We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Port Hastings hotels

Cove Motel

Highway 104 Auld's Cove | Canso Causeway, Port Hastings, Nova Scotia B9A 3R7, Canada
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Port Hastings
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Hastings
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Cove Motel was central to our Nova Scotia experience. Situated between the mainland and Cape Breton it gave us access to most of Nova Scotia for our 3 day stay. Reasonable prices and excellent food!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location, beautiful views, friendly staff. I was told the food at the restaurant on site was great but the dining room closed at 8 p.m. which was too early for us. Regarding the cabin. It was very private, looked modern on the outside which is always nice. The inside however needed some updating. The floor had carpet which was... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was spacious, tidy and clean, had a refrigerator, and a marvelous view of the Strait of Canso, and the restaurant served superb food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner;,polite, corteous servers, and excellent wines and a well stocked bar as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Cove Motel for one night and enjoyed every moment of our time there. We arrived close to 8 PM and checked in. We inquired whether or not we could get something to take to our room since I heard the dining room closes at 8. The woman at the front desk assured me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Restaurant was very good, Restaurant service was excellent. The Cottage was clean but much to dark. It was finished all in wood. a little paint wouldn't have hurt. The wireless internet service was totally useless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony C, Owner at Cove Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Charlie. I'm glad you enjoyed our restaurant, and sorry that our internet service was unsatisfactory. Due to our location off the mainland, we do not have fiber optic internet available to us, and we get our internet signal via satellite. It is generally quite reliable (we run a speed test twice daily to verify the quality of our connection),... More

Ajax
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location was great with amazing view. Room was a good size and had ironing board, fridge and hair dryer. Only complaint was the room has a musty smell. But once we opened the window it went away. Found the price a little high for the basic room (other similar motels had a small breakfast included for the same price), but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The motel has no negatives. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the internet connection was stable - everything worked like it should. No, it is not a luxury resort -- it is a basic drive up motel -- excellently located on the shore -- with back to back rooms. Yet, a fine place to stay. The nice part... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful location, surrounded by water views in a quiet spot off the main road. Motel rooms are "average" but bathroom and carpet seemed relatively newly renovated. Clean and comfortable beds. Restaurant meal and bar were excellent and located on waterfront, offering a relaxed atmosphere. The décor in rooms and restaurant are dated but the friendly service and good food makes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend in september and must rate this place as poor- average. Actually giving it an average rating would be a bit generous. I understand that I'm not in a big city and that this is a small town without any luxury hotels or even chain hotels but that still doesn't excuse the cove to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tony C, Owner at Cove Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Mardy. Thanks very much for your specific and useful feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to do a better job making our guests comfortable. Experiencing a musty smell or a room that is not clean is unacceptable. We will be implementing policies for the upcoming year to ensure that your concerns are addressed. We believe and hope that most of... More

St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

and sit on one of the table out by the bay and enjoy the evening. That's what we did before heading in to a very nice meal in their dining room. We ate kind of late but the service was still excellent. The rooms are very comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Motel

Address: Highway 104 Auld's Cove | Canso Causeway, Port Hastings, Nova Scotia B9A 3R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hastings
Also Known As:
Cove Hotel Port Hastings
Cove Motel Port Hastings, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Cove Motel to your Saves list