We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Patterdale

Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Patterdale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Patterdale
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
10
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The YHA Patterdale was excellent. From booking, checking in to checking out it was a great stay. The staff couldn't be more helpful, and we were greeted in such a friendly way when we arrived. It was great to be able to book the room and food beforehand online. I read quite a few previous reviews about the YHA Patterdale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If it wasn't for the fact the place is in need of refurbishment this would have been an 'excellent' review. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food was very good with an amazing view of the mountains when eating your breakfast. It is apparently rumoured that there are plans to close down this hostel. If this is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This YHA has unfortunately seen better days and needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to scratch. On arrival when we opened our bedroom door it smelt strongly of damp, and we discovered none of the windows could be opened (one had the handle removed to prevent this). Being full we were stuck in that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eleanor P, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review YHA Patterdale. I'm very sorry you didn't find the standards up to scratch. We have a great team here and do eveything we can to make it a great hostel with a lovely atmosphere. I am happy to say we are getting the necessary improvements it needs over the next 2 months, including... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We stayed in the Patterdale Youth Hostel after the May bank holiday weekend and enjoyed the lovely 3 course meal with several newly made friends. The fab young manageress was absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough. I strongly recommend this hostel if you're looking for a cheap, clean, friendly stay in the Lakes. The Manageress makes it perfect.:)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eleanor P, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay here and I hope you both visit again soon! Many thanks. More 

Hyde
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I and a couple of friends from work organised a walking weekend to take on the challenge of Helvellyn via Striding Edge in Patterdale but did not want to pay the gasp-inducing prices charged by local B & Bs and hotels. So when Bookings.com threw up YHA Patterdale as a possibility, I was initially sceptical as I like certain basics... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eleanor P, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review us at YHA Patterdale. I'm so happy to hear you had a successful first walking weekend with your friends and hopefully we will see you again in the future! It is a great hostel and we are even getting a few improvements made very soon which will hopefully have a great... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Went camping at YHA Patterdale. Two adults two children. The scenery was stunning, the wild life amazing. It was only a short walk to Patterdale and Ullswater. The hostel was busy as it was a Bank Holiday weekend but the atmosphere was friendly and everyone was enjoying themselves. The hostel had everything you could want - friendly, helpful staff, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eleanor P, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I'm really glad you enjoyed your Bank Holiday weekend with us at YHA Patterdale. We hope you will get the chance to visit us again in the future and see the continued improvements we are making to the place, includng a lick of paint! Thanks again. More 

manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Brilliant room, brilliant communal areas, fabulous place to stay. Stayed for a night after a competition nearby and wish we had had longer . Got to reception told everything needed to know and if needed anything else just ask. Room is just what you need to sleep. Bed great duvets clean and comfy pillows. If you want somewhere with tv... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eleanor P, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review YHA Patterdale. We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we hope you will get the chance to visit us again soon! There are many improvements about to be made to the hostel and we can't wait for people to return and see the change. More 

Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Camped here over Bank Holiday weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful, the communal facilities were good and the hostel is in a great location. The camping field was peaceful and my daughter loved playing in the field. The design of the hostel makes it feel spacious and gives it character. I can't believe YHA are considering closing this hostel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Stayed at YHA Patterdale in a dorm room over the Easter weekend. I've stayed there once before and loved the location. Great for walks around the area including being able to do Helvellyn from the hostel but without the remoteness of YHA Helvellyn as me and my friends like the option of a pub to walk to if we want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Eleanor P, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and valuable feedback, I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Patterdale and I hope when you return you will see some really beneficial changes. Work to improve the hostel has already started and we now have a new oven in the self-catering kitchen! Horray! Thanks again. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

In the coldest months of the year this hostel is only open at weekends so the Friday night was rather chilly (there was snow outside), especially in the annex which had a slightly damp feeling. I was very glad of my hot water bottle and, once it had warned the bed, the duvet and extra blanket kept me comfortable all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay