We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle East Midlands Airport

Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands International Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2SH, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thistle East Midlands Airport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle East Midlands Airport
Share an Experience

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    200
    124
    39
    20
See reviews for
63
253
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (562)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for a party night with friends. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I was disappointed. Firstly, things to note: there is no lift (admittedly there's only one floor, but would be difficult to navigate with a large suitcase), corridor noise can be clearly heard in the room, the beds are a bit saggy. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leicestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our friends 90th birthday nothing was too much trouble staff were excellent food was lovely and piping hot. Room was very comfortable and quiet we used the spa swimming pool was very warm. Breakfast had everything you could wish for from cereals to fruit to full cooked english. I would have no hesitation in recommending this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms OK, good package of room and car parking. 5 minutes to the airport and 10 minutes to the departure lounge. Nothing special but I would stay here again as there were no problems and its so close to the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights on business. I got off to a bad start with the rather poor check in experience. I arrived after 9.00pm following a difficult journey and had to wait while three check in staff finished their conversation. I was also told that my 'Signature' loyalty(?) card could not be validated as I was staying at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas_Hough, Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was very disappointed to read that your experience at check-in was so unwelcoming and for that I sincerely apologise and assure you this is not the usual level of service we provide here at Thistle. If possible would you contact me directly on the address below as I'd very much like to further investigate your welcome. Kind... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel on the 27th December till the 28th December and this hotel is great we had a ground floor room, airport is just across the way but if you don't want to walk you can get a taxi to take you at just £5 Rooms were very comfy, bathroom was clean, good tv, you also had access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas_Hough, Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, it means a great deal to us here at Thistle East Midlands. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nicholas Hough Operations Manager More 

Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very close to the airport, comfortable stay, rooms nicely furnished, just the deco feels little dated by the choice of brown colours. But it feels good enough as home away from home. Hallways are carpeted and provide quite night sleep. Squeaky floorboards in places add to the character. Nice little gym available for use. Car park. Tea, Coffee & kettle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On checking in we were told our room was on the first floor which was not a problem until we were told there was no lift and as my partner is currently struggling to walk with a bad knee it was very inconvenient knowing we were going to be using the stairs more than just the once. When we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nicholas_Hough, Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was very dissapointed to read you didnt enjoy your time with us, All points raised have been passed on to the relevant departmental managers to ensure there isnt a repeat occurence. Please feel free to contact me directly on the below email address so i can update you on our progress. With kind regards, Nicholas Hough Operations... More 

Epworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extremely convenient being within a couple of minutes walking distance from the terminal. Our room was very clean and comfortable although it was only a double bed, most hotels of this type have king size nowadays. It was also quiet. The public areas are getting tired but the prices reflect this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas_Hough, Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, ill be sure to pass this on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nicholas Hough Operations Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking forward to staying here after reading the other positive reviews. On arrival I was checked in quickly, but when I got the room the musty smell was overbearing. The room was noisy as the double glazing was poor, the curtains moved with the draft. I complained at reception and was given a better room, although overall pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas_Hough, Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was disappointed to read you had such a disappointing stay with us, I'd very much like to look into your stay further as the experience you received is simply unacceptable and I'd very much like to ensure there is no repeat. Please feel free to contact me on nick.hough@thistle.co.uk Kind regards, Nicholas Hough Operations Manager More 

Belfast
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was put up in the Thistle after an overbooking at my last hotel. An airport hotel with great rooms and an excellent breakfast. Very good location and very comfortable. Car parking system is a bit annoying but all good other than that. Much better than the hotel I was supposed to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicholas_Hough, Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review, I'll be passing your kind comments on to the team here at Thistle East Midlands. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nicholas Hough Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question