We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Tarporley accommodations

Peckforton Castle

4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Peckforton Castle to your Saves list
Peckforton Castle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Rebecca F London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (910)
  • Photos (393)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (207)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    194
    96
    49
    59
See reviews for
129
527
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner took me here as a surprise treat and I was more than blown away. To be honest I am totally shocked by some of the bad comments. We had a fantastic stay, the staff were more than helpful, the food was delicious and the room was the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in. The bath was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for my husbands birthday was amazing. We upgraded to a four poster room which was very reasonable. The room was stunning fabulous bathroom and original features made this extra special. As the weather was so perfect we ate in the courtyard of the brasserie. Very peaceful and relaxing. Drinks followed outside on the lawn. Food was well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First impression was WOW!!!! What a fantastic hotel. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Was taken to room and on first glance again very pleased. Bit on the small side with TV in poor place to watch( room 105) but the view out of the window made up for it. Plus points of hotel : great building, great grounds, birds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at peck fronton castle last night then went on landrover experience today. The whole stay was fabulous staff so often criticised on trip advisor were top notch, friendly, helpful and very professional and well trained and presented at all times. Bedroom ( family) was extremely good and clean,warm and comfortable massive six foot bed glorious, whole aspect of hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. So glad you were impressed by your stay and lovely to note how friendly and welcome my team made you feel. Sorry about the noisy guests, as you say it is not easy to prevent this. We hope to see you again soon. More

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We first stayed in February andhad a really terrible time shower flooded bathroom mouldy walls in bathroom TV didn't work staff unhelpful and rude so wrote to thdgeneral manager who invited us back to try again. Nearly didn't take him up on it as that wasn't why we complained however eventually went back this week. Although better than before the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear that we didn't quite get things right again. We work within the confines of a grade 1 listed building and therefore the windows are small, as per the original castle, but unchangeable. Good to read that you enjoyed the food but of course disappointed to read that you will not return. More

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Just arrived back from two nights at this wonderful hotel. We arrived on Tuesday and had booked the his & hers classic package for Wednesday morning and raptor encounter for the Wednesday afternoon. We originally spotted this hotel on secret escapes but on trying to book the days we wanted the hotel was not on offer anymore on that web... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic and comprehensive write up. Always a pleasure to read when a guest has a truly memorable experience with us. We hope you come visit again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Castle is amazing and very magical. We had a gorgeous room with a fabulous bathroom. All the staff we met were charming, although service was sometimes a little on the slow side. However it in no way spoilt the experience as we were never in a rush. The food was delicious and well presented on lovely china. This is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Great to read how much you enjoyed the Castle and the unique environment it offers. Thank you for posting a review, do come back soon. More

nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are currently still staying at the hotel in room 402, the room is in the tower and is very nice with lots of character. We came on a secret escape package with half board which we found ok for the price but the only things that let this hotel down are : Service is dreadful especially in the brasserie..the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Such a shame that tripadvisor takes 24 hours to display a review, as if we had seen this whilst you were still in house or if you brought it to our attention during your stay, we would have had the opportunity to implement some service recovery and perhaps ahnge your views. More

Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a great weekend here. Very relaxing, so quiet. Service, food, room all great. Cannot fault anything. Can't wait to revisit. Really thinking about doing the Landrover experience if we go again, also loved the birds of prey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for the fab review, you know you're welcome back any time! More

Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Peckforton castle has the opportunity to be absolutely amazing, but something just lets it down, its missing the 'wow' factor. Service not all that, had afternoon tea here, and an evening meal in the brasserie, nothing special about either. Breakfast was good plenty of selection. Our room had a cracked window, and the curtain was hanging off the pole, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I was sorry to read that you found your visit just average. Sounds like there were some oversights in your room which I will pick up with my housekeeping team. I do hope it won't put you off returning in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Peckforton Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

393 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (366)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 47 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 2 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
47

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer