We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean

725 Boul. Seminaire Nord, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec J3B 8H1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    27
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
24
17
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Shawinigan, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

The hotel was nice and conveniently located near the highway. The room was clean, the iron was working and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was also good and simple. Overall that was a good experience. I would recommend for someone going on a business trip in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We stayed one night after we visited Montreal city. the room was very clean, so was the bed and linen. room size was quite big and beds too. hotel very close to the US border so it's very convenience . staff were friendly and speak both French and English.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

My wife and I along with our daughter were in the Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu for a Judo event and this property was the host hotel for the weekend. We originally thought we booked a two queen bedroom unit but upon check-in we were given a king bed suite. This worked out well as it gave us plenty of room including a pull... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Long term known Water problem, water runs extreamly hot and cold suddenly. Hair dryer is broken. Terrible customer service. No onsite mangers and front desk is not willing to call the manager either. No accommodation for customers. Stay away from this hite!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GouverneurRelais, Manager at Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review

Dear Christine8sh, Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our hotel. Concerning the problems in the bathroom, we are presently working on the water problem, it is pretty complex. Also, in the near future, all our bathrooms will be completely renovated. Every day, including week ends, a manager is onsite. Concerning the customer service complaint, I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

The bed wasn't very comfortable, it was sunken in the middle. There was no conditioner in the bathroom, just conditioning shampoo. The doorknob on the bathroom door was falling off. I did call for a wifi code, cause my room number and name wasn't working but the guy never got back to me even though he said he would. Aside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GouverneurRelais, Manager at Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review

Dear Mandy D., Thank you for your review. I'm suprised that you were not changed of room due to those problems in the room. That is usualy what we do when a guest is letting us know a problem in a room. Our guest's satisfaction is our priority, so that's why it is important to let us know if there's... More 

Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The staff made every effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable and our meetings had all the equipment and food required. The accommodated for extra individuals with a smile and staff were always professional. They accommodated situations where individuals had not registered or had special needs with asmile. They always made strides to ensure our guests were happy. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GouverneurRelais, Manager at Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review

Dear Phyllis H., Following your comments regarding your visit to our hotel, we thank you for kind words for our team. Our hotel is constantly wanting to improve personalized service for groups that we receive in congress. Again, thank you for your constructive comments and we hope to see you soon. Bienvenue chez nous! Nathalie Brodeur and Véronique Soucy Banquets... More 

Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I was a part of a group bus tour and this was our hotel for just one night. Upon walking in it was a very busy atmosphere and I was able to tell that there were a few events going on at the hotel and I paid it no mind. The check in was pretty fast. The rooms were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

First of all, my room was facing the main boulevard, so I could not sleep. The first morning, woke up around 4:30 am because of the noise from the traffic, around 6:30 am, i went to elevator to go down for breakfast, but the elevator did not work, so I took the stairs from the 6th floor down to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GouverneurRelais, Manager at Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review

Dear Ser V, Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about your experience at Relais Gouverneur St-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Concerning our fire alarm system, an annual inspection and maintenance has been made on October 20th, 2014, and everything was functional and in order. The morning of the incident, no fire was declared, only light smoke due to superheating kitchen... More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband & I stayed here on our way to the Maritimes. Check-in was fast & friendly. Our room was spacious, clean & quiet. We didn't use the pool or their dining facility. Will stay here again if we're ever back that way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Me and my fiancé stayed here for five days. We had made a reservation on hotels.com and when arrived for our room the reservation did not exist. OK that was fine, we were able to make a new one right then and there. Later on our room we received a phone call from the receptionist who helped us book a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GouverneurRelais, Manager at Gouverneur Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review

Dear tals2121, Thank you for taking your time to wright a review about your stay in our establishment. Like you had mentioned in you review, you have made your reservation through a third party, who was Hotels.com. Unfortunately, we do not have the power to cancel the reservation you have made on this web site. Concerning the attitude of the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur...
#1 of 5 in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
11.6 mi away
ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30
ALT Hotel Quartier DIX30
#1 of 10 in Brossard
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Brossard
Hotel Brossard
#2 of 10 in Brossard
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Brossard
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Brossard
Comfort Inn Brossard
#4 of 10 in Brossard
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 2 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay