We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Mare

Morass Road, Beckermet CA21 2XS , England
The White Mare
Rate this Hotel

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Egremont, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Greeted & served with (over priced) drinks quickly by the only member of bar staff! After looking at the menu, chicken something it would have to be!!!! Order taken by said only member of staff! Chicken pieces, chips & beans for 5 yr old daughter! Best thing about whole experience!!!! Roast dinner for Hubbie!! Obviously warmed up everything left over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Decent sized pub, nice atmosphere, barstaff is friendly; however often not behind the bar. Pool table and equipment is in disrepair, food is okay and service is average. Locals are lively and the youth always give the pub a friendly vibe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ravenglass
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

we called in for lunch after hearing very good reports about the place...we werent disappointed at all! The hot beef baguette was divine! proper beef and onions in a very fresh baguette. My other half had the Cumberland sausage baguette which he enjoyed very much. Good value for money. The beer was obviously well kept too. We will be back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My wife and I pass this pub regularly and always thought it looked nice, so when we wanted an evening out we decided to look it up to see what people said. Some of the earlier reviews are not very complementary but we decided to give it a go because it isn’t far from where we live. However we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warrington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Paid a visit last Sunday wont be going again which a shame as reasonably priced menu. There were only the 5 of us in the restaurant at 6pm with 2 waitresses my plate with the pie i ordered arrived along side my friends plate with his pie on it. My pie was luke warm and we sat and waited for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Beckermet hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After ordering our food at six thirty we eventually got our meal at eight thirty, this was after asking twice where is our food? granted there were twelve of us but a very fragmented service & when challenged the staff about our wait I was told by one of the waitresses that she went to catering college and was taught... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Manager at The White Mare, responded to this review

ericsimmet18holes, Thanks for your review, your only review about your recent stay with us. As you will be aware I was the Manager that you spoke to in the morning of your check out, when you snuck away from the rest of your golfing group to quietly discuss the matter with me. You certainly did express that you weren't happy... More 

cumbra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

me and my partner went for a meal told it was supposed to be nice very disappointed the meal was very basic menu was very poor when food came they had forgot to fetch half of it had Cumberland sausage im from Cumbria the meat was pick sausage meat not Cumberland sausage very poor all round the only thing we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, Manager at The White Mare, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Since your last visit to the White Mare I have now taken over as the Manager and we have a top class Head Chef who has a very good reputation. All our food is freshly cooked and I'm sure you will like our Cumberland Sausage. I would hope that you will give us another try and let us... More 

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Called in for lunch on the way back from a walk in Whitehaven. The Sunday Carvery was exceptional. Home cooked, fresh roasties, vegs and Yorkshire Puds and mash. Very good prices and the staff are a credit to the establishment. Pity they only had Beef left - but not complaining as it was well cooked and a hearty portion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went to the white mare last month for a family Sunday dinner. Lovely place and very welcoming staff but the food was just average which was a shame as I'd heard some good reports. Meat was dry snd there was no lamb left which was one reason we went and the veg seemed to have been sat for a while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We don't serve Lamb except on Easter Weekend, the meat normally served is beef, turkey and gammon so I am sorry if you had been told lamb would be on. We have changed a few things with the meat to try and solve the problem of the meat drying out but... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent service, great value and a really warm welcome awaited us at The White Mare during our recent visit. We have stayed there a couple of times before and had no complaints but the difference this time was quite marked. Claire and Juliet were friendly and accommodating and the staff were happy and couldn't do enough for us. We ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zach H, Business Partner at The White Mare, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Clare - It means a lot when people can see the changes we have made. Claire and Ju put in so many hours and reviews like yours show it is making a difference. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question