We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Patterdale B&Bs / inns

Old Water View

Save Saved
You added Old Water View to your Saves list
Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Hotel amenities
Old Water View
Ranked #4 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    35
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
14
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After a beautiful day's walking through the fells, we arrived at this small inn. The backyard grassed area was the perfect place for tea and scones. The otters didn't appear, but we did see their holes on the other side of the river bank. Rooms were spacious, some with baths in which we soaked our tired feet. It was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for a night, when over in the area meeting up with family. My husband and I had L'al Gem, in the annexe, while my mum and son stayed in Ullswater, in the main building. We all slept well, having enjoyed a good evening meal, with our extended family, in Old Water View's dining room. Yes, some aspects of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for weekend with a little walking, Ian went the extra mile to look after us and take in an interest in our holiday. He gave advice on walks/weather etc. The location and hotel are excellent, the fresh home cooked food was the best in the area,and great value for money! Nothing was too much for Ian and the staff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have to agree with other similar poor reviews...if you want a lesson in how to milk a brand dry then stay here. The main aim of this business is to maximise the ring of the till with everything from c to c branded beer to Wainwright souvenirs aimed to make guests just spend as much as you can. Meanwhile... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lakeshiker, Owner at Old Water View, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. I am sorry that you found a dirty bathroom. If our bathrooms were dirty all the time, it would be a subject repeated on this website but that is not so. I imagine that one of my staff missed something that upset you and I apologise if that was the case. If you had told... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not sure what happened to my earlier review as it has mysteriously disappeared after about a week. Anyway, here it goes again... We had high expectations, but were left disappointed. Very dated decor, food not great, and money rather than customer focused approach to whole establishment. They try to make you eat your dinner there, buy their merchandise, jam, beer,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lakeshiker, Owner at Old Water View, responded to this review

Thank You for you review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As a response to strong competition here in The Lakes we have dared to be different and the majority of our customers seem to like what we do. Around three years ago we decided to stop offering B&B as a service. Customers who only want... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Old water view for 2 nights with a friend this week, this is a fanastic area to visit in the Lake district and if you want somewhere nice to stay in Patterdale this is the place, the owner Ian will go out of his way to make you happy, the rooms are superb, food is fantastic and very fairly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A Scot in London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful location, friendly helpful service, comfy beds and great food. We stayed in the bothy which was great. We will definitely be back. A place that knows exactly what walkers want and need. Thanks :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the best places you can stop at if doing the c2c. We were lucky enough to stay in the bedroom used by Alfred Wainwright himself. It is very comfortable we had a bathroom that was clean but due for refurbishment while our Daughter had a great en suite. The food was superb and we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the 'Ullswater' room on the night of Saturday 16th August. We are not walkers but were in the area for a different reason. This establishment is entirely suited to persons taking on the C to C walking challenge. Easy close access, all facilities in the one place. Our room had a vey comfortable bed but the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't comment on this establishment as a hotel, as we only visited it for a couple of evenings for food and drink, but I was very impressed by the food here, with a good range of non-meat options, generous portions and quick service. The beer was very good - a small range of local real ales - and also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Old Water View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Water View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Water View

Address: Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Also Known As:
Old Water View Hotel Patterdale

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)