We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Beckermet B&Bs / inns

The White Mare

Save Saved
You added The White Mare to your Saves list
Morass Road, Beckermet CA21 2XS , England
Hotel amenities
The White Mare
Ranked #2 of 2 Beckermet B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckermet
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Paid a visit last Sunday wont be going again which a shame as reasonably priced menu. There were only the 5 of us in the restaurant at 6pm with 2 waitresses my plate with the pie i ordered arrived along side my friends plate with his pie on it. My pie was luke warm and we sat and waited for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After ordering our food at six thirty we eventually got our meal at eight thirty, this was after asking twice where is our food? granted there were twelve of us but a very fragmented service & when challenged the staff about our wait I was told by one of the waitresses that she went to catering college and was taught... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Manager at The White Mare, responded to this review

ericsimmet18holes, Thanks for your review, your only review about your recent stay with us. As you will be aware I was the Manager that you spoke to in the morning of your check out, when you snuck away from the rest of your golfing group to quietly discuss the matter with me. You certainly did express that you weren't happy... More

Travelers are raving about these Beckermet hotels

cumbra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

me and my partner went for a meal told it was supposed to be nice very disappointed the meal was very basic menu was very poor when food came they had forgot to fetch half of it had Cumberland sausage im from Cumbria the meat was pick sausage meat not Cumberland sausage very poor all round the only thing we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Manager at The White Mare, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Since your last visit to the White Mare I have now taken over as the Manager and we have a top class Head Chef who has a very good reputation. All our food is freshly cooked and I'm sure you will like our Cumberland Sausage. I would hope that you will give us another try and let us... More

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Called in for lunch on the way back from a walk in Whitehaven. The Sunday Carvery was exceptional. Home cooked, fresh roasties, vegs and Yorkshire Puds and mash. Very good prices and the staff are a credit to the establishment. Pity they only had Beef left - but not complaining as it was well cooked and a hearty portion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went to the white mare last month for a family Sunday dinner. Lovely place and very welcoming staff but the food was just average which was a shame as I'd heard some good reports. Meat was dry snd there was no lamb left which was one reason we went and the veg seemed to have been sat for a while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We don't serve Lamb except on Easter Weekend, the meat normally served is beef, turkey and gammon so I am sorry if you had been told lamb would be on. We have changed a few things with the meat to try and solve the problem of the meat drying out but... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent service, great value and a really warm welcome awaited us at The White Mare during our recent visit. We have stayed there a couple of times before and had no complaints but the difference this time was quite marked. Claire and Juliet were friendly and accommodating and the staff were happy and couldn't do enough for us. We ate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Clare - It means a lot when people can see the changes we have made. Claire and Ju put in so many hours and reviews like yours show it is making a difference. More

Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is one of the friendliest and most accommodating hotels I have stayed in for years. We came to West Cumbria for a long weekend and stayed in this little gem. We stayed there last year and it was fine (hence the return) but now there are new owners and they have made the place even more welcoming. Juliet and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thanks Mike for your review, its great to have feedback that shows we are heading in the right direction. More

Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was back for my 3 monthly trip to site and normally do stay at the White Mare for convenience to site. Recent visits have been very hit and miss but this was the first since Claire and Juliet took over the running of the pub. The changes you have made are wonderful, the place has a nice friendly atmosphere,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for you review, I will chat to Chef and see if about adding some healthier options on the menu. The real ales are going down a treat, Wainwright is my personal favourite and has been very popular so are making it one of our regulars but we are trying to have another guest ale on as well.... More

Egremont, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Visited here last week and the Sunday lunch was fab! Any selection of vegetables and 3 choices of meats to choose from. A bit on the expensive side at 9.95 and this was just for one course. Bad points were they kept running out of things and my daughter had to wait over 20 minutes for her chicken nuggets and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am glad you liked the carvery, it is becoming very popular. On the other points you made, we will try and address them and hopefully you will see an improvement when you come for Mothers Day. More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

From reading the last review I was very apprehensive about being booked into this hotel for by work, but as I wasnt paying what the hell!! Was welcomed pleasantly by all the staff on entering to check in. Only one real ale on, but it was particulary good! As a member of CAMRA I am keen to see that real... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the White Mare has now been taken over by 2 local families. We endeavour to continue the high standards and we now have at least 2 cask ales on all the time. Please come back and sample the ales and our extensive homemade and locally sourced menu More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Mare

Address: Morass Road, Beckermet CA21 2XS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Beckermet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The White Mare Beckermet, Cumbria

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay