We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Cock Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Princes Street, Broughton-in-Furness LA20 6HQ, England
The Black Cock Inn
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    4
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited the BC on 6th April and found the service to be so appallingly awful that we got up and left before we even ordered. It was a bank holiday and we knew the pub may have finished serving food for the afternoon however when we asked the waitress she confirmed they would still serve food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stacey l, Owner at The Black Cock Inn, responded to this review

Firstly we are a family friendly pub and being the easter holidays there are alot of families about with children during the holiday period, secondly we are not the only eatery in Broughton-in-Furness there are another two aswell as 2 cafes, thirdly joining someone else's table was not your only option as there were other tables available but you were... More 

cumbria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

wife and i went to the black cock tuesday 10th march and again had a superb meal we had chicken brest with melted cheese and a garlic and mushroom sauce the portion was big and tha meal itself was lovely sat by warm open fire staff always friendly and locals pleasent again not a bad word to say stopped with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

After visiting family in Millom we decided to pop in here on our way home for our tea for the time. We didn't book in advance & luckily a few tables were free, wait wasn't too bad either considering the pub was quite busy both with dining & drinking. I chose off the specials board - duck with cranberry &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I lived in Broughton in Furness for a short spell in the 80's. The Black Cock Inn became my local. Years later and my job took me back into the Lakes. I needed to find places to stay in different parts of the county and The Black Cock was an easy choice. It's not a Hotel, it's a traditional, homely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Just stayed at The Black Cock in Broughton. Nice room if a little querky. We had a lovely evening meal with four friends. The meals were all served piping hot with a good selection of winter vegetables that had been just cooked enough. They gave a little crunch to my Cumberland sausage, mash and wholesome gravy, Three cask ales were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Looking forward to a lunch after wlaking in the area. Arrived at 2:10pm and were quite firmly told that the kitchen was closed despite signs etc all stating that food was served all day. Had one drink and left - bar staff not all all helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting family, and have to say the staff were really helpful and friendly and the food and drink were excellent! Great meals, particularly from the specials board, well cooked and presented. The room we stayed in was a little small and the floorboards creaked, but that's all part of the charm of staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We popped in at random and thought we would try it! So worth the decision we had a beef roast dinner and it was beautiful. Everything cooked perfect and the plate was set beautifully! Huge portions with loads of flavour! Very happy we tried here and will be back soon! Thankyou! Also they were very busy and managed to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Whilst working locally for 2 weeks I had the great pleasure of eating, and socialising in the black cocktail, for starters the food is quite fantastic, good hearty food, made from local produce, Stacey, Donna, phoebe, steph, peewee, and all the rest of the staff, thanks for helping to make my stay so enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Workington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Had a lovely meal in the black cock at broughton in furness today lovely food served by lovely helpful friendly staff ....how nice it is to go into a place to find such lovely friendly people and get a reasonably priced meal presented in such a nice way ....after been stranded at the railway station at Foxfield with no way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Other (50)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question