We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Akumal B&Bs / inns

Villa Tortugas Residence

Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 256 | Rancho San Martin, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Villa Tortugas Residence to your Saves list
Villa Tortugas Residence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
96%
Ranked #2 of 5 Akumal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    35
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
99
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Tortugas for 4 nights for a friend's wedding weekend. The location is definitely off the beaten path but easily traveled by renting a car which we did to take us to all of the wedding events that were in and around Akumal. They also offer a shuttle at the Villa which would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed with my daughter for 4 nights in this B&B.The cabanas are spacious and clean, you find everything you need, good shower with hot water a small kitchen with everything to cook your own meal,( the owners supply the basic needs and we bought eggs fruit etc to make the breakfast we liked) there is A.C. and a fan.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerland, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Yes the shower head is bad, and the room is basic, (there is air-con, but who needs TV!) but the setting and the hosts more than compensate. I travelled with children so the pool was a real bonus, as was the option to cook your own meals. Akumal is so busy, and the bars are full in the evenings, so... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We already provide to fix the showers, you got reason, due to the hard water they were bad but we will give maintance frequently so we hope they will work better! Thanks and hope to see you again here! More

Hudson, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is far from town & the beach, so you need to have a car. The surroundings are lovely, the gardens clearly lovingly cared for, but the living quarters are pretty spartan, without even much of an attempt at decoration. The shower head was bad and there was no shower curtain, so water sprayed all over the entire bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaTortugas, Propietario at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

You wrote us e-mail saying the following: Your place is so lovely and the gardens so clearly lovingly cared for that I didn't want to give you a bad review online. However, I would like to let you know of some issues that you may not be aware of or have thought about. We replied to your e-mail and we... More

Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November 2013. This B&B is off the main highway and is nice but rustic. There are about 6 cabins but we were the only ones staying here. It is designed for the self-catering crowd. If your main interest was saving money and cooking your own meals, this would be a great place. Otherwise,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate it. Only few comments about some points: 1) yes it's true the pool wasn't open as we were renewing it with venetian mosaic but due to hard raining season we didn't' finish on time for your arrival. We apologize for this. 2) the electricity wasn't working during a night that you was... More

NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

ive loved mexico. ive always loved mexico and love it more everytime i visit. my only regret is that i did not find this place sooner. My wife and I went to mexico for our honeymoon and decided to stay here for 2 nights in april on our way to merida. Be aware this is a no frills type of... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review, we are so happy that your staying here was perfect. More

nanaimo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was something we wanted to try different from staying at a large resort. Yes you can cook, but did we feel like it every day? No. We thought there were barbeques to use but there weren't. On my second day I was injured walking along one of their made paths of rocks and mortar. I stepped onto a ceramic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

First of all the actidud the husband from the first day, was nothing to do with being friendly and very little patient. When his wife was injured, Denis offered to explain where to go for the medical assistance, but the husband ignored him and when during the night he came to complain, it's true I was not very friendly as... More

San Luis Obispo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed three days and had we not been somewhat physically challenged, we would have enjoyed it completely. We were unable to use the pool which was a major disappointment, but it only had a ladder and we require steps to get in or out due to knee problems. The setting is lovely, the staff verry friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and suggestions to the others guests. More

Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Super friendly owners, amazing garden, friendly dogs and cats, clean and beautiful apartments. This place is simply amazing. Every detail has been carefully taken care of. And it is really cheap for what they are offering. We never wanted to leave...felt like being in the paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Hoping you will plan to come again in our piece of paradise, thank you for your amazing review! More

Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

One stays in a casita in charmingly landscaped grounds containing a good pool. Simple but tasty Italian food is served in the evening. The beds could have been more comfortable, but were par for the course in relatively inexpensive Mexican hotels. Overall convenient location and good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

We will consider your suggestion about the beds in order to offer a better sleeping to our guests in the future. Thank you for writing your review. More

Been to Villa Tortugas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tortugas Residence

Also Known As:
Villa Tortugas Residence Hotel Akumal
Villa Tortugas Residence Hotel
Villa Tortugas Residence Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 256 | Rancho San Martin, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the tropical oasis known as the Riviera Maya and surrounded by a natural garden of absolute tranquility, an exclusive Residence is waiting for you at Villas Tortugas Residence.RELAXATION, SUN, SEA, ALONG WITH DECADES OF HISTORY ARE WAITING TO BE EXPLORED...Denis and Silvia’s personal Italian welcome will make your stay in Villa Tortugas a wonderful experience. Thanks to their personal suggestions and local knowledge, they will help you to plan your holiday by assisting with everything from renting a car to reserving your excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Villa Tortugas Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tortugas Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.