We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Washington Central Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Washington Street, Workington CA14 3AY, England
Hotel amenities
Washington Central Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
ORMYBOY Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
57
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A welcoming and excellent weekend, we upgraded to the superior Room and it was first class with plenty of room, bed, bedding, two nice lounge chairs, top t.v. on wall. we used the leisure centre and pool, very nice indeed, and decided to have our evening meals at the hotel, massive portions, and then the starter the next night,big enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent reservation and for the time taken to post your review . We are very happy that you had a excellent weekend and enjoyed all the facilities and food in our hotel. Your genuinely positive comments on the service and friendliness of the staff are very much appreciated by us all. Thank you. More 

glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 7th - 11th May. Hotel was spotless clean and staff were warm and friendly. Bistro is stunning but definitely more of a restaurant than a bistro. Food was delicious and all home made. Complimentary Presseco and Nibbles were delicious and beautifully presented. Bedroom was very clean lovely king size bed and an amazing amount of complimentary goods provided. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Wilma, Thank you very much for being so complimentary about the hotel and staff , after what has been 'quiet a worrying weekend'. Your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel, the warm and friendly staff and the quality of the bistro are all greatly appreciated. Emma would like to say a personal 'thank you' for your recognition... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fantastic weekend !! Hotel was great all the team of staff throughout the hotel couldn't do enough and where so so friendly the pool/sauna/steam room were just what the doctor ordered!! The room was spotless and the bistro bar food was excellent great value and great atmosphere. Would recommend this hotel short drive to Keswick and short drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Vicky. Myself and all the team would like to say, thank you for your really pleasing review of our hotel. We are so happy you had a great weekend enjoying the pool and sauna, the food and service in the Central bistro and the hospitality we offer. Even being served by 'a TV star' !!. Your observations on the... More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a 2 night stay through wowcher. It was noisy in room 5 on the second floor and it was warm, so we had to sleep with the window open. Noise from nightclub and pub revellers and sirens. I understand new double glazing is being installed in the near future so that will be good. Parking was very tight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Linda and Andrew. After your recent stay at The Washington Central Hotel we are thankful that you took the time to post a review. Your wonderful comments on the décor and food in the Central bistro, the pool and spa facility, and the professionalism and friendliness of the staff are all very welcome. We do have additional car... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I haven't stayed in the hotel but I did book afternoon tea for me, my sister and our parents. I didn't know what to expect but it was fabulous! The dining room was beautiful, the table was breathtaking. The sandwiches and cakes were delicious and the service was excellent, so friendly and made us all very relaxed. I would happily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Andrea, we are all so happy that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your Afternoon tea in the Central Bistro. Your appreciation of the décor, food and excellent service is very welcome indeed. We all thank you for your recommendation. Regards, Keith. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here with some colleagues during a business trip. I must first of all thank all the staff whom were extremely friendly and helpful. A real credit to the hotel. Unfortunately I did have a couple of issues with my room. I was on the top floor which wouldn't be an issue however the elevator is from the dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Brian for the time and comments you expressed in your recent review . Your appreciation of the staff and their helpful and friendly manner is appreciated by myself and all the rest of the team. Our town centre location does unfortunately give rise to street noise and weekends can be busy on the social scene. Which is out... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner had booked a 2 night stay at the Washington Central Hotel as a Valentines gift via Wowcher. The stay from start to finish was brilliant and far exceeded my expectations. The bedrooms were spotless and the hotel was prompt to ensure the room was in order - they even changed a blown bulb in the lamp before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Roach, Myself and all the staff at The Washington Central hotel are so pleased you enjoyed your relaxing weekend break. Your wonderful comments on the cleanliness, leisure facilities, breakfast , and bistro food are most welcome. And your appreciation of all the staffs helpfulness and courtesy makes all our efforts worthwhile. We hope to see you return very... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I visited the coffee shop on Easter Saturday to discover there was a whole new set up. The place seemed in chaos and all the lovely team of staff who work in there seemed really stressed and not there normal chirpy happy selves. All I can say is why try to fix something which wasn't broken in the first place!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Contributor, as a regular visitor to The Central Coffee shop we value your feedback. In response to earlier requests and comments from coffee shop customer, and in an effort to provide all our guests with a better level of service. We had a trial period offering Table service in our coffee shop. You may be pleased to know that... More 

Cumbria
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Any time I'm in Workington with my sister or daughter we eat here and always enjoy the food. We were there on Tuesday and it was really busy and the staff seemed really stressed as they now have waitress service at the tables but some customers were still going to the counter to place orders so it was a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Thank you for your very positive comments and recent observations on The Central coffee shop. As a regular customer you a probably already aware that the trial period for table service has been concluded. With the result being that we are to remain a self service coffee shop , for the time being at least. We appreciate your... More 

Durham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

A few colleagues and I stayed at the Washington while working in the area. The hotel is very clean and the rooms spacious. I do think that the place could do with a bit of modernisation. The pool area behind reception looks particularly dated and the bar looks dated also. The staff are very friendly but did keep asking every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kawildwchotel, General Manager at Washington Central Hotel, responded to this review

Geoff, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Washington Central Hotel on your recent business trip. Your positive comments on the friendly and efficient staff, clean and spacious accommodation are very welcome indeed. The Hotel has undergone a major refurbishment in 2014 including 11 new bedrooms. The Reception area, Central coffee shop, Central Bistro and the Function suites have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities