We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Whicham Valley, Millom LA18 5JS, England
Hotel amenities
Brockwood Hall
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brockwood Hall to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
simned01 London
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    47
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
85
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Family holiday for 1 week in elterwatwr lodge ruined by paint fumes . No other available lodges. Family members I'll with nausea and breathing problems. The lodge itself was not a bad size but in need of an upgrade in the furniture. Dinning room table broke, my son fell through one of the dinning room chairs. Shower tray cracked .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

I was very sorry to hear of your discomfort as a result of the ceilings having been painted in the lodges, although the work had been carried out a few weeks ago I can understand that because you suffer from asthma you would have been more susceptible to the slight smell that remains. I am sure you can appreciate that... More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did a late booking to Brockwood Hall and stayed in one of their sleep 6 cabins. We had a great time, despite the Pool being closed. The Location. At the South End of the lake district it takes a little longer to get to, but you are so much closer to quality hikes, Scarfell pike is only 40 mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

What a lovely detailed review, thank you. More and more families are discovering the hidden gem that is the Southern Lake District and like yourselves have appreciated the benefits that this stunning area has to offer. It's good to hear that you found the lodge well equipped and allowed you to enjoy quality family time. Apologies for the fact that... More 

London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a fabulous half term break at Brockwood Hall. We had booked a 2 bed lodge but when we arrived we were upgraded to a 3 bed (rydal lodge) with a hot tub! Thank you so much for this. We are a family of 5 and so the extra bedroom is so much more convenient for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we dont often have the opportunity to upgrade guests, it was a pleasure to be able to do it for you and to hear how much difference it made to your holiday. Customer service is hugely important to us so it is very rewarding to hear that our staff looked after your... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a relaxing 3 night staying in the Loweswater Lodge. Could not fault the generous size of the lodge. It was well equipped and clean. I would like to point out that the site is no longer a Hoseasons (something I was quite relieved about) The site is currently going through a substantial refit/upgrade but this did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent short break with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am also really pleased that the current refurbishment didnt impact your break, we are doing our best to do the much needed improvements without too much disturbance. I sincerely hope that you... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me, my partner and my 2 young children have just returned today from Brockwood and had a very nice time. It started off terrible for me after the 3 hour journey to get there only to find i had booked the previous (and wrong) weekend. You can imagine my dispair when this was realised and going back to the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit. I am sorry that I didnt get the opportunity to meet you as I was on holiday myself, I can just imagine how you felt when you were told that you should have been there the week before, it is everybody's worst nightmare! I am so pleased that the time... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at here to celebrate a family member's fiftieth, and with the size of our family I got to experience 3 of the lodges. Our main lodge, Viken, had stunning views through the large glass windows and an impressive lounge/kitchen. The other two lodges were smaller, one with a hot tub which really made the holiday! The children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am so pleased to hear that you had a great time especially as it was a special celebration. I can only apologise for the problems you experienced with the shower, unfortunately we still operate on hot water tanks as oppossed to combi boilers so the... More 

UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Brockwood Hall log chalets are excellent. Adequately furnished and clean. A good location convenient for places to visit. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for Christmas week 2014. We joined in the offer of Christmas Lunch which was superb and excellent value. The place is dog friendly which is great. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your Christmas stay with us, I am pleased to hear that you found the lodge to be clean and comfortable and were looked after by our lovely staff. We have received so many great comments about the Christmas lunch so I was very happy to hear that you also enjoyed it.... More 

Delaware Water Gap, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Brockwood Hall is a great place to visit. The main building is historic and refurbished. It is primarily for dining and meetings. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the chalets were adequate and modern. The construction of these out building weren't the best. Every door in the building was "off." The hot water cut off while showering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us, I can certainly appreciate that our roads must have proved quite a challenge for you compared to the wide highways that you are used to; hopefully the practise you have had this time will stand you in good stead for your next adventure! I am glad... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We spent 9 days here with our dog and various guests..the lodge was very we'll equipped although the sofas had defiantly seen better days.the cover I took for the dog was in a lot better condition..staff are all friendly and helpful and the coffee shop good...we didn't go to the restaurant or the quiz night as the sign in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay and your very constructive comments, I'm sorry that the sofas were a disappointment; we are under new ownership and are aware that some items do need replacement which will be done in the very near future. The question of dogs in the main building is a tricky one as... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Had a surprise 30th birthday weekend away to organise for my wife. It needed to be a self catering lodge or holiday home in the lakes for myself, wife and 2 children (7 and 5). I set myself a budget based on the fact that 3 nights minimum appeared to be all I could get. I stumbled on this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that we were able to offer the flexibility that you were looking for with a two night stay, it is something that we are seeing more and more demand for. I am also really pleased that our staff were able to help you with the lovely surprise for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Brockwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockwood Hall

Address: Whicham Valley, Millom LA18 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brockwood Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Brockwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brockwood Hall Hotel Millom
Brockwood Hall Millom, England - Cumbria

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay