We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sherwood Inn

4.0 of 5 1090 Sherwood Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B1J0, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherwood Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sherwood Inn
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    56
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
115
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a lovely, relaxing few days at the Sherwood Inn. Our room, in the inn itself, was cozy, clean and comfortable. The food, especially the smoked salmon which they smoke themselves, was very tasty. The nearby nature trails were beautiful and the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sherwood Inn continues to be our favourite place in the world. We visit in early summer before the season gears up and in Fall when the season is winding down. We've never been able to visit in the summer, but I suspect it's still peaceful even if a little busier. Despite the temperatures not being quite as hot as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I got away on a two-night mini-holiday and took advantage of the Romance Package. She has some food allergies, and Connie at the front desk conveyed my wife's needs to Chef Everett Bell, who was kind enough to leave his duties in the kitchen to inquire as to the kinds of food she could tolerate. The next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just enjoyed an exclusive weekend wedding here which was a great success. The food is excellent, even when serving 100 people banquet style. However, the resort is tired and the housekeeping extremely poor. Carpets were dirty, towels were frayed and sheets pilled. Have spoken with the Gen Manager he assures me new housekeeping checks and balances are coming. Too late,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I were married at Sherwood in 2010. We returned this past weekend with our 3 month old son as guests for another wedding, and stayed an extra day just to bask in the joys the Inn offers. We spent the last night at the spectacular Robinwood Cabin, with a private dock and a fireplace which was already... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Danny F, Thank you for your raving review following your recent weekend wedding stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that your 'home coming" was such a positive one and that the resorts amenities, cuisine,service and staff/guests interactions were all a pleasant experience for you, your wife and child. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome... More

Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Booked a Maplewood Premium room for 2 nights for a golf getaway with friends. Stayed in room 514 overlooking the lake. What a disappointment! View was obstructed by trees, carpet was terribly stained (did not want to walk around barefooted), shower was cramped but worse bottom of shower door was moldy, cobwebs in corners of room. Despite the state of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynda B, Thank you for writing a review following your two night stay with us. I was sorry to learn that you had such a negative one and would like to extend my apologies to your negative experiences with both your room and dinner in our dining room. My chef Everett has already reached out to you to follow... More

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Booked here for 2 night getaway with hubby. Booked a Maplewood Premium room so we had a view of the lake. It was pretty, but not sure I would spend the money on the Premium again as we really enjoyed sitting right by the water more than on the balcony. Food and service were fabulous the first night. The second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear sandy115004, Thank you for writing a review following your 2 night stay with us detailing all your positive experiences with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the cuisine at dinner and both lunches. I am sorry that your wine selection at dinner was delayed in delivery to your table in a timely fashion. Thank you for... More

Toronto, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We spent Friday and Saturday here during the long weekend. We stayed in the main lodge of the Inn because 2 years ago we spent it there and had their largest room which was beautiful. This time the room was a bit smaller, but still very nice - the beds and linens are so soft. The only thing lacking was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear JoanneV095, Thank you for writing a review following your September stay with us at the resort. I was happy to learn that your overall stay was a positive one, and glad to read that you had returned to us following your previous visit. Thank you for bringing the vanity space issue to our attention. We have added a glass... More

Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Came here for a family wedding. Very cool to have the whole place to ourselves for a private event. The grounds are lovely. The restaurant servers were awesome, 2 young brothers worked the whole weekend and remembered most guests names. The food was ok, rooms in the main lodge are pretty basic, cosy. The cabins are huge, a little outdated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

dear linzneilson, Thank you for your comments following your stay with us during one of our many exclusive use wedding private events at our resort. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your "rustic cottage" at our resort as well as our food and service and particularly the brother team of Nicolas and Jackson. Our exclusive... More

Brantford, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were part of an overnight cruise to Sherwood Inn on the Muskoka Lake steamer. On the final leg of our cruise to Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn staff came aboard to greet us, and give us our room assignment plus book our dinner reservations. We arrived at 6:00 sharp (as scheduled), and just as we docked the skies opened. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Travelbug1953, Thank you for your raving review following your overnight cruise to our resort aboard the Wenonah 2. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and had the opportunity to enjoy everything that our resort had to offer. It is nice to see that the efforts of my staff get recognized as they... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay