We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbreak Country House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Winscales Rd, Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1XS, England
Offers & Announcements
DISCOUNT WEEKEND BREAK
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melbreak Country House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

I booked 2 twin rooms for a colleague and I for one night. We arrived late in the dark and were very disappointed with the rooms which were at best described as dated and very worn, with no heating on and one of the rooms had no hot water whatsoever with at night or the next morning. The pictures on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Hollycottagebandb
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hollycottagebandb Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the hotel and so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Sadly, without knowing which rooms you were allocated, I cannot comment as to their appearance. However, what I will add, is that we are fully aware that some of the rooms are in need... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Finding this place can be a challenge in the dark and the rain. Firstly I had the address Winscales Road, Great Clifton, Workington, CA14 1XS. I missed it several times, it is not in the other half of Winscales Road. It is not in Great Clifton. To find it on a rainy night it is really useful to know that... More 

Helpful?
Thank greenbeck
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review and glad to hear, that once you found the hotel, you had an enjoyable stay. I am so sorry you had problems finding the hotel. I will revisit the instructions we have on our website to see if they can be improved and will also contact the Road Highways Agency again to... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday back in September. The staff were lovely, very informative and check in was quick and simple. Our room was beautiful with a big bath tub. The only down side to our room was the walls were a bit thin as when we arrived we could here next door getting intimate. The food was delicious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Natalie, Sorry for the delay in responding to your review but glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend, and even more pleased to learn that you would visit us again in the future. I am sorry to hear about your welcome party however, as we are undertaking an extensive program of renovations I will put soundproofing on... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

I really don't want to say anything bad about the place the staff were lovely and the food was great well done to the new chef.We had a lovely break away location wise you do need to drive if you want to do other things but we were aware of this before we went and as we only wanted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mary Thank you for your honest review following your recent stay at the hotel and glad to hear, that on the whole, you enjoyed your stay. I whole heartedly agree with you regarding the pine furniture - it is rather dated. However, we are currently in the midst of renovating many of the bedrooms where the furniture is being... More 

Workington Cumbria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

This Hotel never fails to please the food is very good and worth a visit. The service is excellent and staff always want to please, this is not our first visit and will not be our last keep up the good work

Helpful?
Thank johnjoewood
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Wood Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at the hotel and extremely pleased to hear that we delivered in all areas. It is always encouraging to hear when guests are appreciative of our services - it makes all our hard work and long hours worth while. I am excited to hear you enjoyed the food... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

We spent 3 nights at the Melbreak this week. The hotel is very close to a busy road which does mean that you can hear traffic in the background all the time. The hotel makes a good initial impression. The garden is well kept and there are flowers everywhere. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. We were given the key... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the hotel and apologies for not responding sooner. Your comments regarding some of the communal areas are quite understandable however, you may or may not have been informed during your stay, we recently installed a biomass boiler and replaced much of the old plumbing which unfortunately was hidden... More 

Hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here in room 20 on 13th October 2015. From point of arrival through to checking out the staff were friendly and attentive. I ate my evening meal in the conservatory and the food was excellent (black pudding starter and Cumberland sausage main course). The food was well presented and piping hot and tasted good too. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajtiaras
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent visit to the hotel and glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We look forward to your return and yes, you should bring your wife - I'm sure she would enjoy a leisurely weekend in such a beautiful part of the country! Thank you, once... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I visited the melbreak hotel for 2 nights, taking up a brilliant offer on their website. We enjoyed the suite which was lovely, very spacious and modern. The staff in the hotel,were absolutely fantastic, really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The restaurant is a nice conservatory and the food was excellent, well priced with lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank notusual
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your complimentary review following your recent visit to the hotel - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently planning a second suite for the hotel which should hopefully be complete the early part of next year. Perhaps if you are considering returning to explore more of our beautiful countryside you should... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Lovely hotel. We had a large really comfortable clean room, the meals were good and the staff pleasant and helpful especially Alison on reception. It is situated on a main road giving good access to either the coast of the Lake District. Would certainly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank reram21
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for you kind review following your recent visit to the hotel. We are always glad to receive reviews like this as it makes all our hard work worth while and it is nice to see that our enthusiasm for the beautiful area in which we live, and the pride we have in our work, does not... More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

I arrived amid much confusion it had two names on my booking form but I had been charged a single rate the charge for 5 year old to stay - an extra £125. The first room I was offered up three flights of stairs a long way with cases so it is worth enquiring no offer of help even when... More 

Helpful?
Thank 975Terry
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel and please accept my apologies for not responding to you sooner. I must admit I am a little confused and obviously concerned with regard to many of the comments you have made. Firstly, you have signed your review as a solo traveller yet you mention you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.2 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#5 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay