We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Newby Bridge hotels

Newby Bridge Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Newby Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Newby Bridge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

896 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    302
    152
    65
    73
See reviews for
114
579
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited this hotel as we had bought a voucher from Living Social. After seeing the reviews we had fairly low expectations (many reviews mention that the place is tired and needs an update). However, we were prepared to overlook this for the location and, hopefully, great service. Upon arrival we checked in at the reception desk, 3 members of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited this hotel to celebrate my birthday, and used a groupon deal where we got two nights, a three course dinner, breakfast each morning and a ride on the windermere ferry each. We found the hotel very attractive, clean and welcoming with friendly staff and a large room. We stayed in a wooden beamed cottage around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I run bridge weekends with very fussy members.This hotel was great value with everyone happy. Everyone liked their rooms. Some have views of the attractive garden with french doors. The annex rooms are the more modern. All are comfortable. the food was excellent. The staff were efficient and helpful. there are several ground floor rooms for the elderly. The jacuzzi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful review thank you. We're pleased we made all of your "fussy" members happy! Thank you for all of your lovely comments about our rooms, food and staff. We hope you'll keep us in mind for the next bridge weekend. Thanks again. More

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights, very good Groupon deal. The room was clean and quiet with everything you could need, the food for breakfast and dinner was good but the service was variable. Enjoyed the pool and steam room but best of all is the location, lovely views and peaceful but close to all the tourist spots I'd recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and stay. We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we agree; the location is beautiful! Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you'll visit us again. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from a 2 night weekend break on a Livingsocial offer. We were upgraded to a lovely room, Buttermere, with comfortable 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bathroom. The room was spacious and quiet and we slept soundly both nights. On the first night, we ate in the restaurant and had a meal in the bar on the second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

What a pleasure it was to read your review, thank you for posting it. Thanks also for coming to visit us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your kind comments about our accommodation, staff and food. We will look forward to welcoming you back. More

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty room in need of decoration. Worst hotel I've stayed in ever even if it was a cheap deal. And our room was an 'upgrade' too so god knows what the others were like! On a positive note, the good was great and the location is pretty good although there is a main road close by.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

What a shame to read this review. The hotel is not dirty in any fashion and if a guest is unhappy, then let it be known whilst staying and we can make it right. Even the review is not helpful in letting us know what exactly we can improve. Also, opinions of decor are subjective. However, we will continue to... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Newby bridge early April 2014 and was a little apprehensive after reading a couple of the reviews on here. We were pleasantly surprised by the whole hotel and would definitely recommend it. Welcomed by Rachel we mentioned we would like to go horse riding in the area, she then helped us call a few local horse riding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Your review was very enjoyable to read and gave some great advice. We particularly enjoyed the bit about the importance of experiencing this beautiful part of the world. We feel (and are happy you agree) that we offer excellent value for money for people who want to enjoy the Lakes but not break the bank. Thanks so much for your... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed for two nights this April. We had a groupon voucher which was excellent value for money and the staff were very friendly and especially Lorraine the Manageress whom was very helpful from arriving to leaving and also in organising our twin room on the ground floor. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. All the staff appreciate your kind comments and work very hard to ensure guests are comfortable and happy. Our food uses top quality ingredients and after the chef works his magic is akin to the food one would find in a 5-star hotel. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you. More

Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice full English breakfast, decent location, leisure facilities a bit poor in need of updating and proper changing rooms putting in. No residents bar so had to stop drinking when the bar closed at normal times. But for £80 for two for the night it is good value. Would I stay again? Yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review and stay. We work our hardest to provide good value to our guests and we are very happy to have succeeded for you. Thank you for saying you would stay again and we certainly hope you do. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

May have been discount Groupon deal but don't expect discount standards.Me n my good lady stayed 2 nites 31/3 & 1/4 & very friendly staff but decor/carpets/fixtures n fittings very tired n little shabby not to meantion paper hanging off ceiling in bar n bits held on with celatape. Our room 7 had coffee spills on two walls a wardrobe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay and review. I am pleased Steph was able to sort out a room more to your liking for your stay. Thanks for your kind comments about our staff and food as well. We are always working to improve the hotel, and if you do ever find yourself down our way again we hope you'll pop in... More

Been to Newby Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newby Bridge Hotel

Also Known As:
Newby Bridge Hotel Lake District
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newby Bridge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Newby Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newby Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.