We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Singing Sands Inn

2518 East Point Rd. (Hwy 16), Souris, Prince Edward Island C0A 2B0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Souris
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Singing Sands Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

This motel may have a wonderful view but the room I had was awful. Some electrical outlets did not wor, the room had a smell of moisture, not pleasant. Breakfast was nothing special. I would not return.

Helpful?
Thank Diane P
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Hello Diane, It might not be unreasonable to assume that, having booked your room earlier in the day on July 9th, you were disappointed when you arrived because things were not at all what you had envisioned. While nothing was said until you checked out the next morning, you then made some of your unhappiness clear: you had trouble with... More 

Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Pros - good location if you want to be at the Singing Sands beach - couple minutes drive, maybe 20 minute walk. Pool on site. Light breakfast included. Con - Humid, marine local means damp and musty - my pjamas picked up the mildew smell over night and no amount of "airing out" helped.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy1796
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tracy, Your room tip is a truism and those are choices people must make; we are sorry you experienced stomping and we assure you we have no difficulty bringing such annoyances to the attention of the offenders when we are told at the time. We are glad some aspects of the Singing Sands Inn met your expectations. It is... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

Singing sands Inn is a very old, basic motel. It is 2k from basin head beach. There were lots bugs, make sure you have bug spray. The WiFi doesn't work. The owners are an old couple, very nice and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank 2hockey
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

More 

Travelers are raving about these Souris hotels

Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

Pros - we were greeted by Don who was very friendly and nice to speak with (we also spoke briefly with his wife at breakfast, she was equally as nice) - despite the room having a musty smell upon entering, everything was quite clean (we left the windows open for a bit, which helped) - amazing water pressure! - the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanslee
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Hello Vanslee! We appreciate this review and thank you for it! You tell it like it is and that can be helpful to TripAdvisor readers. Some places, including ours, are not perfect nor do they claim to be. We are always doing our best to minimize our flaws and are grateful to people like you who do not let shortcomings... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Singing Sands is an inexpensive motel, and it doesn't really profess to be anything different. What it boasts is a great, convenient location, just down the road from Souris, East Point Lighthouse, Basin Head Beach (down the road, mind you, it's not exactly walkable) and the Îles de la Madeleine ferry. These are not luxury accommodations. The room is standard,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank buffyslayergal
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, buffyslayergal, For getting us off to a good start for the 2015 season! Breakfast now has yogurt and fruit and cereals, but not to quibble; it’s still basically a nourishing cold continental with toast and muffins and lots of coffee or tea. You have made a good point that this is motel accommodation despite our name and although... More 

Dorchester, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Located within walking distance (if you are a bit energetic) of the famous Singing Sands Beach. Run down, smelly, partially clean rooms. Very nice owners. Suspect that the owners love the location but cannot afford to keep the motel up to any decent standards. If you don't mind very low end accommodations then you'll be fine here. I researched the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to have our excellent location acknowledged yet puzzled by what is said, and not said in this review. At checkout, our guest, Mike P. of Dorchester, New Brunswick, Senior Reviewer, accompanied by two nice young gentlemen, accepted a refund for a problem encountered with the fill valve in the toilet tank in his room the previous night.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A lovely couple own it, very friendly. Beautiful view. Location, location, location, there isn't a better one. Close to everything yet set in a peaceful,serene, picturesque s setting! A stone throw away from the Singing Sands Beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Hello Cindy R! What can we say, other than thank you for your kind, compassionate comments! In a few words, you have reflected our own feelings about the Singing Sands Inn and the reasons we decided to become innkeepers 24 years ago! Thank you again! Alexandra and Don McCallum More 

Halifax Region, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last Sunday night - Aug. 3, 2014. The room was very, very out-dated. Wood panelling from the 70's & a green tub & sink from the same era. The room was also very stuffy & we couldn't open the front windows as they looked out on the front porch / stairwell. No A/C that I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Yes, our motel has retained the character of the seventies with coloured plumbing fixtures and wood paneling. All our rooms have windows that can be opened, front and back, to provide cross-ventilation with the exception of those that have window air-conditioners. Your front window did not have an air-conditioner and so it could have been opened. For those rooms we... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

After staying here, there are a lot of good things, but a few inconveniences. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, breakfast was included (8am-10am), there's a pool, and there was free wifi. We stayed in a room close to the lobby so the signal was strong. Also it's a 20 minute walk / 5 minute drive to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer641
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer641 from Toronto! Thank you for saying those nice things about the Singing Sands Inn. Your concern over shampoo is something remedied for the 2015 season. We took that concern to heart! Garbage is something else, though. We take care of the waste normally associated with accommodation as well as the trash generated by our own food services. The... More 

New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Singing Sands! The location is just perfect! So close to Singing Sands Beach! This is not a four star hotel but it is comfortable, extremely clean, the charm of an older place, a view that is so relaxing, a continental breakfast that is just enough to start the day and the most lovely owners. Don... More 

Helpful?
Thank bmig
HoldenNova, Owner at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, bmig from New Hampshire! We number you among our favorite people! If we could give out stars, we would certainly give you a ‘five-out-of-five’. We are not sure that TripAdvisor community members realize that they too are rated by the greeters and servers and managers and owners at every place they visit, whether a review is written or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Souris
23.0 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
97.0 mi away
No photo provided
Rollo Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Souris
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Charlottetown PE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
McLean House Inn
McLean House Inn
#1 of 4 in Souris
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
8.7 mi away
Johnson Shore Inn
Johnson Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Hermanville
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
5.8 mi away
Points East Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities