We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Highwayman

London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Highwayman
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Words can't quite describe this place, stained bed sheets and quilt cover - never ever again, and the pub well that was truly something else!!! I'll leave a separate review for that - do yourself a favour and sleep in your car, or book elsewhere - it's awful.

Helpful?
Thank StacksnTressels
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son booked himself (single room) & us (a family room) we arrived a day after him, he had already warned us about paper thin walls & the rooms being too hot. However when we arrived, we realised this was just the tip of the iceberg. The toilet seat had dried wee on it & the lid was grubby. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank readsanpiunk

Travelers are raving about these Dunstable hotels

Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK, so me & my family were hoping to get the "Real English Experience." Rooms over a pub kind of thing. This was a little more cookie-cutter than we had hoped for, but the rooms were clean, warm & comfortable. No unpleasant surprises. The rooms were not historic, but also not modern. More like it hadn't been redecorated in 20... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It's not great but it's not bad, you know what you're getting for the price, the restaurant is alright, the beer price is alright, the beds are alright, it's outdated but get over it. It cost us £15 per person.... I've had more expensive burgers so if you're complaining over that... Behave. Plus they let you take bottles back to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FuriousBen
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Spent two nights on a business trip. Apart from chains the area is not brimming with overnight accommodation. Found this on line and whilst reviews were patchy it was convenient and close to where I was working. The room was a single, everything worked and the bed was comfortable enough. It wasn't expensive. The food in the pub was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank gracekelly280511
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

So after driving approx 500 miles i just wanted to sit and relax! not in this hotel, i cannot tell you how bad it is and how much it is dire need of pulling down and re building! the chair in the room was filthy to the point whereby i never sat on it, the carpet was all frayed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
SASCHA23, General Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review

Obviously I am very disappointed to read your view and I have taken on Board your comments, we are currently undergoing some refurbishment work which will address some of your points. Please be assured I will be dealing with the other points you have made. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

I booked 3 Single Rooms for the 17 until 19 October when we arrived i noticed the Reception door was broken. when we went to the rooms the shower trays were broken. mould on windows. window locks missing, broken set of drawers, when we pulled back the bed sheets their were big pee like stains on all the beds, so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rose D
SASCHA23, General Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review

I am sorry about your experience and I am obviously disappointed to read your comments. I am pleased that you got your refund as you have not mentioned that in your review. I would like to point out our prices reflect our product, We are currently going through the process of improving it with some investment More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

This hotel was booked by my employer for a 6 night stay and an unknown quantity until I arrived. Check in on the Monday involved a 20 minute wait at reception, along with another guest. Although the sign states that reception is manned from 2pm till 11pm, it isn't and relies on bar staff being free to attend to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank medic914
SASCHA23, General Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments as I have mentioned in previous responses we are now having work carried out and addressing the issues you have highlighted. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

I booked this hotel very late in the day, and I thought it looked like good value. It is easy to find, along a well-lit quite busy main road, and it was no problem that I arrived after 9pm on a Sunday evening. It is, as other reviewers have said, very basic and you do get what you pay for.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
SASCHA23, General Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that you felt intimidated with in the Pub but I would like to point out that 99.9% of our regulars are decent hard working people. Although I am very sorry about the issues with your room. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Only stayed there as no rooms (other than those >£150 per night) available nearer Tring. First impressions not good. At check-in one other couple waiting, they used the service phone and eventually someone came from the bar. No "Welcome to the Highwayman" but a very abrupt "Name?". Not impressed by his people skills. Room very spacious, clean and tidy if... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidF1939
SASCHA23, General Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I appreciate the honesty More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
0.8 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Luton Town Centre Hotel
4.9 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay