We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ginn House Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Moor Road Great Clifton, Workington CA14 1TS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Ginn House Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Old Ginn House Inn
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
23
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is generous by the size of the room, the portions in your plates and the smiles of the hosts. Hig end pub food and local specialities. Don't come late if you want a table (or come really late). An good base to visit the Lake District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel last minute on line for a short weekend break with my wife. Ideally placed for the Lakes National Park. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly, the rooms comfortable and the food good. Breakfast in particular was outstanding. The ample free parking was a definite plus. Also had free wifi in all the rooms. Will definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited early on a quiet Friday evening.As usual no problem to get a table and friendly helpful bar staff.However large glasses of wine aren't large and the food quality and quantity wasn't as good as usual.Prices are quite expensive for pub food also.Would probably go back but other places are cheaper and wine glasses certainly fuller.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A wide choice on the menu and, all four of us enjoyed what we had. Plenty of chips and vegetables to accompany the meals. My Dad had a great ploughmans which came with, cheese, ham and pate. Pudding choice lacked a bit of imagination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hull north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Well its a lovely place,staff extreamly friendly and welcoming, food was fantastic we arrived at lunch time and had sandwiches, sitting in the beer garden which s a lovely sun trap, the evening meal was outstanding, (way too much on the plate ) and breakfast again was flawless, we stayed in the courtyard suite , the room was fab size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poole
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Booked at last minute due to a change in my work schedule, The room was very clean comfortable and very smart in appearance and décor, certainly had a good night's sleep, smashing shower in the room I was in. Very friendly check in and the meal was excellent with a very prompt service and the staff very attentive and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Visit this restaurant regularly for a quiet evening meal.Food Is good with prompt service and home made chips,Not much atmosphere as is quiet at this time of year but all staff are friendly.All food is resonably priced .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

Had to be in Workington on business and found the OGH from trip advisor. Rooms clean & tidy but main bar had just had the floor varnished and was closed which left only a small bar area available. You had to check in, order drinks and food in this area and it was a bit cramped but couldn't be helped!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Old Ginn House Inn. We are pleased that you found the Inn to be clean and comfortable, food to be good and that our staff were friendly and helpful. We have a number of females stay with us who travel alone (including many return visits) and are quite... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

£5.25 for 4 pinkie finger sized plaice goujons....rip off. What a let down I have stayed a few times and the main meals are good quality and plentiful...a specials board dish should be just that special. The plaice goujons were far from that

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you thought your starter was a ‘rip off’. We are not aware that you made any comment at the time so that we could see what you were served and try and rectify your complaint. But, we are pleased that you found our main meals to be ‘good quality and plentiful’. We note that you have... More 

pontypool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Stayed here last week, made very welcome by staff when booking in. Room very spacious, equipped well with good facilities & free WiFi. Ate at the restaurant 2 nights that I stayed & the food was excellent with excellent service & very large portions. The same for the breakfast, well cooked, presented, and tasted great. stayed here on business &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are so pleased that you found your room to be spacious and well equipped and are delighted that you enjoyed your food – where possible we use local produce from local suppliers. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay