We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Ferry Boat Inn

Black Lane, Holywell PE27 4TG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Ferry Boat Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Old Ferry Boat Inn
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    28
    26
    23
See reviews for
38
113
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went there mid-week for lunch with family. Staff could not have been more helpful. Food is basic but good size portions, good quality and excellent value compared with some 'gastro pubs'. There are not many restaurants where you can get two main dishes for under £10.00! They get a bit busy on Friday evenings and weekends but that's to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lancaster
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I should have read the reviews! Travelling on business, trying to stay away from the chains and sometimes you make a mistake! I had a meeting in Cambridge and rather than stay in the heaving centre I thought a country pub would be nice....the Old Ferry leaps at you, thatched, by a river, oldest pub in England (I have stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Holywell hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The superior rooms here are much better than the standard double and worth paying the extra 9 pounds per night as they are more spacious. What made the 2 night stay great for us though we're the staff who couldn't have been any better. Becky in particular was always very helpful and attentive to us, she made our stay one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments you have made. I have shared these with the team & Becki in particular and she would like me to thank you on her behalf for the mention. I hope we see you again in the future. More 

Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked lunch with friends, lady who served us was quick, food was really nicely presented lamb shank was lovely my friends had fajitas and the smelt lovely. It wasn't the fastest service but were on a catch up so didn't matter. Desserts smelt lovely, staff very polite and young men very attentive. The place is a little tired inside, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies for the delays in service. Having recently taken over here at the Old Ferry Boat Inn one of my highest priorities is to reduce any delays experienced in food service. We will also be looking at the décor inside in the near future, we have already made some improvements in repainting... More 

Paris, France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stopped here and it will definately be the last. When we checked in payment was demanded even though we had paid already on the internet. This took a while to sort out (new manager who didn't know where things were filed) Bedrooom 1 is so small there was no space at the side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to read the comments that you have made and would personally like to apologise for the problems you experienced. As you have mentioned in your review it was my first few days here at the Old Ferry Boat Inn and the company and I was still learning the systems. I will take these learnings and use them... More 

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely place, service in the evening was slow due to lack of staff but those working were friendly and the food was very nice, however we did eat in St Ives on the 2nd night. Chris is an asset there, he offers a warm welcome and has good knowledge about the area to offer,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all feedback and will use this to improve in the future. I have recently taken over here at the Old Ferry Boat Inn and I do hope I will see you in the future. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here on Friday and Saturday night during May Day Bank Holiday weekend. The location is idyllic with a beer garden overlooking the Ouse River and the building is historical and fabulous with beams and a thatched roof. We stayed in Room 4, which is superior double and larger than the other four rooms. Unfortunately the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

I am aware that you have already discussed your stay with my area manager and the matter has been resolved. However I would just like to take this opportunity to apologise once again for the disappointing stay you had with us. More 

Sidmouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for dinner in a party of seven prior to a family funeral the following day.Whilst the Inn is ideally located and the décor is traditional sad to say the service was awful and the food barely adequate.We had to wait over an hour for our main courses (only 3 of us had starters) and when received unfortunately the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. If you would like to speak to me about your visit I'd be happy talk through your visit on 01480 432444 More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We decided to stay overnight to break a long journey. A lovely old Inn nestling in a quiet village on the banks of the River Ouse. The evening meal was great value and the bar service very friendly and helpful. The room was simple and in character with the age of the establishment. Breakfast was fine service not so good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to put them online. We hope to see you again soon More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The best thing about this inn is the location, we stayed in Spring and had a couple of warm sunny days the magnolia trees were in bloom as were the daffodils and blossom, so made for a beautiful walk around the small village and past the church so many thatched rooves in one place! The Inn itself was olde worlde... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online I will pass your comments onto the new manager Tim We hope that you will return again soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay