We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Ferry Boat Inn

Holywell Front, Holywell PE27 4TG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Ferry Boat Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The pub is our local and I really thought after the last couple of visits it had turned a corner but after today my expectations are low again. The food is very good and enjoyable, I can understand why our lunch took 45mins to arrive as the place was heaving and there was only 3 girls serving, taking orders and... More 

Helpful?
Thank fraggles1975
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have to disagree about the previous review. Our sat nav took us straight there, we didn't have to wait long for our evening meal and the shower was great. We were in room 1 which was small and bathroom very small, but I had checked previous reviews and knew what to expect. The room was lovely and warm and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverley D
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A lovely location close to the Great Ouse and friendly staff on hand to help out. The inn itself is steeped in history so it would have been great if it had been maintained to a higher level. The shower was feeble and the restaurant area was not cleaned between evening meals and breakfast which was unnecessary. We were pleased... More 

Helpful?
Thank DREGS
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and found the staff to be on hand and friendly, and I apologise for the issues you encountered. We will take these on board and do our best to correct them. Regards Tim More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from great weekend at the old ferry boat inn. Amazing !!! 6 of us were relaxed in a wonderful well hosted venue. The staff were very friendly & efficient. The food was great & we could not have asked for better service. We were given vouchers as a Christmas present but are already talking about when we can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martellas
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you had a wonderful time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon...let us know and I will book the ghost for you! Regards Tim More 

Sheffield, South Yorks.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chose the Old Ferryboat on an Old English Inns break - looking for a couple of days quiet relaxation for my wife and hopefully some fishing for me. Unfortunately the river came up over its banks in the 24 hours before we arrived. We managed to get to the pub but only after a scare and driving in water. Most... More 

Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePud_7
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the hints for our guests to get to us safely! It is wonderful to hear you such a lovely time and would definitely be back, we look forward to it! Tim and the team at The Old Ferry boat More 

Northampton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Old English is out of the way in the hamlet of Holywell and right next to the River Great Ouse. A really charming place in an excellent location. Our room overlooked the river and was compact & bijou but none the less perfectly adequate. All the staff were very friendly. There is a large but cosy bar & restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnEandCharles
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed The Old Ferry Boat and the charm of the place, I can only apologise for your disappointing evening meals and will speak to our chefs about this. I do hope you will try us again soon. Regards Tim More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's good value for money, in a lovely location and the people running the place are very friendly. The rooms are a little on the small side but we really didn't mind. We only ate breakfast there but it was very nice and included in the price. My only real... More 

Helpful?
Thank ESU1000
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found it fascinating! Sorry for the wifi, it can be rather temperamental due to our very rural location! We hope to see you again soon. Tim and the team at The Old Ferry Boat More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

Have stayed at the Old Ferry Boat many times. Nice new people since we were last here. Excellent service & staff. Great Sunday lunch, very tasty for all guests. Good beers & enjoyed the selection of gins! They've redecorated the function room into very modern greys and whites, the bar area has lost its purples and they are tackling the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JWK00
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and lunch with us, and will be back again soon - we look forward to it! Tim and the team at The Old Ferry Boat More 

Heacham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We have stayed here previously. Booked for 4 nights over Christmas in our favourite room. Everything was really first class, the food, the service, the friendliness of EVERYONE who worked there. Tin and Becky have an excellent team, and it shows in the small things, the consideration and thought. They are a magnificent group of young people who work hard,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is absolutely wonderful to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us and our team, your kind words will be shared with them all. We do hope to see you again soon. Tim, Becky and the team at The Old Ferry Boat More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here in May 2014 for two nights. The weather was fantastic and the view of the river was gorgeous in the evening. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best I've had! You gave your order and it was cooked for you. Rooms were small and bathroom even smaller but we didn't mind. We walked into st... More 

Helpful?
Thank casmyth90
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you had a wonderful time with us and exploring the local area which is stunning. Your kind words about the breakfast will be shared with our chef who will be thrilled! We hope to see you again for more of the same! Tim and the team at The Old Ferry... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywell
6.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 8 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St. Ives
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 8 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Ives
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay