We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    182
    105
    55
    20
See reviews for
128
311
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (567)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (324)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (206)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where else is there such beauty. Take the trail for sure bald eagles whales best view. Go for a swim at the beach below and a day in the sun. Have a hot dog or fish & chips Take a trip around the montain stop at a few shops. Best hat place around

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

As we had heard from friends, the rooms at the lodge are tiny, outdated, and dark. If the prices were lower, it wouldn't be so surprising, but one expects something special from the most expensive place in Cape Breton, and special it is not. It is not as if the prices are on a par with London or New York,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at the Keltic Lodge. We certainly enjoy hearing from our past guests and appreciate all feedback as this informs us of where we have succeeded, and where we can improve the experiences we are offering our guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience in our Purple Thistle Dining... More 

Rockwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We got to Keltic Lodge in the afternoon only to learn that our room at the inn had been given away. It was a hot week in August so the thought of staying in the Lodge without air conditioning did not appeal to us. Without having a choice we agreed. The management offered us some additional fans to keep cool.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your Keltic Lodge experience with us. We’re delighted that we were able to fix our mistake and turn your experience into a positive stay. We hope to see you during our 75th anniversary season this summer. We’d love to welcome you back! Until next time, Jason Brown. More 

Edinburg, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Although this won't be a current review, it is a memorable one for us. We spent part of our honeymoon there 30 years ago. We had originally booked with another hotel which we stayed at the first night but were bitterly disappointed in. The Keltic was able to accommodate us. It was a beautiful setting in Nova Scotia along the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to share your romance story with us! We love hearing about memories like yours. We would love to opportunity to welcome you both back to our Cape Breton resort during our 2015 season. We’re celebrating our 75th anniversary this season so it’s the perfect excuse to come by. Hope to see you soon, Jason Brown. More 

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Celtic Colours festival. Very quiet, spotlessly clean,well appointed excellent self catering facilities Very friendly and helpful staff. Well placed for travelling around. We visited in Autumn but I think there would be lots to do on the water in the spring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share these kind words with us. We’re so happy to hear you got to experience the Celtic Colours Festival and we hope to welcome you back to celebrate our 75th anniversary during 2015 season. Until then, Jason Brown. More 

Truro, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Our stay was actually 2 years ago, in 2012, when we traveled the Cabot Trail for our yearly anniversary adventure. This hotel was on our must-visit list and it did not disappoint. We loved the drive along the coast to get there and the hotel itself was beautiful. We arrived quite tired after a 5 or 6 hour drive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Nova Scotia resort and for sharing your Keltic Lodge experience with us. We’re delighted to read that you had such an authentic Cape Breton vacation while enjoying our nightly entertainment, delicious dining options, one of a kind views and newly renovated guestrooms. We will be sure to share your kind words with... More 

ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

The Keltic Lodge and Resort met all of our expectations. They have a terrific staff that go beyond the call of duty. There is a lovely restaurant on the premises as well as a pub in the evening with a full bar and a limited "pub-food" menu which met our needs completely. There was also a guitarist/singer who provided a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Keltic Lodge experience with us! It sounds like you had the authentic Cape Breton vacation we strive to provide to all of our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Jason Brown. More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Following a tortuous drive along the breathtaking coastline of Cape Breton Island we arrived at the magnificent Keltic Lodge Resort, perched high up on a peninsula jutting out into the Atlantic Ocean. Our comfortable accommodation was in the Inn at Keltic, which is a few hundred metres down the hill from the main lodge. A golf cart driven by one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Keltic Lodge experience with us! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Atlantic Ocean views, warm and welcoming hospitality, and spectacular dining. We always do what we can to give our guests the most memorable experiences. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Until then, Jason Brown. More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Majestic Lodge building with beautiful rooms - the bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. I was really surprised but the size of the closet - an actual walk-in wardrobe!! Great views of the coast from the lodge and rooms. Dining room was excellent - delicious dinner and breakfast and there was evening entertainment in the form of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing these kind words with our team. We're so happy you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, stunning Atlantic Ocean views, delicious dining options and local entertainment. All favourites by many of our returning guests. We hope to welcome you back in 2015. Until then, Jason Brown. More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I stayed at The Keltic Lodge in August 2014, please stay here for the location, it is awesome. Do not stay if you want fine food and clean rooms. We stayed in the main hotel building. The staff are young and helpful and when we complained about our room being unclean we were promptly moved. The hotel is in need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We’re disappointed to read that your Keltic Lodge stay didn't exceed your expectations. However, we’re happy to see that we were able to help you while on property. Our location is loved by many as well as our friendly staff. We can assure you that we've shared all of your comments and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

342 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay