We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Newby Bridge hotels

Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lakeland Village, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
74%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Newby Bridge
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Becky_wander Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (436)
  • Photos (205)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (126)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    130
    71
    25
    20
See reviews for
61
238
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a night getaway and had a fantastic time. We had an executive double room, which overlooked the river and the view was gorgeous. The Jacuzzi bath was also a lovely surprise! The only negative aspect to the room was that the bedding was too warm for the summer months. Perhaps a lower tog... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on Monday to a lovely hotel. However there were a few gripes ! The pool area was lovely and tranquil but was soon ruined by a rowdy family arriving and in minutes it seemed like I was at Butlins! I complained but nothing was done. The menu was repetitive every night and we couldn't use the other restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 7th- 8th aug with our 4 year old son. Family room is a great size has everything you need, perhaps a bit dated as some other reviews state but I think it's inkeeping with the surroundings. Leisure centre pass is good nice size pool for kids and adults and sauna steam and jacuzzi all included with your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rasul mud temple experience for two was superb. Neither my friend or myself had tried anything like this before, and really enjoyed it. We made full use of all the facilities, including steam room, swimming pool, lounge area and the outdoor hot tub. PLEASE NOTE ON YOUR WEB SITE - OUTDOOR HOT TUB IS WORKING - web site states... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here last weekend and to say we were disappointed was an understatement. The hotel looks lovely from the outside and the staff were friendly. We eat in the bar and had a nice meal over looking the water. The room was very dated - thread bare carpet and a bed on casters that moved so you couldn't sit up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, A disappointing experience for you and a disappointing read for us. Sorry about the poor breakfast you write about. The only aside I can say is that there is a breakfast menu which offers a selection of other products not displayed on the breakfast buffet. Ham and cheese is one of those options as well as a selection... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were originally due to stay at the Beech Hill Hotel but due to a "flooded room" we were relocated to the Whitewater Hotel. The reception staff did a fantastic job liaising with the other hotel to cover our unexpected staff. The bar staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean, spacious and had a beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie C, Thanks for taking the time to post this review and for the positive comments. We were also happy to receive you as an "unexpected" guest! We hope you will visit us again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you... More

Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and i went on a 1 night spa break. We should have made it 2. After a slightly rocky start as my email wasnt answered for 2 days, the service on emails regarding the reservation was great. The break we wanted wasnt available on a monday so i booked for the tuesday night with b and b, dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Many thanks for taking the time to write this comprehensive 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your spa and meal experience. Your constructive comments will be noted and discussed during on going training sessions. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, simply... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband decided to treat me to an overnight stay at the Whitewater Hotel and what a lovely treat it was. The hotel is beautiful, the room we stayed in was a good size and overlooked the river. We booked in to the restaurant for our evening meal hoping that the food would be good. We were not disappointed with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you wish to visit us... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We didn't even stay here but visited a couple of times for meals and drinks as a couple of family members were staying here. The location is fabulous - right by the river and there is outdoor seating overlooking it. It's so peaceful and relaxing - especially this year when the weather has been so good. We didn't use the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us. As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you for a stay with us, if you... More

Great Eccleston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have been visiting the Whitewater for the past 4 years that we have had a cottage at Backbarrow and find the staff in the bar very frustrating, The service behind the bar is very poor with no senior supervision, the staff are very young and lack training. On my visit last week I stood at the bar for 2-3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear David G, Sorry to read the comments made herein, is it disappointing for all of us. As a regular and a T/ owner, I would encourage you to meet the hotel manager to discuss this type of constructive criticism. I am sure he would be happy to sit and have a chat with you. We are alwys trying to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Lakeland Village, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newby Bridge with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer