We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland Village, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    276
    169
    90
    31
    26
See reviews for
89
325
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (592)
  • Mar-May only
    (157)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Highly recommend this hotel & spa its lovely the location beautiful, the staff excellent and the food amazing. This was my second visit this year and I will be going back. Would give this hotel 10 stars if i could. Thank you to all the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear June 217, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope that we will indeed see you again, if you... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our second visit at the Whitewater this weekend for DBB to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and we had such an enjoyable stay, even though the weather wasn't the greatest, we made the most of the spa and bar! We were upgraded FOC to an executive room on the corner with gorgeous views of the river all around due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your Anniversary stay with our spa and meal experience. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm sat on my balcony at the hotel as I write this review. We've had a lovely stay so far. We were upgraded to an executive room free of charge, as it is our 10th wedding anniversary. The room is really nice, it is a bit dated, but it has character rather being dilapidated. It isn't one of those horrible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It is always pleasing to read when guests have enjoyed their stay as that is all we aim to do! Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the... More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Dolly Blue Bar to celebrate my A level results, lovely food, amazing service and a beautiful setting outside in the sunshine, enjoyed feeding the ducks too in the sunshine, would certainly go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Georgia, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the 5 star score! We hope your A level results were just as good! Your comments will be passed on to the team of the Dolly Blue whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they do work hard to keep... More 

Kendal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a spa day at the hotel. On arrival the staff were polite and friendly showing us around all the facilities in the spa. Unfortunately the outdoor jacuzzi was out of order but there was a jacuzzi by the pool. Although there were quite a few people using the leisure club, it did not feel busy or crowded.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the positive comments. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your spa and afternoon tea. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you wish to visit us again,... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a brilliant break from start to finish. Very friendly staff. We were on the Just the Two of Us Spa Package and its highly recommend it. Evening Meal was beautiful as was the breakfast. Very clean and the room was beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Amanda , Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your spa and meal experience. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if... More 

southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely spa venue for ladies and gents looking for somewhere in the Lake District to relax and unwind.... Treatments were lovely (thanks for the manicure and pedicure to the lovely Irish lady - she was fab), changing rooms were standard, food was really nice - we had booked afternoon tea. The pool and facilities were lovely with surrounding sun loungers.....however.....we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Samantha, Many thanks for the positive comments. Should you decide for another return visit we will be delighted to welcome you back and as a gesture we will be able to offer you a 10% reduction to the best advertised rate if you call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym. Thanks and Regards, WW Hotel More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked a table after looking at the Sunday lunch menu on the website. When we arrived at the hotel we struggled to find the restaurant and had to ask at reception. We were directed down various stairs and corridors to the dolly blue bar. This had a very nice view of the river but was very empty (only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just returned from a 2 night spa break package at Whitewater with my best friend. We went in search of relaxation, good food and good service - and found them all! We were booked into a twin room but on arrival were given a superior family room which was very spacious, exceptionally clean and had amazing views over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Sian, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your spa and meal experience. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had stayed at this hotel several years ago and while in the area again, decided to pay a visit to the hotel and have a look round. We were aware the hotel had suffered badly in the floods the other year and wanted to see what it was now like after all the refurbishment. We were pleased to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Mark L, Many thanks for taking the time to share your meal experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It makes a very pleasing to read. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they do work hard to keep our guests happy.... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(5)
  • Great value(3)
  • Steam train(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

237 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
7.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
21.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay