We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Workington hotels

The Old Ginn House Inn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moor Road Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Ginn House Inn to your Saves list
The Old Ginn House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
84%
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Michelle B Gloucester, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (73)
  • Photos (15)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    21
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
18
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best family room we have stayed In, spacious, well equipped and nice little touches like the towels which made my daughters stay. Food was excellent particularly the homemade pies. Would definately stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would hope to welcome you again. For the benefit of others reading this, the Old Ginn House Inn has 3 recently refurbished family rooms - 2 large rooms consisting of 1 king and a single bed which accommodates a family of... More

West Kirby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overnight business trip, always found Workington a dessert, this place is an oasis. Great food, comfy room, just what you need after a tough days work. In a small village with a couple of pubs, which were shut on Monday??? Great staff, will be back..

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you chose the Old Ginn House Inn for your business trip, and found your room to be comfy and the food to be great. Even if the other village pubs are not open on a Monday we offer a good selection of soft drinks, wines, spirits and beers, including Cumbrian gin... More

North West England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location. Fabulous traditional inn with lovely menu and great quality food with good portions. Spacious room with comfy beds, tastefully decorated and lovely large powerful shower. Perfect. Peaceful and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking and hope to see you here again in the future. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We found this place while hunting for a hotel for a one night stay. The staff are very friendly and the price is good value for money. We also used the restaurant for dinner and out breakfast. Both meals were very nice with amazing portion size. Our room was very clean and very contemporary in style. My only slight issue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted that you found the Old Ginn House Inn, and are pleased that you found us to be friendly, good value and that you enjoyed your meals. We are sorry that you found the bed not that comfortable, as the beds (or mattress) were replaced when we recently... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked on my behalf by a colleague when we were on a business trip to Workington. Did not really know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished (Premier Inn style which is no bad thing) and it was clean comfortable with an excellent bed and shower. The staff were very welcoming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased that your colleague chose the Old Ginn House Inn for your business trip. We try to ensure that our guests have a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've stayed at the Old Gin House several times now and found that the level of service and quality of rooms offered by the OGH to be both excellent and consistent. The full Cumbrian breakfast definitely sets you up for the day and the rooms are spacious. As you would expect they have lakeland ales in the bar which are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we have passed on your comments to our staff who are grateful for your kind words; is always good to hear that our efforts are appreciated. We are delighted that you like our rooms and our Cumbrian Grill breakfast. Local ales are exactly what most of our guests expect when staying in a traditional... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a suite for one night which was fine but the ventilation was very poor and as it was hot it was stuffy because there was only one small window to open in the bedroom. The shower was good and the bed was comfortable. We ate in the restaurant which I am afraid is basically a pub type affair.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we take guest comments seriously and where necessary try to improve our services for future guests. We are pleased that you found the shower to be good and the bed to be comfortable. Regarding the ventilation in the Suite – the weather was very warm the night you stayed (Saturday... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My recent business trip to the Old Ginn House was absolutely magnificent. The luxurious and yet comfortable rooms were of the highest standards around, clean, warm, and inviting to those staying. The food was first-rate and would eclipse even the most distinguished chefs around the world. even when waiting for my meal the service was striking, the waiting on staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice, the room was perfectly adequate and reasonably priced but the food was a bit of a let down, I had the beef stroganoff which was not particularly good beef in a very un-creamy sauce, I did mention to the waiter it was more like a soup but had no response! The chips were awful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked the Inn and your room. We apologise that the food was not as we or you would expect, and have mentioned this to our chefs. Regarding the chips, recently we have had a problem sourcing suitable potatoes (we usually use potatoes from our local farm, but unfortunately they have... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We chose this hotel from a selection available on the Internet as a stop-over en-route home. In terms of the premises, we were very impressed with the courtyard approach and the bedroom (No 32). The restaurant was unusual in being circular with booths or tables. The food in general was good, however, the evening meals were let down by sub-standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are pleased that you were impressed. We apologise for the chips and potatoes. Recently, we have had a problem sourcing suitable potatoes (we usually use potatoes from our local farm, but unfortunately they have no more until this year’s crop is ready). We have tried a number of different... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Ginn House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Ginn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ginn House Inn

Address: Moor Road Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ginn House Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Ginn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ginn House Inn Workington, England

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Workington with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ginn House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer