We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Kings Arms Hotel | 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    99
    72
    32
    16
    12
See reviews for
42
102
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The guests at my son and daughter-in-law's wedding were unanimous in voting the King's Arms and specifically the Kings Chapel an absolutely outstanding venue - the perfect all-in-one place to enjoy the most special day as two people started their life together. Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere, a brilliant day with the perfect arena for everyone to become friends and to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review - we do enjoy hosting these important family occasions. More 

Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed recently at this hotel and was rather disappointed. The hotel does have a lovely old world character to it and the staff were friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast ok. My bugbear lies in the price. We treated ourselves to a 'deluxe room' which carries a full rate of £150 and quite simply this is vastly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for teh review, disappointing as it was. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will investigate why the Ruark was missing and source a replacement. We are looking at the breakfast option though at weekends space in both the restaurant and kitchen are very tight, hence the buffet. More 

Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were attending an event at the Kings Arms Chapel on Saturday evening so decided to stay overnight, and thought we would treat ourselves and stay in a 'Deluxe Double' in the older part of the Hotel. What a disappointment - if our room was 'Deluxe' I can't imagine what the other rooms are like. It was a small room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Priscilla, thank you for your feedback. Our rooms do vary a bit in size, so it sounds as though you got one of the smaller ones. i note your breakfast comments - we are looking at a different option. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and am sorry we did not meet expectations. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose Kings Chapel at the Kings Arms for our wedding venue in April 2015, and were so glad we did!! Every part of our day, from the food to the organisation, and everything in between was wonderful and contributed towards making our Wedding incredibly special and memorable. We stayed in the honeymoon suite on our Wedding night, and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments. We are really pleased with our new chapel and really enjoy hosting such wonderful occasions here. Congratulations and best wishes from all of us. More 

Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Thank you Kings Arms for a lovely stay recently. Having travelled up for a relations wedding our room was spacious, clean and tidy. We had a fantastic nights sleep and breakfast was great with a good selection. .something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for teh great review. More 

Norwich, Eng
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Fantastic staff - couldn't have been more helpful. There were 2 wedding receptions & an other function but we were not disturbed by these at all. Beautiful town with many beautiful country walks from hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - please do come again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for our nephew's wedding a few days ago. Our family room was fabulous! Full of character and very spacious for my husband myself and our 4 girls. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. We left early so needed to change into our outfits upon arrival. As our room wasn't ready, due to arriving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here following our friends wedding! Spacious rooms with big comfy beds! The downside is that there are no nets so people can see in your room, or you shut the curtains which makes it dark! Rooms very quiet and great selection of breakfast in the morning even for little people (fussy 6 yr old).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - we did have nets but got comments that they made the rooms dark. We will review this for the downstairs rooms. More 

Tring
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I've just got back from a couple of nights staying in the townhouse that is part of the Kings Arms. The pub/hotel is very old and the same is true of the townhouse. This is a fantastic place to stay - dining room, sitting room and kitchen on the ground floor, two double rooms and a bathroom on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We have found the townhouse is a useful addition and works well for families and small groups. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We booked this hotel for 1 night as were dining at the Artichoke across the road and we didnt want to drive home. We stayed in Room 3 I believe - it was 'OK' - tired and in need of a re-vamp. The bathroom was smelling damp as the fan didnt appear to work, damp on the ceiling through lack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed feedback. we will be looking at this today in our weekly operations meeting to see how and where we need to improve. It is much appreciated that you take the time to give us such good information to work with. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay