We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Port aux Basques hotels

St. Christopher's Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Caribou Road | P O Box 2049, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0M 1C0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added St. Christopher's Hotel to your Saves list
St. Christopher's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Grizzy_Porta Geel, Belgium
  • Overview
  • Reviews (82)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
33
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geel, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Large clean room. Some of the staff were friendly others less friendly. Remarks were made on a non-working air conditioning and broken light bulb, remarks were noted in the morning but when we got back in the evening nothing had been fixed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
McFarland, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very convenient place to stay if you are waiting to take the ferry back to North Sydney,Nova Scotia. The place is a little dated but ok as a place to sleep. If you get a room with a harbor view it is pretty limited by the small windows and no balcony. Definitely not worth paying more for the harbor view.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The view is a wonderful asset enjoyed by many. Unfortunately not all rooms will have the same view and the guest is not charged extra for the view in most cases. Only rooms that have a panoramic view are charged $5.00 if you want to be guaranteed a view. Glad you enjoyed the new flat... More

Cape Breton Island, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the St.Christopher hotel in Port aux Basques, Nfld. by accident! We had driven back from St-John's to catch the ferry the next day to North Sydney and had no reservations for a hotel, so we simply asked a woman on the street where a good hotel was in the town and she directed us to "Downtown" and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gander, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very pleasant experience during our recent stay at this pet friendly property before boarding the ferry to leave the great island of Newfoundland. Wasn't sure what to expect, the previous reviews were all over the map. The building itself was a bit intimidating, a large green metal box perched on a hill overlooking the harbour, but once inside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Outer Cove
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel last night while on business I drove to Port Aux Basques from Deer Lake then back to Deer Lake. The hotel was clean, the room well appointed and clean. The hotel is an older facility however it is well maintained. The bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning worked, and the TV was modern. Water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at St. Christopher's Hotel last night and cannot find one negative thing to say. When we go to Port Aux Basques, this is where we stay. Since we last stayed, a couple years ago, seems like the rooms have been painted and the beds and bedding has changed. So modern and comfortable. The front desk was busy when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we really appreciate the feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your time at St. Christopher's Hotel with your granddaughter. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay! Cheers, Stella. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed just for one night while on business, my room wasn't the cleanest and there was even a pair of dirty socks left near the table, very old feeling, staff was ok but not overly friendly. Nice view of the ferry coming and going is the only good thing I could say about this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stella P, Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory stay. We strive to provide a comfortable room and efficiency friendly service to all our guest. Glad you enjoyed the splendid view of the ocean and the ferry entering and leaving the harbour. Again my apologies and I want to assure you... More

Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It is convenient. It is interesting looking from the ferry as you enter the harbour. There were a lot of seemingly extra charges, or so it seemed. My quoted rate of $96 ending up being $150. The room we had did have a musty smell - but seemed clean. We had some oddness with the plugs, the heat - and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I would like to refer to your comment regarding room quote @ $96. end up being $150. Your actual charges was $92.99 room rate 13% HST $12.09 ( a Canadian national tax) and 3% Tourism Development fee of $2.79 your total charges came to $107.87. Please note that your Credit Card on arrival would have... More

Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
69 hotel reviews
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had no choice but to use St christophers due to our pets. The rate quoted on line is not the rate on check out.They have another 3% tourism charge after questioning the charge on check ou,t they told us it was for the south west tourism charge after googling it I cant find nothing on this extra charge or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was clean and the staff were friendly. While there were no perks here we had a good nights sleep. Very convenient location for anyone travelling on the ferry. Check in and out was quick and easy. Overall good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St. Christopher's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Christopher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Hotel

Address: 146 Caribou Road | P O Box 2049, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0M 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port aux Basques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Christopher's Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Christopher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Hotel
St. Christopher's Hotel Port Aux Basques, Newfoundland

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Canada Select 31/2 Star property. Overlooking the Ocean. Secure, clean, well maintained, comfortable beds, quiet air conditioned rooms, private bath (four piece), 37" flat Screen cable TV, telephone (direct dial), voice mail, washer/dryer on premises. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
83

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer