We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Lakeland Village, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Hotel amenities
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
realwit1965 Bedford, England
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    144
    80
    29
    22
See reviews for
71
278
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (511)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Bedford, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on Friday afternoon and the young, blond woman on reception could not have been more helpful. The room was average - clean, tidy, functional. The mattress qualify wasn't bad but the pillows were thin and hard so we asked for more. The spa looked to be OK - we didn't use it. We only ate breakfast once in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, We hope to welcome you back to the Whitewater again, and as a thankyou gesture we will be happy to discount our best available rate to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount. Thanks and Regards, The... More 

Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at this Lake District hotel several times. Unfortunately this was my worst experience so far, tho I have to say it's normally pretty good especially for the ££. Phoned up the previous day to confirm the booking, only to be informed that they didn't have an overnight room booking but DID have the spa treatments booked. We'd booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Public Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thanks for taking the time to post this review with your subjective and positive comments. We hope you will return again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Book here for a surprise Birthday weekend for my partner . We had room 303 with a view of the Water . I emailed the hotel before arrival asking for some special requests for my partner , nothing was too much trouble for the staff . A special thank you to the young girl on reception that morning who arrange... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It makes a very pleasing to read. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they do work hard to keep our guests happy. We hope to welcome... More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are in need off new furniture and carpets and a good clean .After we arrived for a 2 day break for our anniversary. the room was Dirty and had cobwebs hanging off the sealing the wardrobe door was broken the furniture ie the dressing table and all the furniture was hand painted and the carpet was worn in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Zayd, I was sorry to read your rather harsh review. It is clear that you left feeling unhappy which I am truly sorry to hear, however, your comments in this review are clearly an over zealous reaction to what the hotel represents and a misinterpretation based on your personal experience. Perhaps your reference to Travel Lodge indicate the type... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently enjoyed a chilled Hen weekend here. We got a fabulous package which included use of the spa, scrummy afternoon tea, Elemis 1 hour treatment, fancy 3 courses meal, complimentary fizz, nights stay and breakfast for under £130pp. Check out their offers as they often do these fab deals. Great spa, service and staff. Btw I had a 30 min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It makes a very pleasing to read. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they do work hard to keep our guests happy. We hope to welcome... More 

England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I held our wedding reception here in September 2014. We cannot find words adequate to express just how fantastic our experience with the Whitewater was, from the first day we looked around, right up to our wedding day and thereafter. It is hard to say whether the beauty of the hotel and surroundings or the helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pickle2014, Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Congratulations to you both on your recent wedding, and many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. We don´t get many wedding reviews on here so this makes a nice change :-) We are really pleased the whole day went well for you. The wedding team will be pleased they got a mention, and the chefs too... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner took me to this hotel as a surprise for a short break that we both deserved. When we first arrived, we were pleased with our room although the hotel was a bit out of the way but the surroundings were lovely. We had had a long drive so decided to eat in that evening at there Blue Dolly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Diana, I send you apologies on behalf of the hotel. Obviously the noise issues were beyond our control and was a one off occurrence. It is a shame you were not able to fully appreciate your stay due to the issues you write about, adn ican only once again apologise. Kind Regards, Guest Relations @ Whitewater Hotel More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel, great food and exceptional staff. We stayed at this wonderful picturesque location on a weekend break. It was stunning and ideally situated to explore the rest of the Lake District. Arriving quite late on the Friday the staff were great, they changed our dinner reservation and couldn't have been more accommodating. Our room was comfortable and warm. Andrew,one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for the positive review. Should you decide for another return visit we will be delighted to welcome you back and as a gesture we will be able to offer you a 15% reduction to the best advertised rate if you call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym. Thanks and Regards, GRM at WWH More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights on an amazing value Groupon deal. Our room was lovely and we paid an extra supplement to overlook the river which was certainly well worth it. The facilities are great and include a spa and also a leisure centre which we made use of when the weather was wet. The Dolly Blue Bar meals were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It is always pleasing to read when guests have enjoyed their stay as that is all we aim to do! Your comments will be passed on to the team of the Dolly Blue whom I am sure... More 

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I took a three day break and found the hotel exceeded our expectations in almost every respect - the staff were all outstanding from front desk to restaurant. A problem at check-in was very efficiently dealt with. The evening meals were excellent and breakfasts were good (the usual difficulties with a hot buffet being luke warm, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It is always pleasing to read when guests have enjoyed their stay as that is all we aim to do! Your comments will be passed on to the team whom I am sure will appreciate the read... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question