We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Kings Arms Hotel | 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    105
    77
    38
    19
    12
See reviews for
49
111
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel frontage is very attractive. Our room (supposedly a superior room) was not in the main building but in a modern extension at the rear. Fixtures, fittings, finishes all very average. Soundproofing poor - a fair bit of noise from other rooms. The room and bathroom were acceptably clean, the common areas could have done with more attention. Not very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Met our very good friends here for dinner. They were staying here for one night and although we were going to eat out in the town we decided to stay and eat in the hotel as the prices were not bad. I am glad we did. the food was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented. None of us, and we all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights for a wedding our room was lovely and big at the back of the property on the ground level. It was quite warm though and no fan or a/c but we were able to open a window which was nice but a bit noisy. Lovely town and bar. Overall it was a good stay though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chalfont st peter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in room 2 in the main building and was very impressed, lovely decor and my girlfriend loved the 4 post bed and the jacuzzi bath tub in the room. We really liked how it was all open plan with the bathroom in the room was a really nice touch. The complimentary soaps and moisturiser were very nice and high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed for a weekend for a family party in the next town. Bedroom was fine, clean, comfortable and nice decor. We found all the staff quite inexperienced. There was no one front of house to guide them which they needed. We didn't have an evening meal there but breakfast, although there was plenty of choice, all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We do have a young team at the moment and are looking to recruit some more experienced staff. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel looks beautiful from the road with its beams and lovely hanging baskets and maybe the rooms in the old part of the hotel are equally charming but beware the rooms in the purpose-built annex at the rear of the hotel are not that great! If you have a room in the annex you may as well be staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Generally our corporate guests prefer the modern rooms in the extension. I have reviewed all your comments with our team here. Thank you for teh feed back. More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After initial, but very minor confusion over our booking, we were dealt with incredibly, and upgraded to a beautiful town house belonging to the hotel. We stayed for 2 nights for a wedding and found the hotel, their staff and their facilities great. Beautiful wedding, beautiful buildings, beautiful town and great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this very kind review. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended friends wedding here a few days ago. Beautiful venue amazing setting fabulous food and great staff. We were really well looked after all day made our friends day very special indeed. The building (kings chapel) is lovely and was the perfect setting for a wedding even though the weather was not great it didn't spoil the day at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for teh review - it was a shame about the weather, but I am glad you still had a great time. More 

Suffolk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this lovely pub/restaurant for one night. It's a beautiful building in an amazing location. The staff are courteous and helpful. However, we were bitterly disappointed with the room. I think when reserving a room reservations staff should ask if the guests are elderly or disabled. We found ourselves having to walk up a flight of stairs into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and positive rating overall. I am sorry you were disappointed with the room. The modern rooms at the rear are more accessible (and usually cheaper than the historic rooms). We should have offered you a choice on check in if stairs were an issue. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was the third time we had stayed at this hotel, and whilst previous stays have been perfect, the latest was a huge disappointment. We went to the bar for a drink to find young people behind the bar that didn't work there and others with their feet up on the bar - they were messing about and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you have had this issue. I was the original partner that contacted you. I have since been away so I am frustrated this situation has got worse when it should have been resolved. I do apologise. Please let me know if there is still anything unresolved - I am based at the Crown. Peter St.Lawrence More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
2.9 mi away
Latimer Place
Latimer Place
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bellhouse Hotel
Bellhouse Hotel
#6 of 8 in Beaconsfield
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chartridge Conference Centre
4.5 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay