We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Patterdale B&Bs / inns

Old Water View

Save Saved
You added Old Water View to your Saves list
Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (135)
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • More
Old Water View
Ranked #4 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
64
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one of the best places you can stop at if doing the c2c. We were lucky enough to stay in the bedroom used by Alfred Wainwright himself. It is very comfortable we had a bathroom that was clean but due for refurbishment while our Daughter had a great en suite. The food was superb and we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the 'Ullswater' room on the night of Saturday 16th August. We are not walkers but were in the area for a different reason. This establishment is entirely suited to persons taking on the C to C walking challenge. Easy close access, all facilities in the one place. Our room had a vey comfortable bed but the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't comment on this establishment as a hotel, as we only visited it for a couple of evenings for food and drink, but I was very impressed by the food here, with a good range of non-meat options, generous portions and quick service. The beer was very good - a small range of local real ales - and also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Historical old B&B on the C2C trail - patronised by Wainwright. The host and his young daughter are very accomplished C2C walkers so you are in good hands - they know exactly what you need. Our room was in an annexe looking out onto the river and was delightful, comfortable and quiet, with a well equipped bathroom. Food was OK... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a comfortable place to relax after a hard day on the fells. Our room was very comfortable and clean with our own bathroom with bath which was greatly appreciated after a long walk. Our room was apparently the one old Wainwright used to stay in and it was full of old world charm. Excellent host who served some very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorset
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I cannot speak too highly of the care and support our host, Ian, provided to all his guests. The food was very good and with a wide choice. His knowledge of the area and the C2C was first rate. Our private bathroom could benefit from modernisation but I believe this is planned. Thus must be the best place in Patterdale... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Herts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like a lot of people in July we stayed here whilst walking C2C. Stayed in many places en route and this was up with the best ones: 1. Lovely big, clean bedroom . The bathroom needed to be refitted which will presumably be part of the refurbishment programme. 2. Very good three course meal. 3. The bar sold beers from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed just the one night and wish it had been longer, Lorna the hotel manager made our stay as she was very bubbly and so helpful and a great laugh, made us feel as we had been friends for years. The 3 course meal was absolutely superb and compliments to the chef for that. The garden area was very scenic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Norwich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

There is no doubting the terrific history of this establishment and its fabulous location, but in many ways it felt a tad weary. The staff was smashing, dinner ok, breakfast okay and beds big and clean. However the bathroom was dreadful - old, dirty, with cracked tiles around the tired old shower and a much needed injection of TLC needed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakeshiker, Owner at Old Water View, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We assume that you meant "Hotel" and not "Hostel"? We are a Hotel and not a B&B and we do not offer B&B here as a service. We acknowledge that some of our Hotel bathrooms need updating to modern Hotel standards and we are mid way through a £50,000 - two year refurbishment program to... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as part of the Coast to Coast walk recently. We stayed in a lovely annexe overlooking the river. The meal we had was excellent, I would recommend the smoked haddock and the chicken with asparagras. The breakfast was very substantial as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Old Water View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Water View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Water View

Address: Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Also Known As:
Old Water View Hotel Patterdale

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Water View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer