We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OrcaSound Hotel

93 Montee Lavigne, Rigaud, Quebec J0P 1P0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
OrcaSound Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't go there, don't stay there! Used to be a Howard Johnson, worse than before. Dirty room, don't think they have any room service, heat is not working well, room is very cold. Old furniture, bedding is terrible. You can feel the spring when you sleep.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyleandjoan
Jessica Y, General Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not comfortable and did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish you would have brought up the fact that you were not satisfied to an employee. Our clients are our number one priority. Had you mentioned this to a staff member we would have upgraded you and done our best to accomodate your... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at this hotel were super friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I had a Jacuzzi room which was very nice. Over all an affordable and cozy place to spend a night. Lots of restaurants near by.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rick421
Jessica Y, Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate that you took the time to write a review. It would be our pleasure to have you book with us again. More 

Vaudreuil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This little place is a GEM. The owner....the nicest lady you will ever meet The room is comfortable.....clean....! Don't be fooled by the near highway It is very quiet and relaxing. A place where you will fell safe. If you are on your way to Montreal....make a stop for the night....you will not be Decapointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Clo C
Jessica Y, Assistant Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your kind words are very encouraging and we would love to have you stay with us again. More 

Pembroke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

The sign says Howard Johnson but the receipt says Orca sounds...and they leave an envelope in your your for donations. Bed was not made properly. No towels. Carpet is coming off the wall. Stains on the walls. Bathroom has mold in the corners and a build up of dirt in the corners on the floor.

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
Jessica Y, Assistant Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry for any confusion that was caused by our hotel's name change. We are no longer part of the Howard Johnson franchise. Our sign is now an OrcaSound hotel sign, matching what is written on the receipt. The envelope in your room was not for donations; it simply had a message on it thanking you for staying with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rigaud hotels

Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Not sure what to say - so many things were not right...but I strongly suggest you do not stay here - the rooms are not clean, the bedding was stained, there was about a 12" tear in the window covering, the room we had was tiny, cramped and very inconvenient. Bathroom sparse - no place to put even a toothbrush,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marleyandmike
Jessica Y, Assistant Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

Alot has changed at this hotel since your stay. We are no longer the Howard Johson. We are the OrcaSound Hotel. We now have an awesome housekeeping staff that would never make a bed using stained sheets, blankets or pillow cases. All of our curtains are intact with no tears or rips in them. We apologize that the room was... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

I'm still shocked this is considered part of the Howard Johnson chain since none of the usual HoJo standards are maintained. The place is literally falling apart (the front door handle came off in my daughters hand). The rooms don't have air conditioning, but you can't leave the windows open because of the highway noise. There is no maid service,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdviceLover
Jessica Y, Assistant Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

We are now the OrcaSound Hotel. Along with the name, many other things have changed. We have done renovations and worked on the maintenance of the hotel. I assure you that the doors are now new and in excellent condition. Clients can now control the temperature in their rooms and have it to their liking. We do have a house... More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We checked into this hotel on June 11th of this year and planned to stay 4 nights. We could not get out fast enough. The room had not been vacuumed, the carpet was ripped and there was a musty odor in the room. When we walked up the stairs to our room, we were greeted with a pile of dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
Jessica Y, Assistant Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. Management and house keeping have changed since your stay with us. We vaccume and thoroughly clean each room daily. We make sure that every room is spotless and fresh for our guests. Our laundry is always neatly folded and put away in the linen closet. Please consider booking with us again... More 

Vancouver B.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

My wife and I spent two nights at the Howard Johnson Inn of Rigaud in early June 2015, we were visiting our daughter who was staying in nearby Rigaud and we wanted to be as close as possible to her location as opposed to staying in Montreal and commuting. We chose this hotel mostly because of its recognizable name/company reputation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doogietraveler
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for something clean, close (to place of business) and comfortable. This was just fine. It is on a much smaller scale of any other HoJo's that I've seen, but then again, it is located in a small town. I had an extremely peaceful sleep - literally could not hear a sound! (Thought perhaps I was the only... More 

Helpful?
Thank MML2R
DENISE D, Manager at OrcaSound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ,for the good review ,and this is our pleasure to see you again at your hotel. Hilal Tak GENERAL MANAGER Howard Johnson Inn Rigaud More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

I arrived the hotel at two o'clock in the morning, and quickly got one clean and cozy room to rest myself. p.s the clerk is kind. She helped print a map for me and showed me the way. Thank you! I was quite impressed staying this inn and hope to returned there again.

Helpful?
Thank Wen C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigaud
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vaudreuil-Dorion
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vau...
#1 of 9 in Vaudreuil-Dorion
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
5.2 mi away
Auberge des Gallant
Auberge des Gallant
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marthe
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
10.8 mi away
Chateau Vaudreuil
Chateau Vaudreuil
#2 of 9 in Vaudreuil-Dorion
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Le Hudson Inn
#3 of 3 in Rigaud
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
3.5 mi away
Motel Belair
Motel Belair
#1 of 3 in Rigaud
3.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
3.9 mi away
Auberge Du Mont Rigaud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay