We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Borrowdale accommodations

YHA Borrowdale

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Longthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Borrowdale to your Saves list
YHA Borrowdale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
96%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Amy J
  • Overview
  • Reviews (59)
  • Photos (32)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This beautiful spot was a blissful find after a long day walking in the sun! There was a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the women in our dorm were very friendly and from all over the world! The facilities have space enough that you don't have to do any running down the corridor in your towel, the kitchen is big enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I checked into YHA Borrowdale after never being to a YHA centre before. The place was extremely friendly and orientated for single persons, couples, groups, and families. I always thought that YHA centres were boring and stuffy, this experience has turned my views upside down and I will be utilising these facilities again in the future. The rooms, the bar,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My running club booked into the YHA for a weekend away running around Borrowdale. From the first email and phone call the YHA couldn't have been more helpful! We kept having difficulties with the number of guests and they were so helpful every time I called up. We pre-booked a dinner for the evening, 3 courses for £12 and considering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Thanks for a fantastic review, we are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon... Dont forget the Castle Crag Tinetrial will be on again next year on Sunday the 11th of Jan! for more info keep an eye on our facebook page :) All the best Chris YHA Borrowdale More

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful location, busy, vibrant, friendly hostel. Big drying room but so full and the day had been so wet, it could barely cope. Excellent evening meal; excellent breakfast. Lovely bar and facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to review your stay at YHA Borrowdale, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope the rest of the LEJOG cycle trip went to plan :) All the best Chris YHA Borrowdale More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a little dubious at first when my daughter booked us here as my image of yha"s wasn't the best having never stayed in one before. However I was blown away by the quality of this establishment as well as the cleanliness and friendliness of the residents and staff. There is a great community feel to this place where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Thanks for a Fantastic review :) We are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay at YHA Borrowdale and that you found the hostel to be of a good standard and have a great community feel. With no mobile signal we can feel a little cut off in the Borrowdale Valley but If you would like to stay connected to... More

UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the camping pods which are like the child of a garden summerhouse and beach hut who have had an illicit fling. Whilst roomy and carpeted you need a mat and sleeping bag. There is a heater and bedside lamp and enough room to stand up. The best bit is the decking and chairs that enable you to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Many thanks for an Amazing review... The staff all loved your description of the Camping Pods :) We are really pleased you enjoyed the experience and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Chris YHA Borrowdale More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have walked the C2C and Borrowdale YHA was one of our favourite stopovers of the whole trip and we did 17 of them. We had a room for two, which was clean, warm and took all our luggage and kit. The drying room was very big and well equipped. We haven't youth hostelled for quite a few years and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a fantastic review of your stay at YHA Borrowdale. Its great to hear that you were pleasantly suprised by our Cafe Bar and that you rated our evening meal so highly of all the stops on your walk. Congratulations on completing the C2C :) We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Chris YHA... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've stayed at this hostel several times over the years, always in a 6 bed dorm. Their shared dorm rooms are lovely compared to many YHAs - bright and fresh, with lots of windows. I liked that I could hear the beck outside whilst lying in bed. This hostel is in the most beautiful area of the Lakes (in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Thanks for writing an amazing review of your stay at YHA Borrowdale. We are really pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and Its especially good to hear that you consider the hostel to be located in 'the most beautiful area in the lakes'. We aggree with you on that front! :) Also your right to point out that the... More

west yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a fantastic place. Comfortable, relaxed, fabulous location and best of all..... no mobile signal. Walks from the door, surrounded by fantastic views and guest bbers on draft. A real getaway weekend. We stayed in a Pod and lived it. Only downside was evening meal which was poor, but next time we will use facilities or BBQ and cook our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at YHA Borrowdale. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time at the hostel. We pride ourselves on offering great value home cooked breakfasts & evening meals so we are disappointed to hear that you werent impressed this time. We really want to get it right for all our guests... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were walking the Cumbria Way and must have been pretty much the only ones to arrive on foot that night. We stayed on a Friday night and the car park was full as there seemed to be a lot of single sex groups who each arrived in their own cars separately. They all ate in for dinner and breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your stay. We are really pleased that you found the facilities to be clean and the beer to be good value and thought the breakfast and evening meal were a tempting option. It is disappointing to hear that you felt you didn’t get the full YHA welcome during your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA Borrowdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Borrowdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Borrowdale

Address: Longthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Borrowdale 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your YHA Borrowdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Borrowdale Keswick

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer