We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Workington hotels

Waverley Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
Waverley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
62%
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
11
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Waverley for a weekend in march .We had a great stay ,staff were great ,nothing was to much trouble great room ,great meals and a nice atmosphere to the place . Would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve b We are delighted you enjoyed all the facilities, food and service at the Waverley hotel. The team are delighted all their hard work and hospitality is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a great weekend at this hotel and couldnt fault a thing.Some of the bigger chains should send their staff here to learn a few things about fantastic customer service. Were to start, great friendly staff, well stocked bar, ( open late) with residents discount, spotless large and airy room, good food at reasonable prices, and a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnnyboy496 The whole team are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality, accommodation, food and beverages. I have passed on your comments to our staff who were delighted they made your stay so enjoyable. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards Lynn, Del and the team More

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely, pleasant stay we had here! Perfect location and nice and quiet. Beds comfy, good size room, slept like a baby! Staff are welcoming and the breakfast was fab! Will definitely be coming back again! Thank you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we value your feedback. We are delighted you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Our staff are friendly, they work hard to try and ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast – wherever possible we use fresh local produce from local suppliers.... More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Maybe I stayed at a different hotel or maybe I just expected too much. Booked what was called "Superior" Room - Decor was good but it was tiny and I mean tiny! When you first go into the room - it smelled somewhat musty and in need of airing, Bed was clean and comfy but hole in bed sheet!. Traffic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda Scotland Thank you for taking the time to place your review, We are very disappointed when we hear that guest are unhappy with our facilities. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, the bar area and the staff service. We have addressed most of your points mentioned at check in and regret the email explaining this was not... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with friends on Saturday 08/03/14. We had a friendly welcome & treated like old friends. Very clean hotel central for town centre. Food was wonderful. Will definitely going back & I would recommend to all my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted you had a wonderful weekend at the Waverley Hotel and enjoyed our great food. The team appreciate your great comments. We would love to see you return soon. More

West Midlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is now my third stay. I need to be in the area for business. The food is pretty decent. Some of the decor could do with updating but it isn't terrible. The beds are comfy, the showers are good. The real asset is the staff. All really nice. Great service but without being overbearing. So much better than the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoy our hospitality and food. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme and are striving to update all our rooms to the standard of our Superior rooms. We hope to see you again soon. More

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night on the 8th of March 2014 could not fault the hotel nice and welcomed as soon as we arrived by reception . The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable to sleep in . The breakfast was brilliant it was a buffet and had plenty of choice if I ever came back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

All the Waverley Hotel staff are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us and appreciate your positive comments and all their effort . We look forward to seeing you again in the near furture. More

Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here on 24th, 25th and 26th of February 2014 using a groupon voucher and I cannot really fault this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and had all you needed and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The only downside was, as this is an old building, there is no lift.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Waverley Hotel and would love to see you visit again. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme which has seen 4 bedrooms refurbished in thine last 7 months and we are also pleased to inform you the restaurant ceiling repairs are now underway. More

Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Big Cumbria host many events and Workshops around the county offering businesses free support, at the beginning of February we ran four workshops across two days in Workington and hosted these at the Waverley Hotel. The equipment was all set up as requested and the layout was perfect for hosting an interactive workshop. The staff were really helpful and accommodating.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

The whole team are delighted your event was a great success and all your equipment and arrangements were dealt with in a friendly and professional manner. We look forward to working alongside you again in any future workshops you might have. More

Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in Feb & it is little more than a rundown back street pub.Supposedly just been revamped, I would like to know where the money was spent. The decor was grubby, the restaurant was appalling, the breakfasts must surely be a health hazard & the electrics were at best dodgy.I know it was in the depths of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

GROUPON Booking with us for £99.00 for 3 nights stay with Evening Meal Dear Foy49 All reviews are extremely important to us and we take guests comments very seriously. However we must point out we are not backstreet, rundown and definitely not a Pub, we are long standing Hotel in the town centre with all services you would expect including... More

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, England
Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.