We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel

Nantwich Road, Crewe CW2 6DN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    14
    11
    11
See reviews for
17
30
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a great time after spending a week here and you'd be mad not to stay here. Friendly staff, great food and a warm spacious & clean room in a building full of character. For more details please read on... http://thesunshinedancer.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/the-crewe-arms-made-my-stay-worthwhile.html

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the great review. The whole team are delighted with your comments and we do hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future. Thanks once again. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM More 

Bucks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I rarely post reviews and am one of those who don't find complaining comfortable but this wasn't great. I will forgive the fact someone was in 'my' room so meaning a 2nd attempt, I will also forgive the fact the hotel is very tired and very creaky, after all it was built in 1830 and in fairness the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sir, Please accept my sincerest apologies that the food was not to our usual high standard. We trailed a new butcher last week and have immediately returned to our existing supplier. The quality was not as good as we required. I can only apologise and do hope that you may try us again in the future when our usual... More 

Travelers are raving about these Crewe hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On Saturday 16 May 15, 52 retired members of the Women's Royal Army Corps gathered at The Crewe Arms Hotel for an annual reunion. Several of the ladies attending live a fair distance from Crewe, so decided to stay at the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful and accommodating.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the great review. The whole team are delighted that you had such a great weekend. I will ensure a copy of your review is distributed to all, especially Rachel who was your contact throughout. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM More 

Ipswich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is old, so it has lots of character, which I found interesting and charming. On the downside, the floors were quite creaky so there were some issues with quality of sleep. That said the room was spacious, clean and with a lovely bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the staff very friendly and obliging. The hotel is right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the great review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The hotel is indeed old, but full of character I agree. I will pass on your comments to all the team. Thanks again and I sincerely hope that you will choose us again when next in the area.... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here for a few nights recently. It is a beautiful period property with historical links to the railway and the town. The very helpful staff explained that the hotel was the first of its kind in the UK. There is even a special line from the station to a secret platform where Queen Victoria would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the great review. The whole team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM More 

Huddersfield
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had two nights on a business trip here. My first night was one of the worst I have ever spent in a hotel. The hotel overlooks the mainline Crewe station and station announcements go on until late at night and recommence a little after five in the morning. Add to that the almost constant movement of trains which, aside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sir, We are the world's oldest railway hotel and as such we do hear trains from time to time. Station announcements cease at 10pm and do not re start until 6am. The majority of the food at the hotel is home cooked and we serve 25 -30 portions of homemade pie everyday, I do apologise that this was not... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was nice, the hotel was nice, most of the staff were nice and friendly except for one lady who acted like everything was an effort. Our room hadn't been cleaned, our cups etc were left dirty and when I went to ask someone about this she replied, we have no staff to do that today, here's your clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am very sorry that your room was missed by the housekeeping team, we were staffed in the morning. I have spoken to the receptionist on duty and she has misunderstood you. She thought you were requiring a turn down service which we do not offer here. Had she realised... More 

Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
109 hotel reviews
470 helpful votes 470 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in all the hotels in the Crewe area over the years and decided to try Crewe Arms this time after the recent refurbishment. We are so glad we did! It is excellent value. The beds are superb: comfy and lovely crisp white linen. The bathroom and shower were great with plenty of hot water. But what we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the great review. The whole team are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found all aspects of the hotel to your liking. We sincerely hope that you visit us again when next in Crewe. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Management and Staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and we were incredibly well catered for. Workshop Room was perfect - large, well ventilated, provisioned with projector, screen and flipchart. Food served in room by very polite staff. We had one in the party with special dietary requirements, who was catered for brilliantly - thank you. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for the great review. we are delighted that your event was a great success. I will pass on your comments to all the team who will be so pleased that their efforts have been recognised. We all hope that you choose us again for any future events. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived late on Friday 10th April with David Urquhart (Coach) due to accident on the motorway so the meal time was adjusted from 6.30 till 8pm. My friend and I paid the single supplement and were each given a large room with double bed both rooms were very comfortable and clean. I certainly didn't notice any noise and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and do hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest Regards Tracey Molyneaux GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities