £19.95 per head for three courses, totalling £257.90, you paid £149 for peak season stay, a bargain in anyone's book ! I can't find any record of your... More

Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really lovely hotel with no pretention just excellent service and a carefully created environment. Superb owners whose attention to detail in re-furbishing is clear to see. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and set us both up for the day ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A couple of nights spent there did me the world of good. The owner had thought of everything and I could hear lovely comments from many guests as they signed out , so was not the only one! Nice people , lovely room, great view. Would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lovely,welcoming guesthouse. Professionally run but with a personal touch. Situated on main A6 road but hardly any noise and slept well. Grounds are beautiful, overlooking steam railway. Rooms, are well stocked and comfortable. Position is excellent for Bakewell and Chatsworth house. Evening meal was tasty and plentiful , as was the the breakfast. Thoroughly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The guest house is a lovely place in a wonderful location but we felt let down by the hospitality . We had booked a table for dinner at 7 30 after emailing the guest house to say we would be arriving from work , due to an accident on the motorway we arrived at 7 50, to be told we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I would just like to clarify the situation at Holmefield with regard to evening meals as you seem to have misunderstood. Evening meals are booked in advance with menu choices being given by 6.00 p.m. at the latest to enable me to cook from fresh ingredients, the meal of our guest's choice. You arrived at... More

Northumberland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in the Coach House that is set apart from the main house. It was a ground floor room with a patio door and a small patio, overlooking beautiful countryside and the line of a preserved railway. The room was on the small side and we had to keep moving the heavy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Booked this guesthouse for a quiet weekend away. Rest quality can only be described as shocking. Significant noise past 0230. The room was pleasant enough but basic. It would have been nice if the previous guests underwear had been removed in advance. Food quality was very average with breakfast served by an extremely grumpy member of staff. Checked out a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a disturbed nights sleep on one of your nights with us caused by some high spirited guests enjoying their weekend, this is not the norm and we did apologise to you personally on the following morning and gladly do so again on this worldwide web page. However, we have to dispute very strongly some of... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a groupon deal, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location, with lots of walking opportunities and pretty villages to visit. We chose it as we were visiting Chatsworth, which is a short drive away and so it was very convenient for this. The house is on a main-ish road, but even though our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having been let down by another B&B establishment on our wedding anniversary, the Holmefield Guest House in Darley Dale was a perfect place to stay for our special occasion. We were greeted with friendliness by Kate and shown to a lovely room No. 3 overlooking beautiful countryside. The guest house is tastefully furnished and has a lot of character with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. We were delighted to have met you both and hope to see you again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holmefield Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holmefield Guesthouse 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse Darley Dale, Matlock

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer