We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Patterdale B&Bs / inns

Old Water View

Save Saved
You added Old Water View to your Saves list
Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Hotel amenities
Old Water View
Ranked #3 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    35
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
14
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We don't understand the earlier references to making the till ring. This place is nothing like that. The staff are excellent and are anything but pushy. We were not charged for wifi and Ian even lent us his phone to make an important call. It was certainly one of the best nights we spent on the Coast to Coast walk.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kailua, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old Water View is a wonderful b&b with a grassy outdoor area to enjoy beer in the garden after a full day's walk on the coast to coast. We had a lovely room that overlooked a river and its greenery. Our group of eight enjoyed two nights here, having a rest day here in the lakes district. We spent it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GREENSBORO NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a short mileage day on the c to c hike and got to the Old Waterview early,Ian the host drove up shortly after as we sat at tables in the beer garden.Ian immediately made the best tea and cakes the group had on our trip,my daughter and I tried the cold beer and enjoyed relaxing in the sunshine.Before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ringmer, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here whilst walking the C2C; As we were struggling to take our boots off before going in to the hotel, Ian arrived and said "It's ok you can keep your boots on", followed by "there are no rules" - such a great welcome! Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view and the bathroom perfect. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

After a beautiful day's walking through the fells, we arrived at this small inn. The backyard grassed area was the perfect place for tea and scones. The otters didn't appear, but we did see their holes on the other side of the river bank. Rooms were spacious, some with baths in which we soaked our tired feet. It was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night, when over in the area meeting up with family. My husband and I had L'al Gem, in the annexe, while my mum and son stayed in Ullswater, in the main building. We all slept well, having enjoyed a good evening meal, with our extended family, in Old Water View's dining room. Yes, some aspects of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Stayed for weekend with a little walking, Ian went the extra mile to look after us and take in an interest in our holiday. He gave advice on walks/weather etc. The location and hotel are excellent, the fresh home cooked food was the best in the area,and great value for money! Nothing was too much for Ian and the staff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We have to agree with other similar poor reviews...if you want a lesson in how to milk a brand dry then stay here. The main aim of this business is to maximise the ring of the till with everything from c to c branded beer to Wainwright souvenirs aimed to make guests just spend as much as you can. Meanwhile... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lakeshiker, Owner at Old Water View, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. I am sorry that you found a dirty bathroom. If our bathrooms were dirty all the time, it would be a subject repeated on this website but that is not so. I imagine that one of my staff missed something that upset you and I apologise if that was the case. If you had told... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Not sure what happened to my earlier review as it has mysteriously disappeared after about a week. Anyway, here it goes again... We had high expectations, but were left disappointed. Very dated decor, food not great, and money rather than customer focused approach to whole establishment. They try to make you eat your dinner there, buy their merchandise, jam, beer,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lakeshiker, Owner at Old Water View, responded to this review

Thank You for you review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As a response to strong competition here in The Lakes we have dared to be different and the majority of our customers seem to like what we do. Around three years ago we decided to stop offering B&B as a service. Customers who only want... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Visited Old water view for 2 nights with a friend this week, this is a fanastic area to visit in the Lake district and if you want somewhere nice to stay in Patterdale this is the place, the owner Ian will go out of his way to make you happy, the rooms are superb, food is fantastic and very fairly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Water View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Water View

Address: Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Old Water View Hotel Patterdale

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay