We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waverley Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    31
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
22
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble. We arrived by bicycle & were shown to secure storage. Don't be out off by the exterior of this hotel, inside its very nice. We had an evening meal which was delicious & very generous portions Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very diary, plaster coming off walls, unorganised breakfast. We were surposed to be staying in a superior room, the room did not look like a superior room at all! It was tiny, and the bathroom smelt like mould and very damp!! I complained about the hotel and room, I was told I would get a £20 refund, 1 week later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i come with my partner to watch the Workington speedway but it wasn't on so me and my partner just stayed in the bar with Del the owner he was very polite and made us feel very welcome we had lunch the next day I had a Sunday lunch it was beautiful finished my weekend off brilliant highly recommendatory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stockton,england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Left the light on all night, kept my shoes on when walking in across the carpet, could have electrocuted myself plugging in my charger. And to top it off, used sanitary towels and tissues in a filthy bin. Disgusting, awful...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a lovely stay at The Waverley Hotel a week or so ago; it provided a comfortable, clean and relaxing base to return to after visiting friends in the surrounding town. The staff were wonderful and very welcoming, and made sure I had everything I needed. The breakfast was lovely; I don't eat much in the mornings, but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this and had an issue with my booking...nothing to do with the hotel all at my end ...they were really helpful and generous in resolving this so a big plus before arriving. I had to change the booking and so went off to stay at the hotel earlier than I had anticipated and that I had told them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

What many hotel managements don't get these days is that along with the choice of 17 different types of eggs you can choose for your breakfast, what the travelling business person or giraffe needs from a hotel is a functioning, reliable, uncontested and free wifi as part of the package. It's not longer good enough to pretend to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundonald, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Stayed here for the weekend. Such friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't do enough for you. Food was excellent in the restaurant and breakfast was superb. Only fault I have is no lift and we were on the 3rd floor which I didnt check before booking...my own fault. Bathroom appears to have been recently renovated and the size of the delux... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samantha Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our food to be excellent. We have informed all the staff of your kind comments and they are thrilled you would stay with us again:) We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Lynn Pears More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Basic hotel , but quite nice and clean Staff friendly (except reception- rough) Restaurant really bad (poor quality of the food) Unfortunately breakfast is also very poor (lack of quality ) Main issue, restaurant accepts party ...we were on a Saturday and had music playing in our room until .....5 AM....impossible to sleep!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Regine We regret we did not meet your expectations, we have a good reputation for our food and are disappointed you did not feel the same. We do hold family events at the hotel but all music ceases at midnight any disturbance could have been reported to the night porter who is on duty all night, we have noted... More 

england
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Stopped here for cycle coast to coast the staff are very nice and friendly the room was dated but OK for what I was doing just most things creaked and squeaked but next morning the breakfast was very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave Thank you for taking the time to review the Waverley Hotel, we are pleased you found your stay satisfactory and enjoyed your breakfast we look forward to seeing again . Regards Lynn Pears More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
2.6 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#5 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
3.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay