We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

3.5 of 5 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms Hotel
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    54
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
24
86
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights in an 'Executive' room, which I think just means one in the new block rather than the original building. The room itself was fine, as was the bathroom, though the mirror was chipped and the grout quite grubby. The bed was comfy but the pillows were that annoying thickness that meant one was not enough but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely building wrecked by a lack of management and care. Pleasant evening meal and ok breakfast. The bar was nice but scruffy chefs helping themselves to soft drinks. Bad housekeeping and very surly reception staff in the morning, made it a pleasure to leave. Will we return ? NO

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
74 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight on business. Very quaint and picturesque but not perfect. In the first room I was given, when the toilet was flushed the water came up through the bath plug hole! The evening reception staff didn't really see why that was a problem because as he said "it's gone away now". Anyway he did change my room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here while attending a friends party locally. It was very comfortable, the breakfast was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was at the very top with no lift, but was nicely furnished with a lovely ensuite bathroom. Was the perfect place for a little overnight stay! Would recommend this hotel to anyone! Lovely courtyard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review - we hope you had a good party here. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect - the place has both character and the luxury required for a special occasion, with privacy as well as room for friends nearby! The restaurant is also lovely for a special meal and we had a lovely stay - thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - thank you for reviewing the hotel. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel while visiting friends in Amersham, lots of old world charm we had a comfortable room, excellent breakfast , the reception staff and waitresses were all very helpful we had an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, do come again! More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I picked the Kings Arms for a special occasion. We booked 'room 2' which is large, has spa bath and four poster. The room was really delightful and characterful, sympathetically modernised while respecting the ancient architecture. The bar area is disappointing and smells of disinfectant but there is a nice area to sit outside at the back. We were booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for your very nice review. Our autumn menu will start mid-October so do come back and try that. I have noted you comment on the wine service - we will be doing some wine training with our supplier shortly. More

Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We had a nice room, very spacious as we had two z-beds for our children. These were very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice with a nice buffet choice and eggs cooked to order - I had smoked salmon benedict which was delicious. There is a nice courtyard area where we had a bar lunch, the service wasn't brilliant though, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I have noted the comments about the pre-wedding party. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only for a wedding and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was perfectly located and very charming. Rooms were a good size. They even got our room ready for early check in upon request. Overall, we were pleased with our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and Amersham as a place to visit. More

Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Most of the hotel rooms were taken up by our friends and family attending a wedding. It is a charming hotel, but very disorganised. Two rooms booked for family members were not available as had been reserved for the wrong night (was eventually sorted, but the room wasn't available until the evening). Our hotel bill at check-out had other peoples... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am aware there was a mix up with a reservation, though the e-mailed correspondence did say the night before. I am glad we managed to resolve the situation. The bar billing situation has also been rectified - some issues with new software, my apologies. Air conditioning is always a tricky one in listed buildings... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Amersham

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay