We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Nantwich B&Bs / inns

The Railway Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Railway Hotel to your Saves list
Pillory Street, Nantwich CW5 5SS, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (19)
  • Photos (1)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
The Railway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Nantwich B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantwich
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed overnight to watch old friend perform locally. Great service fromm staff and breakfast was delicious. Late night drink with Landlord very welcoming and bed very comfy. Our room was double at front of hotel and given traffic there was not at all noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stay at this Hotel for the Nantwich Holy Holy Day! its a regular venue for the Sealed Knot after the battle and a great chance to meet them all its a great little B&B, breakfast is great, prices are check and the staff are amazing!!!! would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a cheap, comfortable, short stay, then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manchester
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were welcomed by a friendly lady who showed us to the room, the room was small, cramped with dated furniture, tacky Beatles photo's, dirty mirrors, lamps and lights did not work, extractor fan did not work in bathroom. Room 3 is facing a main road, so it sounds like you are sleeping on a motorway! Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane H, Owner at The Railway Hotel, responded to this review

Strange that we see this posting, when you were full of praise for ourselves and our hotel until we had a situation involving the police, that was brought about by your circumstances and nothing to do with our establishment. May it be your anger towards us was more to do with your own actions and the alcohol you had consumed.... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the second year I have stayed here as part of a large group and Jane and Nigel have always made us feel very welcome. Great location in town centre with lots of take aways and restuarants on its doorstep and a Morrisons across the road. The rooms are comfortable, warm and clean and the single room was spaceous.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

we only needed a bed and for that it was ok, the location was perfect as it right in the middle of the town and we was going to a boxing match. The rooms are a bit dated but was clean, the pub downstairs has a good serlect of ales and the staff was happy and jolly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here on the seventh of December for my wife's birthday, another couple were supposed to be with us but had to cancel the day before due to illness, no fuss or moans from Nigel and he made us very welcome. Room was large and clean, really comfy bed, nice and warm.Had a great day in Nantwich and came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When arriving at the Railway, we went to the bar to get our room key, and we where asked to pay £70.00 upfront ,we had not even seen the room, never had to do that before as they had already got our credit Card details. Went to the room, it was not Luxury as made out on the sigh outside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Really grateful to Nigel and Jane for making my recent guests so welcome. I held a birthday party in town and some friends needed accommodation when most of the town was booked up. I was able to book a few beds (7) at the Railway and the hosts made my guests feel very welcome indeed. The rooms are perfect for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a stop point on a long distance walk due to its location. From arrival things seemed to be a little off, I know they had a busy weekend with the 'Jazz Feastival' going on, but it seemed that we were interupting things by arriving. The room given was large but in poor condition, fittings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and 3 other friends stayed here as we were attending a friends 30th birthday party in nantwich. The room was clean and tidy with nice comfy beds and the owners were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The cooked breakfast the next day was lovely with as much tea and coffee as we asked for. We were told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Railway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Hotel

Address: Pillory Street, Nantwich CW5 5SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Nantwich with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer