We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birchville Motel

Hotel website
Hwy 17, Nipigon, Ontario P0t 2J0, Canada
Birchville Motel

36 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a wonderful stay. Clean and quiet, dispite being so close to the highway. The little kitchenette was helpful. Had a great sleep, awoke refreshed and ready to travel once again. Would stay there again, when traveling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just completed our first two stays after having disappointing experiences with other Nipigon motels in the past. We wish to confirm this motel's "number one" Nipigon rating. We stayed in two different kitchenette rooms both coming and going from our annual Ontario fishing trip. Diane, the owner, resembles a manager of an inn rather than a motel manager. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Wow! I cannot really say anything more about this review other than THANK YOU Pescher from Ohio! We loved having you! More 

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We arrived late in the day after a long drive. The room had two double beds although we only needed one. It was clean with coffee making facilities although a kettle would have been useful to make tea. Wifi included. The bathroom was clean although a tad tired. $9.44 (including tax) pn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you were comfortable. We agree that our bathrooms are a "tad tired" - that is why we are in the process of renovating them (plus a number of other things we feel need to be attended to). Unfortunately the old adage of "too much to do and so little time"... More 

Terrace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

On our way home from Thunder Bay, Ontario the Trans Canada Highway was closed due to a train derailment. So, an unexpected night in Nipigon. It was cold and we were tired. Motels were quickly filling up. After a few failed attempts on finding a room, we came upon Birchville Motel. Diane met us in the parking lot with her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad you could get through the derailment mess the next day. Although the road is now open they are still cleaning up as I write this. Although you were forced to stay over it was a pleasure meeting you. Thank you for your kind review, we love happy guests! More 

Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Terrific little motel off the TransCanada; certainly well above average. Excellent check-in experience and a very comfortable room. Also very clean. Small fridge, microwave and TV (lots of channels). Lays back from highway which helps with traffic noise. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! Your positive comments keep us focused on continuing to try and make our guests stay with us as pleasant as possible. More 

around the world
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Stayed just one night on a drive out west. My room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and the lady at the front desk friendly. Exactly what I needed after a long day of driving. The price of the motel was more than I would have expected, but worth it. Although this motel is close to the road, traffic seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

We love it when our guests are comfortable and happy with our rooms! Thank you so much for your kind words. More 

St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

...this kind of hospitality and generous accommodation where there is little real competition? Big, very clean, well equipped room. Furniture is not from a factory but made by a craftsman, presumably local. Manager was helpful suggesting sights and places to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Your comments make our hard work so worthwhile! More 

Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

For a great place to stay in Nipigon, look no further! Clean and tidy rooms, comfortable bed, decent shower and very attentive owners made this a great choice. We got in quite late and she was very accommodating, and the in-room coffee, which is usually SO bad was actually quite good! It's a little pricey, but seems in line for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Glad you liked our coffee! Thank you so much for the great review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed last year on our way through and have reserved rooms already for this years trip. Friendly attentive staff and the rooms were very clean and well kept! A Pleasure to stay at! If your looking for a good night's sleep look no further this is the best place in Nipigon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again this year. Thank you so much for your kind review. We try hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible. More 

Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed one night to attend family party. Early check in and friendly reception. Stayed in family suite and beds comfy and room spacious. (Separate TV and bedroom for kids) Decor pleasant, carpet could use a good steam. Bathroom could use some upgrades- a separate mirror or counter space in bathroom would be beneficial. Lock on door didn't seem very secure,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear your stay with us was only "okay". All your comments were fair and applicable and we are aware of the issues. As we speak, new doors with deadbolts are being fitted (first one in today but please bear with us as they do take time to order and fit)... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities