We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Belper hotels

The Lion Hotel

24 Bridge Street, Belper DE56 1AX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Belper
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
JO P Whistler, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (253)
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (55)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    61
    35
    27
See reviews for
36
128
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belper
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely staff did not make up for the very shabby state of this "pub with rooms". Food was good. Showers and water pressure appalling. Generally very run down. Wifi signal is not received in all bedrooms. We were moved from our first room as the shower was unusable, unfortunately the other room was just as bad. We were told that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay on our visit to the UK. The staff were very helpful and suggested some great places to eat and visit. Air conditioning was a little noisy but it was a great stay for a couple of days on our 2nd visit from Canada.

Was this review helpful? Yes
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very helpful staff who always seemed cheerful and happy to help. Room was spacious and clean and well equipped. Frosted glass on the windows suggested there wasn't going to be much of a view which there wasn't as it looked out onto the fire escape and a very noisy air conditioning unit ( think that's what it was). That said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frodsham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bathroom had old hair clips on floor. 1 x roll of toilet paper. Shower was useless, no water pressure at all. Bed reading light didn't work, I took the bulb to reception but had no spares. Worst was no hot breakfast as kitchen had problems. Asked for refund but told breakfast price now all inclusive and not £7 as stated.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My dad booked us a room for my anniversary paid for a bottle of wine as we arrived a two course meal an a glass of wine we our meal we didn't get any of this because our booking was cocked up the lady on the desk was very rude and no help at all and didn't sort things out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clare, I am so sorry your experience was not the one you expected. We have investigated your complaints which I would like to go through with you. If you could contact us direct at your earliest convenience. Once again the staff and me at The Lion would like to extend our upmost regret which I would like to discuss.... More

Belper, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and my husband had our wedding reception here, we loved every single minuet of it, the room looked fantastic, the food was brilliant and the staff did the best they could to help every single one of us. The rooms are nicely set out, cosy and comfy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Shane for your review. It is great to know that our hard work gets recognised. Kind regards Wayne. More

Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Charming receptionist, very attentive on arrival. First impressions were pleasing. However, on closer inspection the room appeared tired and the decor uninspiring. Had a great breakfast and a good night sleep, so the hotel did it's job. If you want the Ritz, and your over fussy don't come here. That said it was Ok, yes I would use it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear visitor thank you so much for your review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your visit and chuffed to bits to learn that you would use us again. Kind regards Wayne Taylor. More

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Well what can i say about this hotel!!. My daughter had her reception at the lion hotel, The food, service and all staff really did there best to please, Nothing was to much trouble. Even though we live in the town we made use of the rooms again brilliant. Not only do i recommend them this place is well under... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your review and for taking the time in posting it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your day from the food and the service. The recommendation is fantastic. Once again thank you so much. Kind regards Wayne Taylor. More

Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Due to my normal Derbyshire hotel being booked out, I had to spend a night here. Never again. Dirty carpets, unloved facilities and stale, musty rooms and bathrooms. The reception staff couldn't have been friendlier but that alas, doesn't make up for a poorly maintained hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry you didn't feel that your stay with us did not meet your requirements. Our intention is for you to relax and enjoy our facilities. I am sorry that this was not the case and that we let you down. I am please however that you found our staff friendly. I would appreciate it if... More

Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

When we arrived, we were greeted by a charming receptionist, Unfortunate that the reception desk was fronted by bare plywood and the carpets had seen so much better days,but her smile was memorable. Our room was a super king,the best sleep we have have had in ages really comfy, but the room was dull, in real need of re decoration... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne T, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to read your thoughts and we are equally pleased to hear your good points along with your bad points. We are sorry to hear that your breakfast was not of standard on the second day of your stay. This has been looked into and we are sure that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: 24 Bridge Street, Belper DE56 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Belper
Best Western Belper
The Lion Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer