We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blue House Bed and Breakfast

Browside Cottage, Ayside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JE, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lovely bedroom and bathroom with delicious treat of homemade flapjack supplied with the tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was taken next morning in the main house and this too was excellent. Tina was a wonderful host. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We spent this weekend in the delightful gypsy caravan which was a really great experience. Tina welcomed us warmly with all the info that we needed. We had a warm and very comfortable night and enjoyed a delicious breakfast with yummy home-made bread the next morning ! We will be booking our next short break with Tina very soon and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stafford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Easily found thanks to fab directions from the owners. Met on the driveway by THE cutest puppy plus mum and gran (puppy's mum and gran that is!). Very friendly black labs. Had a nice welcome from Tina and shown to our lovely room upstairs. Bathroom is not quite in the room but not a problem as totally private upstairs so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay at The Blue House. You have got me intrigued by Geocaching - what a fascinating concept and brilliant way to discover different places. I have just parcelled up a couple of small items left in the room and will get them in the post ASAP.... More 

Buxton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Partner and myself stayed in the Romany caravan for a night - cosy and warm (I guess if you lit the fire you could turn it into a sauna !). Welcomed with tea (and the famous flapjack) and spent the evening cooking our own meal by the fire pit nearby, watching the sun go down. Breakfast next day in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely, quirky review. Great to hear that you made the most of your stay in Romany Rose Gypsy Caravan - you'll have to come back when the snow in on the ground to enjoy the wood burning stove at its best! But with the fab summer and autumn the fire pit area has enjoyed some stunning... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed in the Garden Room for two nights for our anniversary. We had a lovely welcome from Tina, who had even left an anniversary card and a little bottle of wine for us on the windowsill of our room. The homemade flapjack in the room was a lovely touch also. The room is pretty with a spacious bathroom and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay at The Blue House. The Garden Room is a great room for celebrations - it has even be party to a proposal! I'm glad the hens wandered past the window and not in through the door which they have been known to do! Hope to see you again for more celebrations.... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I and my boyfriend stayed at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast on the 16th of September for just one night, after having a few days camping in the central Lake District. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Tina who showed us to our room promptly and explained about ordering breakfast the night before, which was fine by us! As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Emily Many thanks for your review, sorry for the delay in replying - it has been a hectic few weeks and I can't quite believe it's now October! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and am sorry that the flapjack had a hair on it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Tina More 

Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

First of all, the positives: Tina is extremely pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. We were also free to come and go as we pleased. However, for us, the Garden Room was a little disappointing for the price being charged. The room was not as spotless as it could have been - dust on picture frames, corrosion on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Manager at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Blue House and I'm sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. The Garden Room is our most popular room and is currently booked out every weekend through to the middle of November. Bathrobes are provided in the room to avoid any embarrassment when crossing to the bathroom, although there is... More 

Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

On reading past reviews we decided to "pay that little extra" for extra luxury and from what the reviews were saying we were very excited about our night away! .... However!!! I'm not sure if an £80 charge for 1 night would be classed as robbery considering the room didn't have an en - suit bathroom... you had to walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thank you for taking the time to review the Blue House. I am sorry that your stay wasn't as you had anticipated but am glad to note that you were only Slightly Disappointed. I must admit I was mortified when I went in to service your room after you left and realised I had only put one towel... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night with our 2 dogs. We had the garden room which was lovely. Had a stove in the room, which would've been lovely if we'd stayed in winter. As most reviewers have mentioned, Tina leaves homemade flapjacks in the room to have with a cuppa. These were delish, and such a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Blue House and we look forward to seeing you again soon - with the dogs of course! Best wishes Tina More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August - what a great find! We stayed in the garden room, which is a lovely spacious room, kitted out with a tv, tea, coffee, amazing flapjacks (homemade), a sofa and everything else you could possibly need. Slept extremely well both nights and woke up to beautiful views and a delicious breakfast of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tinainthebluehouse, Owner at The Blue House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Sophie Thank you for taking the time to say such lovely things about The Blue House. I'm delighted that you had such a comfortable stay and made the most of everything the area has to offer - it's a real bonus having a great pub, serving excellent food within walking distance! See you again soon. Best wishes Tina More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Blue House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Browside Cottage, Ayside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Blue House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Bed And Breakfast Cartmel, Cumbria

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay