We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Cartmel B&Bs / inns

The Blue House Bed and Breakfast

Browside Cottage, Ayside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Blue House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
96%
Ranked #3 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Emily K Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I and my boyfriend stayed at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast on the 16th of September for just one night, after having a few days camping in the central Lake District. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Tina who showed us to our room promptly and explained about ordering breakfast the night before, which was fine by us! As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, the positives: Tina is extremely pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. We were also free to come and go as we pleased. However, for us, the Garden Room was a little disappointing for the price being charged. The room was not as spotless as it could have been - dust on picture frames, corrosion on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Manager at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue House and I'm sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. The Garden Room is our most popular room and is currently booked out every weekend through to the middle of November. Bathrobes are provided in the room to avoid any embarrassment when crossing to the bathroom, although there is... More

Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On reading past reviews we decided to "pay that little extra" for extra luxury and from what the reviews were saying we were very excited about our night away! .... However!!! I'm not sure if an £80 charge for 1 night would be classed as robbery considering the room didn't have an en - suit bathroom... you had to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thank you for taking the time to review the Blue House. I am sorry that your stay wasn't as you had anticipated but am glad to note that you were only Slightly Disappointed. I must admit I was mortified when I went in to service your room after you left and realised I had only put one towel... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night with our 2 dogs. We had the garden room which was lovely. Had a stove in the room, which would've been lovely if we'd stayed in winter. As most reviewers have mentioned, Tina leaves homemade flapjacks in the room to have with a cuppa. These were delish, and such a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Blue House and we look forward to seeing you again soon - with the dogs of course! Best wishes Tina More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August - what a great find! We stayed in the garden room, which is a lovely spacious room, kitted out with a tv, tea, coffee, amazing flapjacks (homemade), a sofa and everything else you could possibly need. Slept extremely well both nights and woke up to beautiful views and a delicious breakfast of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Sophie Thank you for taking the time to say such lovely things about The Blue House. I'm delighted that you had such a comfortable stay and made the most of everything the area has to offer - it's a real bonus having a great pub, serving excellent food within walking distance! See you again soon. Best wishes Tina More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014.The room was quiet and good size with tea and coffee places to hang clothes and a comfy double bed with a TV in room.Breakfast was very good and the people who run the place very friendly ...they even lent me a pair of shoes for the wedding after I had forgotten mine...it is close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Eric Many thanks for taking the time to review The Blue House. It was absolutely no problem lending you the shoes for the wedding, we really couldn't let you attend in your golfing shoes! The cheese scones, and for that matter the fruit ones too, at Yew Tree Barn,just down the road, are sublime! Best wishes Tina More

Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay, we stayed in the garden room and it really is a little gem, though our stay was in the summer we had no need to use the fire it still created a comfortable and cosy atmosphere to the room, and with its own private front door overlooking the garden, it felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Vicky Thank you so much for your lovely review and it was a real honour to be able to help organise your special surprise! The Garden Room is a lovely room - you'll have to come back in the winter when it really comes into its own with the stove burning away. Best wishes Tina More

leek, staffs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay with our dog, Tina made us feel very welcome and6 the Garden Room was lovely with the added benefit of its own front door.The breakfast was excellent all locally sourced one of the best we have tasted.This is an ideal location for a dog friendly break the local pub called the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a wonderful time in the Blue House BnB. We stayed for one night and had a brilliant breakfast in the morning!! With plenty of choice and homemade pancakes made our stay even more enjoyable. Situated in a beautiful location, close enough to get to anywhere around Windermere and surrounding villages, but hidden away from the madness of Bowness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

After exploring my Irish travellers roots I wanted to experience a Gypsy caravan stay. It was very different to what I would usually book and I did not sleep well at all but it is defiantly a one I will remember and am pleased I did. We went to the Crown for our dinner but was not impressed, the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Blue House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Browside Cottage, Ayside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Bed And Breakfast Cartmel, Cumbria

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cartmel with
any amenities