We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ginn House Inn

4.0 of 5 Moor Road Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Old Ginn House Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Old Ginn House Inn
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
19
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had to be in Workington on business and found the OGH from trip advisor. Rooms clean & tidy but main bar had just had the floor varnished and was closed which left only a small bar area available. You had to check in, order drinks and food in this area and it was a bit cramped but couldn't be helped!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Old Ginn House Inn. We are pleased that you found the Inn to be clean and comfortable, food to be good and that our staff were friendly and helpful. We have a number of females stay with us who travel alone (including many return visits) and are quite... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

£5.25 for 4 pinkie finger sized plaice goujons....rip off. What a let down I have stayed a few times and the main meals are good quality and plentiful...a specials board dish should be just that special. The plaice goujons were far from that

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you thought your starter was a ‘rip off’. We are not aware that you made any comment at the time so that we could see what you were served and try and rectify your complaint. But, we are pleased that you found our main meals to be ‘good quality and plentiful’. We note that you have... More 

pontypool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Stayed here last week, made very welcome by staff when booking in. Room very spacious, equipped well with good facilities & free WiFi. Ate at the restaurant 2 nights that I stayed & the food was excellent with excellent service & very large portions. The same for the breakfast, well cooked, presented, and tasted great. stayed here on business &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are so pleased that you found your room to be spacious and well equipped and are delighted that you enjoyed your food – where possible we use local produce from local suppliers. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We stayed for one night. We were made very welcome. The room was large and spotless. The shower/toilet room was large and modern. Bed comfortable. Breakfast and evening meal hot, plentiful, tasty and good value for money. Service was excellent. This is a gem of a place and we will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so pleased that you found the Old Ginn Inn to be ‘a gem of a place’ and we look forward to you staying again. More 

DOVER
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Stayed in late September for overnight stay on trip to Scotland. We made arrangements to meet friends from Workington for a 'catch up' meal in the restaurant. Very spacious, warm and well furnished room, equipped with all fittings for a comfortable stay. Modern ensuite bathroom with toilet, bath with shower over and handbasin. Towels provided. Flat screen TV and free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - this is very nice of you! It makes all the hard work worthwhile when someone goes to the trouble of giving a review to share a good experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again when next in the area. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The best family room we have stayed In, spacious, well equipped and nice little touches like the towels which made my daughters stay. Food was excellent particularly the homemade pies. Would definately stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would hope to welcome you again. For the benefit of others reading this, the Old Ginn House Inn has 3 recently refurbished family rooms - 2 large rooms consisting of 1 king and a single bed which accommodates a family of... More 

West Kirby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Overnight business trip, always found Workington a dessert, this place is an oasis. Great food, comfy room, just what you need after a tough days work. In a small village with a couple of pubs, which were shut on Monday??? Great staff, will be back..

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you chose the Old Ginn House Inn for your business trip, and found your room to be comfy and the food to be great. Even if the other village pubs are not open on a Monday we offer a good selection of soft drinks, wines, spirits and beers, including Cumbrian gin... More 

North West England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great location. Fabulous traditional inn with lovely menu and great quality food with good portions. Spacious room with comfy beds, tastefully decorated and lovely large powerful shower. Perfect. Peaceful and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking and hope to see you here again in the future. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We found this place while hunting for a hotel for a one night stay. The staff are very friendly and the price is good value for money. We also used the restaurant for dinner and out breakfast. Both meals were very nice with amazing portion size. Our room was very clean and very contemporary in style. My only slight issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted that you found the Old Ginn House Inn, and are pleased that you found us to be friendly, good value and that you enjoyed your meals. We are sorry that you found the bed not that comfortable, as the beds (or mattress) were replaced when we recently... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked on my behalf by a colleague when we were on a business trip to Workington. Did not really know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished (Premier Inn style which is no bad thing) and it was clean comfortable with an excellent bed and shower. The staff were very welcoming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased that your colleague chose the Old Ginn House Inn for your business trip. We try to ensure that our guests have a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Ginn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Address: Moor Road Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ginn House Inn Workington, England
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#4 Business Hotel in Workington

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay