We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Cock Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Princes Street, Broughton-in-Furness LA20 6HQ, England
The Black Cock Inn
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
22
31
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We were refused food service after we had found an available table in the bar area. We had four adults and a 4yr old sat at a table designed for four people. Although snug we were quite happy with the space we had. The barman said that they would not be able to serve five plates at the table due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

4 lads travelled from Eire to cycle the lake district for the May bank holiday weekend and stayed the Friday night in the Black Cock Inn. We found the staff very friendly and couldn't have accommodated us any more than they did. We definitely wouldn't have received the same service any place else providing late check out and showers after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my wife visited here on 7th May 2015 for out Tea. A brilliant old fashioned pub they serve real ale which is fantastic. I ordered the Large fish and chips cost £11 my wife ordered a fish pie, I tell you something the best fish and chips I've had in years Fresh fish (not frozen rubbish) with mushy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some colleagues and I ate here on a business trip and couldn't praise it enough... the fish and chips was fantastic, the mixed meat curry from the specials board was out of this world and if you go for the cumberland sausages, be sure to upgrade add the yorkies.... service was friendly - food took a little longer because it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I visited the BC on 6th April and found the service to be so appallingly awful that we got up and left before we even ordered. It was a bank holiday and we knew the pub may have finished serving food for the afternoon however when we asked the waitress she confirmed they would still serve food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
stacey l, Owner at The Black Cock Inn, responded to this review

Firstly we are a family friendly pub and being the easter holidays there are alot of families about with children during the holiday period, secondly we are not the only eatery in Broughton-in-Furness there are another two aswell as 2 cafes, thirdly joining someone else's table was not your only option as there were other tables available but you were... More 

cumbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

wife and i went to the black cock tuesday 10th march and again had a superb meal we had chicken brest with melted cheese and a garlic and mushroom sauce the portion was big and tha meal itself was lovely sat by warm open fire staff always friendly and locals pleasent again not a bad word to say stopped with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

After visiting family in Millom we decided to pop in here on our way home for our tea for the time. We didn't book in advance & luckily a few tables were free, wait wasn't too bad either considering the pub was quite busy both with dining & drinking. I chose off the specials board - duck with cranberry &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I lived in Broughton in Furness for a short spell in the 80's. The Black Cock Inn became my local. Years later and my job took me back into the Lakes. I needed to find places to stay in different parts of the county and The Black Cock was an easy choice. It's not a Hotel, it's a traditional, homely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Just stayed at The Black Cock in Broughton. Nice room if a little querky. We had a lovely evening meal with four friends. The meals were all served piping hot with a good selection of winter vegetables that had been just cooked enough. They gave a little crunch to my Cumberland sausage, mash and wholesome gravy, Three cask ales were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Looking forward to a lunch after wlaking in the area. Arrived at 2:10pm and were quite firmly told that the kitchen was closed despite signs etc all stating that food was served all day. Had one drink and left - bar staff not all all helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities