We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chimney House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chimney House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chimney House Hotel
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    87
    62
    48
    47
See reviews for
52
110
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (309)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
merseyside
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent the weekend at Chimney House as a gift from our daughters for Christmas. The food was excellent served in a contempory area. Breakfast was buffet style offering full English breakfast, cereals, fruit and yoghurts, toast and preserves fruit juices and selection of teas and coffees. Some parts of hotel do need renovation. Lovely gardens. Looked amazing in snow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Merseysidelynn, Many thanks for your excellent feedback regarding your stay here, It is fantastic that we made your stay so enjoyeable. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind Regards, More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a champagne afternoon bought for Xmas, and the nearest place to our home was the Chimney House Hotel & Restaruant, having read previous reviews we were not expecting too much, the outside of the building is very run down and needs to tlc as does in interior, but the afternoon tea was really nice, the bread was fresh,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jrh146, Thank you for leaving such positive feedback with regards to your recent booking for afternoon tea, we are delighted you enjoyed. We are aware the hotel requires a little cosmetic work and this is in place to correct, I do hope you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards, More 

Rampieux, france
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed one night on way to Scotland. Decor and furnishings rather faded, with bugs living in the window seals! Room 2. bar meal was nice and good value. Breakfast was poor. Buffet style but dried up and hard bacon and sausages, while fried eggs were solid! However for £72 including breakfast I guess you can't expect 5 star? Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IanC, Firstly may I apologise for the shortcomings experienced at the Chimney House Hotel. Please be assured that your comments have been taken very seriously. There is no excuse for the lack of cleaniness or service regardless of room rate, and I have to say it is a real shame that this was not addressed on the day of... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the New Years Eve event, a room for two with dinner,disco, and breakfast for a cost of about £195 . On arrival the booking in was prompt, efficient and professional we were directed to the room, on the way to the room it was clear that the heating in the corridor was not working,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry2085, Thank you for leaving feedback with regards to your stay at the hotel in December 2014. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed new year with us, we had other great feedback and I do hope you will book again next year. Unfortunately we did experience a boiler problem that caused some rooms to be cooler, however we... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my hubby and I stayed here on Saturday 3rd jan for a relaxing break and think that all the negative reviewers must have been staying in a different hotel! gorgeous room (16) with really comfy bed, helpful lady on reception, tasty food in restaurant served by a writer who was friendly and funny and breakfast was the same-cant wait to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Franwilcok, Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at the Chimey House Hotel. Such positive feedback is a real spur for the team here at the hotel and we are all pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, More 

London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Struggling in traffic on the M6 we left the motorway for a spot of lunch and found this place very easily. The lovely patio restaurant was very pleasant and the staff very courteous. A good menu consisted of pub favourites so we opted for fish and chips and lasagne. Both at least 4 out of 5. A perfect pit stop,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PistolPete, Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Chimney House Hotel, Sandbach. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your brief visit with us. Your comments will certainly be shared with the team and hope you will visit us again soon. Best wishes, More 

coventy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my work colleague stayed at the chimney house hotel just off the M6 and 20mins from Manchester airport. We booked 2 double bedrooms inclusive of dinner bed and breakfast. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious. Kitchen staff went out of their way to help my dietary requirements for dinner and breakfast. Parking and wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FayedHussain. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Chimney House Hotel, It was a real treat to read your experience was to your expectation. I will certainly share those comments with the team and I am quite sure they will be equally pleased. Thank you again and our best wishes for 2015. Kind... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel to get away for a night. When it came to eating, we were told we can't sit in the restaurant as a coach was due in. We also went to the bar and I ordered a rosè wine but received a white, which I wasn't to impressed about. The staff need proper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LucyB, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do accept sometimes we dont always get things right as I am sure you understand human error occasionally happens, however this should not of happened. We will take on your comments and hopefully you will visit us again soon so we can offer you... More 

Ruthin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Quite a nice hotel and fairly quiet. The room was good and the breakfast buffet was plentiful but nothing special. The overall décor needs to be freshened up a bit and the general standard of house keeping is sadly lacking. The breakfast area was in need of a thorough clean, dust and polish.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AndrewP, Thank you for taking the time to write your comment about the hotel, this is so important to us as hoteliers as this enables us to act on and put things right that much more quickly. Please be rest assured that your comments have been taken seriously, and that we have and will continue to make changes for... More 

Shifnal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We visited the Chimney House Hotel for afternoon tea on our way back from a weekend in the Lake District, we had booked in advance,. On arrival we were expected and shown to our table, the sandwiches and cakes were delicious, I read previous poor reviews on Trip Advisor and did not what to expect, however my experience was positive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TerryS, Thank you for leaving such positive feedback with regards to your recent booking for afternoon tea, we are delighted you enjoyed. We do hope to see you again in the future and our best wishes for Chistmas and New Year. Kind Regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chimney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire, England

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay