We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Kings Arms Hotel | 30 High St, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms Hotel
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
40
99
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here following our friends wedding! Spacious rooms with big comfy beds! The downside is that there are no nets so people can see in your room, or you shut the curtains which makes it dark! Rooms very quiet and great selection of breakfast in the morning even for little people (fussy 6 yr old).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - we did have nets but got comments that they made the rooms dark. We will review this for the downstairs rooms. More 

Tring
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've just got back from a couple of nights staying in the townhouse that is part of the Kings Arms. The pub/hotel is very old and the same is true of the townhouse. This is a fantastic place to stay - dining room, sitting room and kitchen on the ground floor, two double rooms and a bathroom on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We have found the townhouse is a useful addition and works well for families and small groups. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for 1 night as were dining at the Artichoke across the road and we didnt want to drive home. We stayed in Room 3 I believe - it was 'OK' - tired and in need of a re-vamp. The bathroom was smelling damp as the fan didnt appear to work, damp on the ceiling through lack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed feedback. we will be looking at this today in our weekly operations meeting to see how and where we need to improve. It is much appreciated that you take the time to give us such good information to work with. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been using the Kings Arms for some time and have seen several changes over the past few years. The essence of the Kings Arms is the old world charm of the buildings and the traditional atmosphere in the main bar where locals mingle with hotel guests creating a very pleasant atmosphere. Food in the bar is excellent but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for teh review and the moral support for our barman! More 

England
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on business during the week. Lots of character and quiet for being on the main road. The room was most unusual, my first thought on entering was "where is the wardrobe"? There wasn't one, but it did have a hanging area on the wall by the bed. If I had been staying longer I think I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thak you for your kind review - one or two of the rooms are somewhat idosyncratic, largely due to the age and shape of teh building. More 

Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Four Weddings and a Funeral film location, calm and nice place to stay. Unfortunately The service provided was not so good. I left the room at about 6:30 and the guy in the reception was not able to make me an invoice. They made mistake with the final price and they never sent me any invoice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Manuela I am sorry the night porter failed to give you an invoice. Please contact me gm@kings-arms-hotel.com and I can arrange for on invoice to be sent. More 

birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

Stayed over for a wedding. Lovely wedding venue in the kings chapel. Room clean and nice with good facilities but water in shower only luke warm and room cold. Breakfast excellent. It was over £100 a room so I'm not sure it is worth that but was a nice hotel. Depends if you want a nice character building... then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am sorry you felt the price was a little high. I think that we are above budget hotels in that we do try to provide a greater service. We will look into the hot water issue. Thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback. More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Stayed with a work group, good atmosphere, spoiled a bit by a very surly barman. Rooms are clean and the toilletries were very nice. Good location with good parking and a nice outdoor sitting area....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the barman came across as surly and have reviewed the interaction you had with him. I think it is sometimes difficult to insist politely when the bar is due to close. I am sorry this left a bad impression. More 

Pinner, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We had our wedding at The Kings Chapel on 21 March. We cannot believe how smoothly the day went, we were expecting a hiccup somewhere along the way, but there wasn't anything all day, it all went perfectly. We weren't expecting the food to be of the same quality when cooked for 75 adults as when it was just 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We are most appreciative that you held this important family event in the Kings Chapel. Thank you for teh kind review. We wish you both every happiness. Peter More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We stayed in room 11 which is a family room in the attic. With exposed beams and beautiful decor it definitely has the wow factor. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - we are glad you enjoyed staying. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities