We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Castleton accommodations

YHA Castleton Losehill Hall

Castleton S33 8WB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Castleton Losehill Hall to your Saves list
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
92%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Viola_Br London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at YHA Castleton in one of the en suite rooms. The room was quite basic, as you would expect in a youth hostel, but clean and comfortable. The bed in particular was really new and super comfy -- you really appreciate that after a long hiking day! The staff were very helpful and let me use the luggage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Really glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd be happy to suggest lots more good walking routes for your next visit. Thanks, see you soon. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My extended family said their rooms were quite hot (it was July). Room A9 (mine) was OK. I left the window open overnight; a wasp flew in early on Sunday morning (at about 5.30am) but then flew out before it stung me. The wasp woke me up so went to the shared kitchen and cooked some breakfast. At that time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, glad you liked the place. Sorry about the wasp - there have been a few around this year. The kitchen is a great place, always really sociable and a great place to meet people as you say. See you again soon.. More

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room - B7 - beds are firm and narrow but ok, shower had pubic hair up the wall, room was very very loud with doors slamming all night right outside the door - also very strange fan sound all night that was so loud and got louder then quieter. Fire alarm went off at about midnight just from someone having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and sorry you didn't get a good nights sleep. I'm going to sleep in B7 and see if I can identify and fix the source of the noise - so your feedback is really useful - I wouldn't know otherwise. The disabled parker had a broken leg so did have a good reason to use one... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took my 7 year old daughter for her first stay in a Youth Hostel. The Hostel (in a former life) was Losehill Hall and situated on the outskirts of Castleton. The Hall has been very well converted into a Modern Youth Hostel with good facilities and impressive grounds with which to walk around and relax. Peveril Castle and most of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review - glad you had a great trip. More

Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Fantastic stay at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall. We were a party of 20, 5 of who had to stay at a B & B down the road due to no room at the Inn (not the YHA's fault as we didn't book early enough! :-( ), however we spent our entire waking hours there :-) I am unable to report... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Really glad you liked it, Thanks for the review. Visiit again and we'll try to arrange more amazing weather! More

UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

A stunning building which has been nicely modernised without losing its charm. Bedroom & en-suite bathroom were great - adequate, modern & clean. Self catering kitchen - very well stocked. Communal areas - beautifully decorated and in keeping with the style of house. Very spacious. Grounds - magnificent. With acres to explore and pigs, goats and sheep to enjoy. Location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing, really glad you liked the place. It would be lovely to see you again. More

Nether Wasdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The YHA have done a fantastic refurbishment on this building. It retains the grandeur of its origins but is bang up to date with all the facilities that make YHA such a great choice. The self catering kitchen is enormous! The outside seating area is lovely; we sat and watched squirrels and rabbits scurrying about. The goats and pigs were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review - always great to hear someone had a good time. I'm glad the squirrels didn't try to pinch your food - they are getting really cheeky. More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We hired the west mews and 3 rooms in the main house for 8 families 35 people in total. The ages ranged from 8 to 50+. The west mews was very well equipped, spacious, clean, most of the rooms were ensuite and the courtyard was lovely to sit out on too. The children (20 of them) loved exploring the grounds.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review, it will be great to see you again next year. Don't leave it too long to book though - the Mews is becoming more and more popular so choose your dates quickly. More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great location at the foot of Losehill - 10 minute walk into the Centre of Castleton which has an abundance of choice for pubs / food and a great little shop with bakery. Our family of 4 stayed in 2 ensuite rooms, one was a little small but adequate with bunks. Acceptably clean for a hostel that clearly attracts families... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Really glad you liked the place - we're in the process of creating more activiities in the grounds and gardens for families so I hope it will be even better when you next visit. Thanks for the review. More

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a find! Haven't stayed in a YHA for about 30 years and my have they changed! Fantastic location, fabulous facilities, friendly and helpful staff, great value for money. We had a family ensuite room, there was a problem with the shower, but it was fixed as quickly as they could. We had a great help and advice from Anna... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this review

Glad you had a great time - sorry about the weather, thanks for the review. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Castleton Losehill Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Castleton Losehill Hall

Address: Castleton S33 8WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Castleton Losehill Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall England

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Castleton with
any amenities