We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Ferry Boat Inn

3.0 of 5
Black Lane, Holywell PE27 4TG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Ferry Boat Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Old Ferry Boat Inn
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    27
    25
    21
See reviews for
37
109
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The best thing about this inn is the location, we stayed in Spring and had a couple of warm sunny days the magnolia trees were in bloom as were the daffodils and blossom, so made for a beautiful walk around the small village and past the church so many thatched rooves in one place! The Inn itself was olde worlde... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit disappointed to be honest with tonight's meal. There was one roast dinner left, and other meals were off the menu. Service was a bit slow and food was, well, just average. If anyone from the pub reads this, can I suggest the following to improve the experience - more than 3 roast potatoes on the plate; dont burn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to put your comments online. As a brand pub we have to follow our brand but I will pass your comments onto them. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit but hope you will revisit us kind regards More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dry, tasteless and possibly the worst Sunday dinner I have ever had. The food in this pub has been good over the past few months, but has gone rapidly downhill. The service was ridiculously slow too. We shall not be visiting again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the Old Ferry Boat. We are working hard to bring the Inn back to the standards that our customers at Old English Inns expect. If you would like to speak directly to me about your visit please contact me on 01480 432444 Kind regards More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had friends over from Paris and wanted to show them a true traditional English pub. Living locally we decided to take them for lunch at the Old Ferry Boat. Food and service very good. Would definately go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon More 

CRAWLEY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room over kitchen .. extractor fan outside on wall of room ... can't hear yourself think.. kitchen staff with music loud room 4 not a good room!! ..shame because it's lovely ...very clean comfortable room ..just very very noisy from 7.15 am till 10pm great food and history

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online With the Old Ferry Boat being a lovely country pub with rooms, they are all above the main trading areas and Kitchen. We do send our apologies that it was noisy and we are looking into ways to quiet the fans down I hope this has not put you... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used as a base to meet friends and spend a day In Cambridge. This is a real character old inn overlooking the river Ouze just outside St Ives. A lovely setting and must be perfect in the summer. We were well received and shown to our rooms. We had room 1 which has a lovely view bit is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments online I am glad that you enjoyed your visit With the Inn being so old, I am told it is one of the oldest Inns in the country the rooms are on the smaller side but the standards our house keep's work to keep our customers happy We hope you will return soon Regards More 

Essex, Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We struggled to find the inn as address given on booking form said St.Ives rather than Holywell. Food was very good, both evening snack & breakfast (egg & bacon cooked just as we ordered). We were in room 1 which in fact was over the stairs & had bulkhead for stairs taking up a good part of the room. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the team at the Old Ferry Boat looked after you. Being one of the oldest Public Houses in England areas can be a little tight be but the views and atmosphere make up for that. We hope to see you again More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We arrived fairly early for lunch and the car park was all but empty. We were sat at a lovely table by one of the bay windows that had a great view of the river. The food was served quickly, even though we waited until the restaurant was busy before we ordered. It was all well presented and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Stayed here on a sunday night because it was cheap. Wasn't expecting much and actually found it much better than expected although Sat Nav struggles to find it. Really lovely location, rooms are OK but a bit rough round the edges and could do with a bit of money spent on them but for what I paid including a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will return again soon Regards More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

We were looking for a place to go for a Sunday walk and have a nice lunch afterwards. We found this place online as we saw it was also dog friendly and thought we'd give it a try. We were very impressed- it was clean, friendly service, the food was excellent and the dog was just as happy as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, Public Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Old Ferry Boat I would agree the walks around the Inn are beautiful and on a nice day I could not think of a better way to end the walk, than with a nice beer in the garden We hope you will return soon regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question