We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brockwood Hall

Whicham Valley, Millom LA18 5JS, England
Hotel amenities
Brockwood Hall
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kevo15 York, United Kingdom
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    34
    10
    10
See reviews for
87
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked one of the lodges which had a hot tub. Great my family thought until you try to operate it. The bubbles would not work then around midnight the thing came on waking everyone up so not good. The oven had parts missing inside so couldn't be used, The cleaner left the hoover out along with a bag of rubbish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I appreceate that there were a few problems which have needed addressing. I have recently taken over as General Manager of Brockwood Hall and our aim is to establish the resort as one of the best. I understand that the hot tubs can be quite difficult and I am dealing with this. We are... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in one of the Windermere lodges, booked through tesco club card so a very good deal. Gather the whole hall and lodges are all being refurbished this year, our lodge was fine for our requirements and for the amount we paid, not sure I would justify the full day rate had we booked direct. Good sized lodge with all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Hi Grayson122. Thank You for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the bed linen, this is getting a full upgrade and the choices we have made will really improve the quality of the bedding. The beds too are being replaced and the idea is to create absolute luxury and excellent... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a trip to the UK and a one week stay at Brockwood Hall. What a reprieve, there's something about being in the countryside which recharges your batteries like nothing else does. When its in the Lakes it's even more spectacular, even during a rainy start to Spring. Briefly experienced the solar eclipse on 20 March , a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockwood L, Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Hi Theab! Thanks for the kind words and feedback on your stay at Brockwood Hall, it is excellent that you managed to enjoy all the wonderful walks in and around the resort. We hope to see you back again for a few more walks and epic mountain climbs!! More 

Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I, with our two enthusiastic Golden Retrievers, spent a terrific week at this peaceful, relaxing and pleasurable hideaway. Perfectly located in the South Western Lakes, with easy access to lovely beach walks and the Lakes. Great cabins with friendly and warm staff whenever required. Very enjoyable week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Bedfordshire Chick. We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us at Brockwood Hall and hope to see the four of you back again soon!! More 

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Family holiday for 1 week in elterwatwr lodge ruined by paint fumes . No other available lodges. Family members I'll with nausea and breathing problems. The lodge itself was not a bad size but in need of an upgrade in the furniture. Dinning room table broke, my son fell through one of the dinning room chairs. Shower tray cracked .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

I was very sorry to hear of your discomfort as a result of the ceilings having been painted in the lodges, although the work had been carried out a few weeks ago I can understand that because you suffer from asthma you would have been more susceptible to the slight smell that remains. I am sure you can appreciate that... More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We did a late booking to Brockwood Hall and stayed in one of their sleep 6 cabins. We had a great time, despite the Pool being closed. The Location. At the South End of the lake district it takes a little longer to get to, but you are so much closer to quality hikes, Scarfell pike is only 40 mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

What a lovely detailed review, thank you. More and more families are discovering the hidden gem that is the Southern Lake District and like yourselves have appreciated the benefits that this stunning area has to offer. It's good to hear that you found the lodge well equipped and allowed you to enjoy quality family time. Apologies for the fact that... More 

London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We have just returned from a fabulous half term break at Brockwood Hall. We had booked a 2 bed lodge but when we arrived we were upgraded to a 3 bed (rydal lodge) with a hot tub! Thank you so much for this. We are a family of 5 and so the extra bedroom is so much more convenient for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we dont often have the opportunity to upgrade guests, it was a pleasure to be able to do it for you and to hear how much difference it made to your holiday. Customer service is hugely important to us so it is very rewarding to hear that our staff looked after your... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Just returned from a relaxing 3 night staying in the Loweswater Lodge. Could not fault the generous size of the lodge. It was well equipped and clean. I would like to point out that the site is no longer a Hoseasons (something I was quite relieved about) The site is currently going through a substantial refit/upgrade but this did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent short break with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am also really pleased that the current refurbishment didnt impact your break, we are doing our best to do the much needed improvements without too much disturbance. I sincerely hope that you... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Me, my partner and my 2 young children have just returned today from Brockwood and had a very nice time. It started off terrible for me after the 3 hour journey to get there only to find i had booked the previous (and wrong) weekend. You can imagine my dispair when this was realised and going back to the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit. I am sorry that I didnt get the opportunity to meet you as I was on holiday myself, I can just imagine how you felt when you were told that you should have been there the week before, it is everybody's worst nightmare! I am so pleased that the time... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at here to celebrate a family member's fiftieth, and with the size of our family I got to experience 3 of the lodges. Our main lodge, Viken, had stunning views through the large glass windows and an impressive lounge/kitchen. The other two lodges were smaller, one with a hot tub which really made the holiday! The children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockwood L, General Manager at Brockwood Hall, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am so pleased to hear that you had a great time especially as it was a special celebration. I can only apologise for the problems you experienced with the shower, unfortunately we still operate on hot water tanks as oppossed to combi boilers so the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question