We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Patterdale

Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Patterdale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Patterdale
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
7
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I had a great time working and living in this hostel. It felt like a home right away! Definitely a place I could live in. I loved it! I miss the place a lot. It's a shame the hostel is sold to a different company!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to stay at the Patterdale YHA due to its proximity to the excellent fell walking nearby! The location couldn't be better, with Helvellyn and High Street right on the doorstep! We were greeted with a warm welcome from Jim, who happily stayed on the reception desk late as a lot of guests (us included) were stuck in traffic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashton in Makerfield, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Camped 2nights on wibbly wobbly field, access to all facilities inside hostel with the option to cater for self or buy food. The kitchen was busy but managed fine as plenty of cutlery,plates etc.. Perfect drying room. Plenty of dining and lounging areas. We did not feel pressured to have to purchase food which, on occasions, we do feel that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My family and I stayed at Patterdale for 2 nights (Oct). The setting is wonderful, but I completely agree with sparklepenguin that the standard of this hostel leaves a lot to be desired. Our room was damp, the carpet was threadbare, the furniture in the room was cast offs from some other use and the some of the brick walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brighouse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

With a group of 60 university students, staff and outdoor coaches we had a one week stay with support and lots of help from the start. Food often goes budget with groups but here we had three courses of delicious food and seconds available for our hungry students. Food quality was great and catered for a variety of personal needs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Hi Andy It was a pleasure to have your group stay with us. I'm delighted to hear everyone enjoyed the food and there was plenty of it. Patterdale is a wonderful venue for large groups - we've got another one this week! I've passed on your comments to staff who will be pleased to hear their efforts were noticed. I... More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I stayed here for a night on my coast to coast journey. It came highly recommended from a friend who'd stayed 12 years previously. Unfortunately things have gone downhill since then. I stay in a lot of hostels and don't expect them to be luxurious. The hostel seems to have suffered a lack of investment over recent years and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I agree that the hostel has suffered from a lack of investment over the years and certain areas of the hostel need improving. I have a plan in place for maintenace work over the winter that will help. I'm sorry to hear you felt your room was damp, we always try... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

It is clear from arrival this in a fantastic location so close to many nearby places of interest. I do not see why the YHA have decided to sell off this hostel, when with the right amount of cash inflow it could look stunning once more. I guess due to central budget the facilities are not being cared for in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Really pleased to hear you enjoy your stay with us so much and the food was good. If you happen to stay with us in the future and there is something specific that you would like for breakfast then we will always try and cater fo you. It is an amazing location, there are so... More 

Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the place needs a bit of money spending on it but the staff here, who all know their jobs are at risk as the hostel is being sold, were superb. Nigel, who welcomed us was soooo helpful and even went online to sort out some travel arrangements for us the following day. This place is closing and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The YHA has a program of investment in the network, unfortunately this does mean sometimes hostel must be sold to generate income for investment. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were so helpful, if the hostel does close the YHA will offer staff other positions within the network. We... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the welsh warden was very welcoming & answered all my questions. The room was very neat & tidy & it's the first place I've been to where a table & chairs are in the bedroom - helped me lay out the maps to plan my walks. I showered in a newly refurbished toilet & shower room, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm really pleased you had a good friendly welcome and the staff did what they could to answer your questions. I do think our meals are excellent value when you consider that a main course on its own averages £12 locally and your getting 3 courses for £11.95. I'm glad you... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I visited the hostel in august 2014 whilst walking the Westmorland way trail, walking that day from pooley bridge to patterdale across the hills and with torrential rain all day, and unseasonably cold for the the extremely poor august that we had. When i arrived the huge sign outside said that the property was up for sale but a smaller... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jim380, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm pleased that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay with us. The issue that you have highlighted with the dorm room is an extremely difficult one for us. You are of course more than welcome to ask who you will be staying with but we have little information on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Patterdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Patterdale

Address: Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Patterdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay