We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Castle Donington hotels

Priest House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Mills, Castle Donington DE74 2RR, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Champagne
Save Saved
You added Priest House to your Saves list
Priest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
65%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Robert R Stafford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (373)
  • Photos (67)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (80)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    96
    71
    37
    23
See reviews for
47
176
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After booking, I was a little concerned that its location was close to the end of the runway at East Midlands Airport, but I worried unnecessarily. Yes the odd aircraft was noticed but in between, it was serene, with the River Trent winding its way past the front of the hotel. The staff were particularly friendly but not so much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Third time Ive visited this hotel, and its got worse every time....The rooms are small , and very dimly lit. The room I was given , at a paltry £240 including dinner was no bigger than my bathroom. I was hoping the service would be better. Disappointed. At dinner they offered a Vegeterian menu and an ordinary menu. Amazingly almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stockport
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night on a Secret Escapes deal and wished we had stayed longer. From the reception to the farewells everything was top class. Our room was lovely and we particularly liked the ambience of the dining room. The staff were exceptional in all areas of the hotel. A delightful setting nestled in lovely surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a beautiful setting for the wedding. The room we given was superb. Lovely & big We had to leave really early in the morning and the staff very helpful in arranging some breakfast to be brought to our room. Which was lovely!! Only down side was the bar prices. But then that's hotel bars for you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to the north. Beautiful setting... Just on the river bank, with some woods close by. About 7 minutes into Castle Donnington where there were some reasonable looking restaurants. Clean and comfortable, with great breakfast. The restaurant not opened on Sunday evening, but brasserie is. We stayed in a building slightly apart... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gwyn J, General Manager at Priest House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your kind comments. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Priest House and will be sure to pass your feedback to the team who will be thrilled with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thank you once again for your kind words. Regards, Gwyn More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is set in a peaceful location for a romantic getaway. We had a room overlooking the front and the river so it was ideal. The only issue we had was when my partner ordered a glass of white wine at the bar, he was offered Pinot Grigio at £12 per glass, without a choice of house wine. We don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gwyn J, General Manager at Priest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your recent visit; I was delighted to read your comments about your visit however I am sorry you felt our drinks prices were expensive but we believe that our single vineyard house wines at £5.50 for a 175ml glass offer excellent quality at sensible prices. However a... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were most impressed by the location of this hotel and I can see the attraction to have weddings there. However we were not impressed by the service, we expected more for the prices charged. It started at the bar for an arrival drink. The first glass had lipstick on it and as the weather was good we took our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gwyn J, General Manager at Priest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your guest experience. I was certainly disappointed to learn of your frustrations that you encountered during your visit with us as this is by no means the level of service we wish to deliver here at the Priest House. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with... More

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our second stay here as our last stay was not a good one. We agreed to come back and see that we had just been unlucky due to other circumstances that were explained to us. I have to say that we were extremely unlucky first time around. There seemed to be a totally different atmosphere to the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gwyn J, General Manager at Priest House, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely review. The team are passionate about providing great service so I am genuinely delighted to read your comments and hear that you felt so welcome upon your return. I am so pleased you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Gwyn More

Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I always wanted The Priest House Hotel to be where I would get married, knowing it to be a beautiful setting with a modern décor inside and great service; this is exactly what I wanted for my wedding day! Needless to say when we decided for many reasons to get married abroad I thought that I wouldn't have my quintessentially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gwyn J, General Manager at Priest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for all the fantastic comments with regards to the hotel and the staff. Your review means even more to us due to the fact that you would recommend the hotel to others. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Priest House Hotel again in the near future. Regards, Gwyn More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Myself and my wife held our wedding reception at The Priest House on July 19th 2014. I simply cannot fault anything with this place. Location - The drive down the road alone is picturesque. Once you arrive you are greeted with stunning views of the river and cottages. The main building is a beautiful mix of modern with the old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gwyn J, General Manager at Priest House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor of regarding your recent wedding. We were thrilled to have the opportunity to help you celebrate your wedding and I was delighted to read your very kind comments about the team. I am pleased we were able to help you create the dream wedding at the Priest House. I look forward... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Priest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Priest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priest House

Address: Kings Mills, Castle Donington DE74 2RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Priest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Priest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priest House Hotel Castle Donington
Priest Hotel Castle Donington
Priest House Castle Donington, United Kingdom

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Castle Donington with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington #5 Business Hotel in Castle Donington #6 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
42

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Priest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer