We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Kings Arms Hotel | 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms Hotel
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    70
    31
    14
    12
See reviews for
38
98
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
England
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here on business during the week. Lots of character and quiet for being on the main road. The room was most unusual, my first thought on entering was "where is the wardrobe"? There wasn't one, but it did have a hanging area on the wall by the bed. If I had been staying longer I think I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Four Weddings and a Funeral film location, calm and nice place to stay. Unfortunately The service provided was not so good. I left the room at about 6:30 and the guy in the reception was not able to make me an invoice. They made mistake with the final price and they never sent me any invoice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Manuela I am sorry the night porter failed to give you an invoice. Please contact me gm@kings-arms-hotel.com and I can arrange for on invoice to be sent. More 

birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed over for a wedding. Lovely wedding venue in the kings chapel. Room clean and nice with good facilities but water in shower only luke warm and room cold. Breakfast excellent. It was over £100 a room so I'm not sure it is worth that but was a nice hotel. Depends if you want a nice character building... then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am sorry you felt the price was a little high. I think that we are above budget hotels in that we do try to provide a greater service. We will look into the hot water issue. Thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback. More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with a work group, good atmosphere, spoiled a bit by a very surly barman. Rooms are clean and the toilletries were very nice. Good location with good parking and a nice outdoor sitting area....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the barman came across as surly and have reviewed the interaction you had with him. I think it is sometimes difficult to insist politely when the bar is due to close. I am sorry this left a bad impression. More 

Pinner, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding at The Kings Chapel on 21 March. We cannot believe how smoothly the day went, we were expecting a hiccup somewhere along the way, but there wasn't anything all day, it all went perfectly. We weren't expecting the food to be of the same quality when cooked for 75 adults as when it was just 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We are most appreciative that you held this important family event in the Kings Chapel. Thank you for teh kind review. We wish you both every happiness. Peter More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in room 11 which is a family room in the attic. With exposed beams and beautiful decor it definitely has the wow factor. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - we are glad you enjoyed staying. More 

London, UK
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
91 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needing somewhere to stay in Amersham for our birthday dinner at The Artichoke restaurant opposite the Kings Arms was ideal. The hotel has been tastefully renovated and the rooms are modern in an old fashioned setting. Room 10 in the main block was a good size but a little difficult to negotiate round the comfortable bed. Decor is bright with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and the good room tip. The rooms in the old section of the hotel come in all shapes and layouts, but are very characterful. We appreciate the kind words about the staff, many thanks. More 

Leicestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I needed a hotel I could call "home", as I was going to be staying for 2-3 nights a week for up to a year. Looking around the area, there are the usual chains and the budget / cheaper brands, where you know what you'll get, but my personal opinion is you'll only ever be a number and they don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Simon thank you for your kind review. This is exactly what we want to be - a smaller, friendlier hotel that can offer a different service to big corporate hotels. I hope your work brings you back our way soon. More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We stayed here for two nights as part of a weekend trip for my 50th birthday. On arrival we found that, due to the perils of online booking, the reservation had come through for 2 people and not 3 (although the price was correct, oddly). As soon as we pointed out the error the lady on Reception came straight up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Please do come back on any occasion, no need to wait for something to celebrate. More 

Worcestershire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed here for a wedding and had a room in the newer 'stable block' at the rear - our choice as it was very quiet. It was fine, comfortable bed and pillows, good wardrobe and drawer space though a little small. The bathroom was a good size and nice toiletries. If all 3 star hotels were like this it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question