We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Amersham hotels

The Kings Arms Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Rachel J London, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
24
82
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I picked the Kings Arms for a special occasion. We booked 'room 2' which is large, has spa bath and four poster. The room was really delightful and characterful, sympathetically modernised while respecting the ancient architecture. The bar area is disappointing and smells of disinfectant but there is a nice area to sit outside at the back. We were booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for your very nice review. Our autumn menu will start mid-October so do come back and try that. I have noted you comment on the wine service - we will be doing some wine training with our supplier shortly. More

Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice room, very spacious as we had two z-beds for our children. These were very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice with a nice buffet choice and eggs cooked to order - I had smoked salmon benedict which was delicious. There is a nice courtyard area where we had a bar lunch, the service wasn't brilliant though, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I have noted the comments about the pre-wedding party. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night only for a wedding and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was perfectly located and very charming. Rooms were a good size. They even got our room ready for early check in upon request. Overall, we were pleased with our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and Amersham as a place to visit. More

Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most of the hotel rooms were taken up by our friends and family attending a wedding. It is a charming hotel, but very disorganised. Two rooms booked for family members were not available as had been reserved for the wrong night (was eventually sorted, but the room wasn't available until the evening). Our hotel bill at check-out had other peoples... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am aware there was a mix up with a reservation, though the e-mailed correspondence did say the night before. I am glad we managed to resolve the situation. The bar billing situation has also been rectified - some issues with new software, my apologies. Air conditioning is always a tricky one in listed buildings... More

surrey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed to stay in Amersham after booking the tasting menu and wine flight at the wonderful Artichoke restaurant across the road. (Review submitted) This place hit all the spots, inexpensive, comfortable, clean, and welcoming. No pretensions to being a 5 star place, but a very good 4 star. We all stayed in the modern extension, rooms were lovely, clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review - I am so pleased you like the hotel. More

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed for one evening in a suite above reception (102 if i remember correctly) and had one of the most enjoyable experiences to date. The old Tudor style rooms make for a great atmosphere (hardly feels like a hotel at all). Our favourite thing about the room was probably the spa bath! perfect after our long walks through the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we appreciate you recommending the suites - hopefully that will increase our revenue! Do come back soon. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a suite for my son and daughter in law, who live locally, for their wedding night. They were delighted with the room and made to feel very special, wonderful end to a perfect day. From initial enquiry and subsequent contact staff were most helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear they liked the hotel. We do now do weddings at the Kings Chapel, at the rear of the Kings Arms. Bear us in mind if you have more unmarried children! Thanks for the review. More

Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed one night, B&B, with dinner when we arrived. The reception and restaurant staff cannot be faulted - impeccable service and excellent food - top marks. We stayed in an "Executive Room" in the modern extension - a bit lacking in character, but very comfortable and as we were only here for one night we would not have got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We had recently pushed the breakfast team as they were being too slow, so that may be our fault! I will speak to them. More

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my husband as a special treat. B&B plus one night with dinner. We stayed in room 12- a lovely suite with 4 poster bed, sloping floor, wooden beams and a well appointed bathroom which was in the main building. The shower was superb. Our room overlooked the outside seating area so there was a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you liked the historic rooms - room 12 is one of my favourites. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were a bit soulless compared to the pub itself. But quiet, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast room a little crowded. Breakfast itself was nice without being outstanding. All in all a decent establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I suspect you stayed in the new rooms in the extension. They are modern as you point out. We have 14 rooms in the historic building which are full of character, uneven floors, beams, though decorated in a similar style. I take your point about breakfast being a little tight... More

Do you own or manage The Kings Arms Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Amersham

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Kings Arms Hotel