We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Milnthorpe hotels

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (76)
  • Photos (4)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • More
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Milnthorpe
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milnthorpe
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ate at the Whaetsheaf whilst on holiday in the are. Nice pub in pretty village. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was ok but for the price portions were on the small side. Chicken with melted cheese anda bacon topping came with 4 small new potatoes cut into slices nothing else was served with it. We were a bit dissapointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was visiting the garden centre close by, but didn't want to eat there as menu too fussy so thought I'd try the Wheatsheaf as I'd seen the sign before but never ventured in, and I'm glad we did. Spoilt for choice for food but as it was Sunday opted for the roast. Really fresh vegetables, tasted like they had just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the wheat sheaf for a Saturday night to do the silverdale and arnside craft trail. What a good choice it turned out to be. The hotel is in an area of outstanding natural beauty and Bentham is no exception! A tiny village with a church a tea room and this hotel! Easy parking across the lane 2 mins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stockton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely quaint Olde Worlde hotel set in a lovely location. Had an overnight stay in the Lowther room, which had two flights of stairs to reach. The room had everything you needed with a peaceful veiw overlooking an old church. All the staff were friendly & attententive without being imposing. There was a choice of an A la' carte menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a wonderful stay here over the bank holiday weekend. The rooms comfortable, the staff excellent, especially the Egyptian manager who even made us breakfast, one of the best ever, in fact we enjoyed all the food we had dinner - chicken liver pate and the steak pie followed by sticky toffee pudding, highly recommended. Nothing too much trouble, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have visited this lovely Hotel before and it was fantastic on our first visit and we very much looked forward to returning, especially for the valuable 'Penny Menu' 3 weeks ago we decided to book a table for 2 and when we arrived it was very busy (often a sign of how good a place is) We were shown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crested Butte, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I spent two weeks here, visiting from the US. The building itself is incredibly quaint, loved the architecture and the room I stayed in was very comfortable and cozy. The staff was very helpful and my interactions with them were always positive and friendly. They went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant experience. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We visited here under recommendation only to be highly disappointed! We booked and when we arrived the staff member did not really know where to seat us. We were rushed to choose a starter and main. The starter was simple and cheap. The main was very bland, dry and I did want to send it back but under politeness we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Wow, that seems a bit harsh! We are really sorry that you seem to have had such a bad experience. However having been in this business for many years we realise that we can't please everyone all of the time but we do have hundreds of guests every week who leave more than satisfied. So apologies once again and please... More

Travelers are raving about these Milnthorpe hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stopped here for a break on a trip in the holidays, and was overwhelmed by the character of the place, the professional, attentive and very helpful staff. The overall ambience was relaxed, comfortable and very cosy, a bonus on an otherwise wet and windy week, and the food was well cooked and presented, we had no complaints at all. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having lived in Grange over Sands over a year now and always struggled to find decent good quality food - we had passed this place on several occasions. On the way home from a 250 mile trip we stopped off for Tea on a sunday night. Two of us ordered Belly Pork, my husband fish and my daughter sausage and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind comments, they are greatly appreciated. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Beetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe, Cumbria

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Wheatsheaf at Beetham to your Saves list