We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alston Youth Hostel

Firs Edge | The Firs, Alston CA9 3RW, England
Alston Youth Hostel
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
1
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here at the end of day 2 on the C2C. The welcome was second to none, we just about road straight from the road into the secure cycle store and it went on from there. The managers were friendly and they went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The hostel is well placed and clean and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlstonYH, Manager at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you were happy with your stay with us. We are proud of our breakfasts, always cooked fresh for each of our guests. Should you be passing through Alston again, we would be happy to see you. More 

county durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

bed were uncomfortable pillows were sown on to the sheets only two toilets to share and it was a very noisy hotel but it was clean ,had to take of our shoes and leave them at the door which i was not happy about breakfast was fine bikes were safe i wont stay there again as id rarther pay a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlstonYH, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to learn you were not entirely happy during your stay with us. We had a very full hostel on the night of your stay, 29 adults made up of walkers and cyclists. We hope the noise was a result of them chatting and sharing stories of their days adventures whilst up here... More 

Nanteuil En Vallee, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Friendly and warm welcome from the new proprietors since our last visit and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with big showers and plenty of hot water. Very nice lounging area with a wide variety of reading matter for relaxation. Excellent breakfast was had by all, and close to all amenities in the village.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlstonYH, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank You, what a very generous comment. It was great to see you all and we are pleased to know we will have the same pleasure next year. More 

Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

14 of us arrived after cycling from Whitehaven after cycling the C2C for 79 miles. The rain had hit us before we started climbing Hartside. It was wet windy and only 2 degrees centigrade going over the tops. We had nevér been as cold or as wet. Everything I was wearing was soaked through even in mid June. The welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlstonYH, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank You Andrew. Your group certainly had a challenging ride over Hartside. We are so pleased to hear you think our drying room is the best! Hopefully, if you are planning to do the Coast to Coast again next year?? we will see you again and you will fetch better weather with you. The chefs - Linda and Neil are... More 

Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Alston was a lovely place very friendly all round. There are red squirrels in the grounds. It is near the source of the Tyne and Tees and right on the Pennine way. There is a community car service that can give you a lift to places to walk and a steam train. It is a youth hostel so basic but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlstonYH, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The hostel can accommodate up to 30 people, be they single walkers, cyclists or larger groups who just need a place to get together. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I spent two nights at Alston and found the welcome first class, friendly and helpful staff, claen comfortable hostel and great breakfast. I was back packing and the weather turned iffy so I booked in for a second night and the staff offerd me a lift to Hexham (yes they were going anyway but they still offered!) Great stay, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for rating us so highly. We were only to happy to offer you the lift. It would be good to see you again very soon. We hope the weather is a little kinder to you next time! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The staff at AYH were very hospitable and could not do enough for us,they even picked up some of our weary bikers doing the Whitehaven to Alston C2C route with star radio when it got too much. They truly went above and beyond. Very friendly staff, lovely food and comfy beds, would recommend it to anyone, but especially those weary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments. You and your group of cyclists certainly had a very challenging time considering the weather conditions on the day. It is good to know we helped to make it a little better for you all and that everyone arrived at the end of the Coast 2 Coast ride safely. We look... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights in a family room. Room good for value, nice dining area, self catering kitchen was well equipped & clean, staff friendly & helpful pointing out local places to visit, the area was covered in snow when we visited, just beautiful. I Plan to stay again for longer. Value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlstonYH, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind comments and the positive review of our hostel. It's good to know our guests are happy when they stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

overall this was a good place to rest in Alston (I was tired wet everything I had was out of power and I was sick of tents) it nice place with friendly staff, good kitchen and sitting, and a nice breakfast. They were especially support when I thought I had lost my card fortuntely I found it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We stayed here with friends after walking some spectacular sections of the Pennine Way. Alston is a quaint town architecturally but it offers all you need. This hostel is well situated, quiet, comfortable, with good facilities and very friendly, helpful new owners. Their breakfast was just what was needed for another day of travel - hot and tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
1.2 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
12.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#7 of 13 in Alston
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#1 of 13 in Alston
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities