We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Millom accommodations

Brockwood Hall

3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Whicham Valley, Millom LA18 5JS, England
Hotel amenities
Brockwood Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brockwood Hall to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
tinaperry99 Manchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    32
    9
    10
See reviews for
81
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 9 days here with our dog and various guests..the lodge was very we'll equipped although the sofas had defiantly seen better days.the cover I took for the dog was in a lot better condition..staff are all friendly and helpful and the coffee shop good...we didn't go to the restaurant or the quiz night as the sign in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay and your very constructive comments, I'm sorry that the sofas were a disappointment; we are under new ownership and are aware that some items do need replacement which will be done in the very near future. The question of dogs in the main building is a tricky one as... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a surprise 30th birthday weekend away to organise for my wife. It needed to be a self catering lodge or holiday home in the lakes for myself, wife and 2 children (7 and 5). I set myself a budget based on the fact that 3 nights minimum appeared to be all I could get. I stumbled on this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that we were able to offer the flexibility that you were looking for with a two night stay, it is something that we are seeing more and more demand for. I am also really pleased that our staff were able to help you with the lovely surprise for your... More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Brockwood Hall on the 14/11/2014 for a 3 nights stay with my partner and our dog. Stayed in a 2 Bedroom Maple style lodge with sauna. On arrival check in was fast and friendly and we were directed to our Lodge (pine) in the lodge it was spotless and very modern and well equipped (oven, fridge, freezer, all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your detailed and positive review of your recent stay with us, I think it is great that as a Travel Agent you have experienced what you are selling to your clients and are in a much better position to advise and inform. I am really pleased that you were well looked after by our staff and... More 

Silkstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Few facilities locally so be prepared to travel if you need any provisions or you have to eat on site. A lot of updating is required and they have started on some units but this will take sometime. In the meantime small things such as hangers on doors, shelving in the bathroom as nowhere to put your toiletries. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, we are naturally aware that there is lots of room for improvement and as you have observed we have started the process nevertheless your constructive comments are appreciated and we will certainly see what small changes we can make in the interim to make... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My Wife and I have just returned from a lovely 5 day break at Brockwood Hall in the Western Lake District . This is ideal if you wish to get away from the Hurly Burly of your work or the World in general. With 2 Resturants , you have a choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Brockwood Hall, it is good to know that you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity that the resort offers and we hope to see you again on a future occasion. More 

Kingswinford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed in Scaffel lodge. We were pleasantly surprised by the size with a large lounge, dining and kitchen area, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a sauna. There was good facilities including a dishwasher, TV with DVD player, fridge freezer and more or less all home comforts. There was a safe balcony and outside dining area where we could lock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your stay in Scafell lodge, I am very pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and service to be of a high standard. Sorry about the peacocks, we have tried to train them to sleep later so that they don't wake our guests... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Lodges at Brockwood Hall. Immaculate accommodation, fantastic facilities within, and spectacular views from the veranda. Helpful and friendly staff too. We will be back very soon. Thank you so much for a fabulous mini break. (We would love the hot tub next time please!!!!!!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent short break with us, we are planning more hot tubs for the future so watch this space. Look forward to seeing you again on a future occasion. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I recently stayed in one of the chalets at Brockworth Hall, somewhere I have been going since I was a child, with my husband and 5 month old baby. We had paid for a chalet with a sauna but the one we were given also had a hot tub on the balcony which was fantastic. The chalet was lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is so nice to hear that you have been coming here for so many years and are now bringing your own family. The hot tubs were only installed in the Summer so they have been a nice surprise for quite a few people. We certainly take on board your comments regarding... More 

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We recently spent a great week at Brockwood Hall. This is a perfect place to kick back and relax and a great base for touring the Lake District. The staff is courteous, friendly and helpful. The bar is reasonably priced and the bistro serves good pub style food (we did not use the restaurant or have breakfast). The lodge was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us, we do acknowledge the shortcomings that you have pointed out in relation to the bedrooms and bathrooms and can assure you that we take all such suggestions into account when planning refurbishments as the new owners are currently doing. It is good to... More 

Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Went with my Mum and 2 boys and had a very pleasant stay. We were in the Buttermere lodge and it was great to be at the edge and in total peace and quiet. There are some snagging points in lodge that need work still - balcony door not locking properly, no working locks on bathroom doors etc but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and for your comments regarding the swimming pool; we have reviewed our procedures and hopefully improved them as a result. I'm glad that you enjoyed the tranquillity offered by Buttermere lodge and hope to see you and your family on a future occasion. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Brockwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockwood Hall

Address: Whicham Valley, Millom LA18 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brockwood Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Brockwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brockwood Hall Hotel Millom
Brockwood Hall Millom, England - Cumbria

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay