We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birchville Motel

Hotel website
Hwy 17, Nipigon, Ontario P0t 2J0, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nipigon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Birchville Motel
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Hancock, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on a recent motorcycle trip. The room was very clean and well kept. The bed was particularly comfortable as well. The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful. They also had extra rags for cleaning motorcycles, etc., which was a nice touch. We will definitely stay here on our next trip through the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a ho-hum side-of-the-highway place to sleep. We found it exceptionally clean but it smelled too strongly of cleaning products. The queen size bed was a very comfortable pillow top. was very comfortable. It was too close to the highway resulting in too much traffic noise. Overpriced for the quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you found our beds comfortable. We believe the most important feature of our rooms is cleanliness. Unfortunately it is impossible to clean our rooms properly without using cleaning products, the alternative is just not acceptable to us. Traffic noise is an unfortunate by-product of easy access to accommodation from the highway and completely out of our... More 

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We planned our 6 days driving because we had a cat with us. We booked that Motel not being sure. Well I can tell you that we were nicely surprise. This motel is Clean, Modern enough, fastest high speed internet of any other hotel we have stayed in. It actually had more then some known names. As an example there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We have tried to take care of the little things and it is so rewarding that our guests notice them. More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Stayed in the one queen bed room. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was new and very clean, but a little small. The carpeting needs replacement and was stained. Small children in the room next to us, but couldn't hear them. The owner was very nice and helpful. Her little dogs were cute.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Yes, our carpets are an ongoing problem and we are presently looking into alternatives. We hope to have them replaced by next year. More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Had to spend some time in Nipigon for field work and was so grateful to find a quiet place with some TV and working Internet. Room was spacious and always clean. Bed comfortable and conveniently located that included the owner offering advice on where to eat. Definitely call if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate it! More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Had a wonderful stay. Clean and quiet, dispite being so close to the highway. The little kitchenette was helpful. Had a great sleep, awoke refreshed and ready to travel once again. Would stay there again, when traveling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Thomas for your positive review. Our kitchenettes are always popular with our guests. We hope to have them refurbished next year. More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

We just completed our first two stays after having disappointing experiences with other Nipigon motels in the past. We wish to confirm this motel's "number one" Nipigon rating. We stayed in two different kitchenette rooms both coming and going from our annual Ontario fishing trip. Diane, the owner, resembles a manager of an inn rather than a motel manager. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Wow! I cannot really say anything more about this review other than THANK YOU Pescher from Ohio! We loved having you! More 

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We arrived late in the day after a long drive. The room had two double beds although we only needed one. It was clean with coffee making facilities although a kettle would have been useful to make tea. Wifi included. The bathroom was clean although a tad tired. $9.44 (including tax) pn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you were comfortable. We agree that our bathrooms are a "tad tired" - that is why we are in the process of renovating them (plus a number of other things we feel need to be attended to). Unfortunately the old adage of "too much to do and so little time"... More 

Terrace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

On our way home from Thunder Bay, Ontario the Trans Canada Highway was closed due to a train derailment. So, an unexpected night in Nipigon. It was cold and we were tired. Motels were quickly filling up. After a few failed attempts on finding a room, we came upon Birchville Motel. Diane met us in the parking lot with her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad you could get through the derailment mess the next day. Although the road is now open they are still cleaning up as I write this. Although you were forced to stay over it was a pleasure meeting you. Thank you for your kind review, we love happy guests! More 

Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Terrific little motel off the TransCanada; certainly well above average. Excellent check-in experience and a very comfortable room. Also very clean. Small fridge, microwave and TV (lots of channels). Lays back from highway which helps with traffic noise. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! Your positive comments keep us focused on continuing to try and make our guests stay with us as pleasant as possible. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipigon
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
0.0 mi away
Circle Route Motel
Circle Route Motel
#2 of 3 in Schreiber
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
A & K Motel
A & K Motel
#6 of 14 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities