We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Patterdale accommodations

YHA Patterdale

Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Patterdale to your Saves list
YHA Patterdale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
4
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival the welsh warden was very welcoming & answered all my questions. The room was very neat & tidy & it's the first place I've been to where a table & chairs are in the bedroom - helped me lay out the maps to plan my walks. I showered in a newly refurbished toilet & shower room, which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm really pleased you had a good friendly welcome and the staff did what they could to answer your questions. I do think our meals are excellent value when you consider that a main course on its own averages £12 locally and your getting 3 courses for £11.95. I'm glad you... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the hostel in august 2014 whilst walking the Westmorland way trail, walking that day from pooley bridge to patterdale across the hills and with torrential rain all day, and unseasonably cold for the the extremely poor august that we had. When i arrived the huge sign outside said that the property was up for sale but a smaller... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm pleased that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay with us. The issue that you have highlighted with the dorm room is an extremely difficult one for us. You are of course more than welcome to ask who you will be staying with but we have little information on... More

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my two sons a couple of weeks ago, and we all liked the style of the building. I thought the place was clean and welcome was warm. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had two rooms with two beds in each. They were clean, though a little chilly. The self catering kitchen was also clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We're really pleased you enjoyed the hostel and the area it's in. We hope we see you again sometime! More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have camped several times at this hostel and have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The lounge area is spacious. The showers and toilets are clean as is the self-catering kitchen. The views from the camping field are wonderful - it's a shame that previous campers had left some litter. The hostel is for sale and will only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to hear that the staff and hostel met your expectations. I certainly feel the camping area has one of the best views going! I think it's almost like wild camping but with a comforting knowledge that you have full use of a hostel very near by (should the... More

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oh Patterdale what an absolute shame. This building is so run down it makes you believe its on the list to cull in the next trench of financial cuts. It was my friends first visit to a YHA and she was disgusted by the state and has been put off YHA in future. OUr welcome was very cool, no friendliness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry that YHA Patterdale has not meet your expectations this time. Firstly I'm sorry you got a 'cool' reception when you arrived. I believe one of the best things about the YHA is it's customer service, so I am extremely dissapointed that you did not get the welcome you should... More

Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location for C2C. Old style hostel with everything looking a bit well used, great example of 1960's styling. Great staff and good food. Lots of space in the lounges and room to sit and read or watch TV. communal showers and loos. Large car park. Located on narrow road with little warning so drive with care.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This Hostel is located at very much countryside location where roads are very narrow. This is very big hostel but having very strict management policies. Hostel is very clean but self service kitchen again having very old utensils which are in very bad conditions. Rooms, bathroom and toilettes are very clean. There is no barbecue option at this place and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Good value for the 40 pounds a night it costs to stay here. Rooms are clean, though you do have to make and strip down the beds yourself. There's plenty of storage space for luggage and also a sink in the room + tea/coffee setup. They only have common hall bathrooms but they were spotlessly clean when we stayed there.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here with partner whilst completing Coast to Coast. We arrived drenched, tired and unable to move without considerable pain! We were warmly greeted, able to book dinner, breakfast and packed lunches immediately and shown to our room. The room was small but very clean and had a sink and plenty of storage/hanging space. We were able to wash and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hostel is in a brilliant position for walkers, as previous entries mention. We were a party of forty and Glen, the warden, could not have been more friendly and helpful, particularly when an unexpected problem arose with one of our students. The rest of the staff were equally helpful, both before arrival with organisation, and during our stay. Personnel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA Patterdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Patterdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Patterdale

Address: Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Patterdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)