We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Uplands Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Haggs Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uplands Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Uplands Hotel
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    45
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
127
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was my hubby's birthday and I wanted to treat him to tea. I rang to book for 8pm they said last orders were at 8 so could only book for 7.30 which I agreed. We landed at 7.30 got shown to our table straight away, there was only 6 other people in the restaurant, we ordered 2 steaks for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I really must apologise for the confusion over the last order time. During the week it is 7.30pm but on a Friday and Saturday it is 8pm (this will be extended from the 1st of May as well). The member of staff in question has been identified and... More 

Kyrenia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed our one night stay, friendly staff, great views and a nice room. We didn't eat there, but the food looked good as it passed us at the bar. If want to walk into Cartmel be careful of the road and expect an Upland (see what I did there! :) back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Everyone enjoys the views and we pride ourselves on being a friendly place. Hopefully we will see you again in the future and you will have the opportunity to try our food! Best wishes More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dated decor, not enough electric sockets, towels small and worn. No lift either. Beds were comfy and they did supply us with a zed bed, but then we could barely move in the room. Bathroom door lock stuck. Not good as we had small children with us. Shower was cramped and either freezing or scalding. Lovely view was wasted as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is such a shame that you did not enjoy your stay as much as your parents who seemed very appreciative of the little extras we provided to ensure their stay was comfortable. We are a small family run hotel that does not advertise any family rooms and often highlight... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was looking forward to this trip, after a previous visit to Cartmel, and after reading other reviews of Uplands. However, on arrival I was disappointed to be shown to a small, rather shabby room, especially for the price. The breakfast was very good, but overall the stay was not worth the cost, especially compared to some of the lovely hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sorry to hear the hotel didn't live up to your standards as you will see from other reviews people actually like staying with us and we have many returning guests. If you stayed in the room i think you did without having your full name then we have never had it described as shabby or small As you know... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at uplands just before 7.30 pm to find that they stopped serving food at 7.30 even though the details said I would still be able to get food. I had to go into Cartmel for food. Came back about 9pm to find the whole place closed . No drink at the bar or even anyone to call for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. When your husband arrived he informed us he wasn't sure what time you were arriving. As it still quiet we do say last orders is 7.30pm Monday - Thursday. From the 1st of May these hours will be extended. The Chef actually offered to make a large Continental food platter... More 

Stockport
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
52 hotel reviews
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted to visit Cartmel for Simon Rogan's restaurants and found a great deal with Livingsocial. The package was for 2 nights with a 2 course dinner included on the first evening and breakfast both days. It's more like a B&B than a hotel and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was probably one of the cheapest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Responduplands, Manager at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and it's a shame that you didn't enjoy your evening meal as much. I hope Rogan's and L'Enclume were more suited to your tastes. We are aware some of the bathrooms are in need of updating and we can't wait to finish them ourselves! More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say that hasn't already been said?! This is an amazing hotel. Comfy, on a country lane, with excellent staff and fantastic food. We went on a Living Social deal, but would be more than happy to pay full price. One small tip: If you can, stay in the annexe. The rooms in the main building are above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

SO glad you enjoyed your stay with us i understand what you mean about the annexe been quiet but we do try make sure when it gets later that the music is low etc Most people that stay with us go to bed quite early as they have been out and about all day and are generally tired ha ha... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We bought this mini break for my parents at Christmas and my parents went at the beginning of March. It was a 2 night break, which included dinner on the first night and breakfast on both mornings. They had a room which overlooked the lake and told me the room was lovely, refurbished and the bathroom was fabulous. The hospitality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

SO glad to read that your parents enjoyed their break with us and what a lovely comment "We have bought them a few "getaways" and they said this was the best so far " we couldn't have asked for anything better The rooms are new and we are proud of them so pleased they liked it Hope to see you... More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We took advantage of a Living Social Deal to stay here and it was very good value for money indeed. We were shown to the Eden Room, which is in a little Annex adjacent to the main building and the room has clearly been refurbished recently and was in excellent condition, with a great view down to Morecambe Bay. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

SO glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your room as you said we have just recently completed 3 new rooms and they are all to a good standard. Its always nice when customers appreciate the work and leave lovely comments for us Hope to see you again Julie More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights after our Lake District wedding. We booked using a Living Social voucher however I would have absolutely no qualms in paying full price to stay again as it is definitely worth it. We stayed in the Kent room which was very comfortable and cosy and the rustic decor fitted in well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review We all try really hard to make your stay enjoyable and we all like to make sure we get to know our guests I will make sure that the chef's are aware of your wonderful comments regarding the food Thank you also for recommending us to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question