We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Book on
or compare prices from over 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 37
  • 20
  • 8
  • 10
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just south of the Kent Estuary only an hour away from my North Lakeland home is an area I find outstandingly beautiful, bordered by Arnside, Silverdale and Beetham. Over the years as an artist I have found inspiration there and drive through Beetham to visit the Fairy steps each time I go. I pass the most wonderful looking 16 centaury... More 

Thank peterliddle12
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, they are really appreciated. More 

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Booked as b&b rate of £55. Friendly welcome on arrival, shown to my room named "leighton" reasonable size with double bed and couch in the window bay. Small flat screen TV on the wall which could do with being fitted with a tilting bracket as the viewing angle when in bed is no good people are in the negative. Electric... More 

Thank Alan B
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Good staff, excellent food and accommodation - would recommend to anybody the staff were very attentive, bedrooms spotless and towels were changed daily. Food served on hot plates, as they should be. Main menu changed daily, and some of the options were very innovative. Bar staff very helpful in choosing different beers. Very busy hotel with the locals as well... More 

Thank Corinne D
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind and generous comments, we always appreciate anyone taking the time to review our Hotel, for whatever reason. Thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Found the Wheatsheaf by accident glad we did though. We asked a for a table at lunchtime although the it was busy we were seated quickly. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The food in all honesty was superb, ver well priced, and delicious. Not fancy but wholesome just like the premises. Feels very Cotswoldy, can't wait to return.... More 

1 Thank Warwickshiregal
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We pop into the Wheatsheaf on many occasion as we are local, but was very surprised to see the lounge looking so very welcoming, with a new fireplace and comfy seating. The staff are always very welcoming to all guests, not just locals. We will definately be stopping by for a drink a lot more often, now there is somewhere... More 

1 Thank annehallam
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We came across this little gem back in may when we stopped for dinner. Had a lovely meal very reasonably priced. Loved the quaintness of the place and decided to return and had a wonderful two night stay.. The staff are great and make you feel extremely welcome. The location is great and we could not fault the food. It... More 

1 Thank 399julieanne
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

only had a one nights stay but what a lovely find . room was very pleasant and bed very comfy . our food in the restaurant was gorgeous , no major complaints ,if i had to pick i would have liked a better choice of coffee in the room as we didnt enjoy the taste ,other than that a pleasant... More 

1 Thank loz4poodles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

Traveling down from Scotland my wife and I called in the Wheatsheaf at Beetham for Dinner. We ordered the slow cooked duck leg which looked very nice and well presented but unfortunately was very tough to eat. As other reviewers have already commented the price charged for drinks was astronomical £4.60 for a pint of lager!

1 Thank pdc70soon
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

With reference to your review we would have preferred if you had mentioned the Duck problem at the time to give us a chance to rectify the issue. As far as the price of drinks is concerned I think that you will find a Pint of Peroni is the same price, if not more, nationally and I should point out... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

stumbled across this little gem whilst on a spontaneous weekend away. when we arived we were greeted by warm smiley staff that could not do enough to help us get settled. The room was fantastic, clean, well presented, geat view, ample facilities and brilliantly cumfortable. we had dinner and breakfast during our stay both of which where beautifuly cooked and... More 

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

We called in to take advantage of their £6.95 two course menu. The food was excellent even though we had quite a wait from ordering our food to it arriving at the table, 45 mins. This was surprising as they were not busy. Unfortunately I feel that the drinks are rather pricey compared to other local establishments. Nevertheless a very... More 

Thank Jimbo002
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (5)
Hotel & grounds (3)
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 17 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
3.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#6 of 11 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Longlands Inn and Restaurant
11.3 mi away
The Midland Hotel - Morecambe
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay