We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Patterdale B&Bs / inns

Old Water View

Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (128)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • More
Old Water View
Ranked #4 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
63
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed just the one night and wish it had been longer, Lorna the hotel manager made our stay as she was very bubbly and so helpful and a great laugh, made us feel as we had been friends for years. The 3 course meal was absolutely superb and compliments to the chef for that. The garden area was very scenic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is no doubting the terrific history of this establishment and its fabulous location, but in many ways it felt a tad weary. The staff was smashing, dinner ok, breakfast okay and beds big and clean. However the bathroom was dreadful - old, dirty, with cracked tiles around the tired old shower and a much needed injection of TLC needed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakeshiker, Owner at Old Water View, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We assume that you meant "Hotel" and not "Hostel"? We are a Hotel and not a B&B and we do not offer B&B here as a service. We acknowledge that some of our Hotel bathrooms need updating to modern Hotel standards and we are mid way through a £50,000 - two year refurbishment program to... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night as part of the Coast to Coast walk recently. We stayed in a lovely annexe overlooking the river. The meal we had was excellent, I would recommend the smoked haddock and the chicken with asparagras. The breakfast was very substantial as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Came here for a couple drinks and a meal after a long day walking. Walked in to a warm welcoming bar where I had a pint of (possibly the best pint of the whole C2C and I sampled a few!) the light ale (brewed on the premises) and a very hearty dinner. We were both a little down trodden having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arrived at the Old Water Inn having walked all day in the rain on the coast to coast walk. The owner welcomed us and said put your wet things in here - offering a large laundry basket- the next time you see them they will be dry (which they were when we left). We had a room apparently used by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in La'l Gem which is not in the main building and looks out directly onto the river and is a lovely view. This building houses 2 rooms and the walls do seem to be thin as we were woken by the other guests and their TV at 12.30 at night, which resulted in my husband having ask them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lakeshiker, Owner at Old Water View, responded to this review

Hello and Thank You for a nice review, But... However, I must challenge your point about the TV noise from above. I have no idea whether your 'noise story' is true or not but I accept that there is noise transference between these two rooms in a 200 year old building. Most people will accept a little character in a... More

Adelaide
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here one night whilst doing the Coast to Coast. Well known to have been a Wainwright favourite, expectations are high. We arrived in fine weather after doing a high level route so were tired. Hence having an evening meal available on site was a bonus for us, whilst other reviewers have felt pressured by this. There is a clear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Superb b&b come hotel. Very friendly and relaxing. I could stay here for ever. Great food and a nice bar. Locayion is stunning at southern tip of Ullswater. Very tranquil. Also does off season bargains. Will definately come here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Old Water View in Patterdale, was our forth overnight stop on the coast to coast walk. It is located about 1km from the bottom end of Ullswater on main road, about five minutes from the White Lion pub – right-thinking people usually find it sensible to navigate via pubs, don’t you know? We already knew something about the Old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Read loads of good reviews for the Old Water Mill but we found the place a bit disappointing. Our room was very small and the shower room had seen better days. On a positive note we were made welcome by Joyce who is a very nice lady and did her best for us. There was a good choice of veggie... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Old Water View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Water View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Water View

Address: Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Also Known As:
Old Water View Hotel Patterdale

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Old Water View to your Saves list