We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Kings Arms Hotel | 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    76
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
45
108
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Suffolk
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this lovely pub/restaurant for one night. It's a beautiful building in an amazing location. The staff are courteous and helpful. However, we were bitterly disappointed with the room. I think when reserving a room reservations staff should ask if the guests are elderly or disabled. We found ourselves having to walk up a flight of stairs into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was the third time we had stayed at this hotel, and whilst previous stays have been perfect, the latest was a huge disappointment. We went to the bar for a drink to find young people behind the bar that didn't work there and others with their feet up on the bar - they were messing about and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was a guest at a wedding here. Firstly its a lovely location, very oldy worldy feel. The gardens are very nice and well kept. Something that may seem odd I found to be a huge novelty and bonus was the provisions of ladies sanitary wear provided free in little baskets in the ladies toilets. No prepay machines, just neat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Verwood, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable bed, clean room (despite mould on shower ceiling). Not worth room rate of £115 for one night, have stayed in better for the price. Breakfast was ok, bit caotic and messy. Would not stay again with what was offered for the room rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with a friend a couple of weekends ago, and what a lovely stay it was. The reception staff were super friendly and helpful, answering questions before check-in, welcoming us on arrival and even posting my forgotten phone cable back to me free of charge afterwards. The room was clean and spacious, and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were moved from a hotel in Great Missenden last minute due to a problem at that hotel, and we were very pleasantly surprised to be transferred to this quality hotel. The room was a double executive with all the quality you would expect from that description. Although it was facing the car park and there was another function going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The right arm doesn't seem to know what the left arm is doing. They are trying to cater for several functions and accommodate normal travellers at the same time, unsuccessfully. We stayed Saturday night having visited friends and arrived about 7 pm. Our tiny room was above a function room and it was like being in the bar itself. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fleming Island, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We previously stayed here for one night back in September 2013 and greatly enjoyed it, so we were looking forward to a return visit. What a disappointment! We arrived on a Sunday evening just after the hotel had hosted a christening party. This perhaps explained the extremely disordered state of the public reception area (dirty glasses and dishes on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jersey, CI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here last minute and was lucky enough to get a room. The staff at reception and in the bar were 100pc. So friendly, helpful and efficient. There was a function on in the main dining room so I had dinner in the bar which I'm told was the same menu. The food again was faultless. I was slightly let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I note your suggestions. We appreciate all guest feedback. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of those magnificent old galleons, a black and white timbered old place which has been putting people up for hundreds of years. The room we had was splendid overlooking the main street, spotless with a fabulous bathroom which you had to go down some ricketty steps and back up (all within your private space) and i have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - it is nice when someone really enjoys all the period features and idiosyncracies of our old building. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Latimer Place
Latimer Place
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bellhouse Hotel
Bellhouse Hotel
#3 of 7 in Beaconsfield
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chartridge Conference Centre
4.5 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay