We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Boltongate B&Bs / inns

Boltongate Old Rectory

Boltongate CA7 1DA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Boltongate Old Rectory to your Saves list
Boltongate Old Rectory
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
100%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013
Rachelsfood London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Bolton Gate Old Rectory is a beautiful building inside and out and the attention to detail is superb. David and Gilly are really friendly, helpful hosts which made the trip even better. We opted for dinner cooked by Gilly which was the perfect choice as the food was delicious, David chose us great wine to go with and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, thank you very much for taking time to write such a lovely review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for letting us know that your watch arrived safely! We hope you will make the journey up North again as it would be great to see you. Kind regards Gilly & David More

E Mids
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

David and Gill are just the most lovely people sharing the joy of their beautiful home. The welcome is heartfelt and the food is amazing, but it's the attention to detail that does it for us. Nothing is too much trouble - locally sourced, organic food; gorgeous soaps, shampoos and moisturisers; homemade cakes, chocolate treats; CD players in the bedroom;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this review

Hi Tricia Many thanks for finding time to write such a wonderful review. We really enjoyed catching up with you and David again and it was lovely to meet your friends too. Gill is particularly glad that you didn't let on what real foodies your friends are and the places they have dined until after the meal on the second... More

London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently stayed at Bolton Gate Old Rectory with a good friend and was absolutely delighted with my stay. I don’t ordinarily take the time to review places where I have visited, however Bolton Gate Old Rectory was such an exceptional stay, I felt I needed to make an exception. From the moment we made the reservation for our stay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, and thank you so much for writing such a detailed review. Your dietary requirements were really not a problem for us. Prior to moving to Cumbria Gill taught Home Economics for 17 years so has plenty of favourite recipes to call on which are both gluten and dairy free. In fact David also avoids cow's milk so there... More

Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Gill and David were great, from the attention to detail they place in every part of their lovely home, to how they looked after us while we were there. Lovely home cooked food with great local produce - a lovely part of the lake district away from the general bustle. Beautiful walks and some great gastro-pubs in this área. Skiddow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this review

Adriana, it was a real pleasure having you here. Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review but perhaps more importantly, we were delighted that you both felt able to relax and unwind and just enjoy this beautiful part of the Northern Lakes. This area of the Lake District seems to be overlooked by so many, which is... More

London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a really lovely 3 night stay at Boltongate with Gill and David over the May bank holiday. The house is lovely, rooms are really spacious, light and airy and the location is great particularly for anyone who wants to be near the action in the Lakes but slightly out of the hurly burly (it is about 15-20 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review. It was great to have you here for three nights as that gave you two days to properly explore this quieter area of the Lake District and to appreciate how beautiful it is - especially in the sunshine! We are also delighted that you enjoyed dining with... More

Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Simply one of the best places to stay in an unspoilt area of the lakeland fringe. Hosts could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Food perfect, spotless and fresh and a building you would just love to own.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this review

Many, many thanks for your kind words. We aim to offer the kind of experience that we hope to find when we are travelling but it's very reassuring and encouraging to have such positive feedback. We will continue to strive to make further improvements which hopefully you will be able to appreciate during any future visits.... Kind regards Gill &... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at the Bolton Gate rectory to celebrate my mother and sisters birthdays. It was the perfect choice for us - gorgeous old house, beautifully decorated and maintained. The bedrooms were really lovely and extremely comfortable with huge beds and comfortable mattresses. The owners have paid enormous attention to detail and should you have forgotten anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill-David63, Owner at Boltongate Old Rectory, responded to this review

Firstly I must apologise for taking so long to respond. I remember sending you a thank you email but then I completely forgot to thank you in this way. Sorry! Thank you so much for your wonderfully detailed review of Boltongate Old Rectory. As I have commented in previous responses, our home really does seem to make a perfect venue... More

scotland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

It was my 50th Birthday yesterday and my closest friends and dearest family had a wonderful lunch at the Rectory. While not something they normally do ( that is providing lunch parties) David, Gill and not forgetting Betty provided excellent hospitality and the most delicious meal in relaxing beautiful surroundings.... I cannot recommend the place enough. While we did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. As you rightly say this was a first for us in that,despite offering dinner to guests who are staying with us for nearly ten years now, we have never offered lunch before so it's really encouraging to us to have such positive feedback. We must also thank you for being... More

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at Boltongate in May was faultless. The house is beautifully finished with excellent attention to every detail, it has a wonderful relaxing atmosphere our bedroom was lovely with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Gill and David are wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome. The food is the best we have had anywhere in the world, if it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Wow what an amazing review! We are starting to wonder if it's really about us! We are really glad that you thought so highly of the food. We use a lot of local artisan food producers and try to let the ingredients speak for themselves so feel that we have to share any credit with our suppliers for making such... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a wonderful afternoon we had today. I gather lunches are not the norm at the Old Rectory and this was a one-off - but how wonderful it was. The location, building, ambiance and hosts were all incredible; relaxing and welcoming just doesn't sum it up. The food, on the other hand, was beyond words - "beautiful" "exemplary" and "delicious"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind words. David Betty and I really enjoyed having you at Boltongate Old Rectory for lunch as you were all such appreciative diners! We will try and organise some sunshine for your next visit so that we can serve the canapés and fizz outside...... Kind regards Gill and David More

Been to Boltongate Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boltongate Old Rectory

Address: Boltongate CA7 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Boltongate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boltongate
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Boltongate Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boltongate Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.